Heather Smith won the Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Award for THE AGONY OF BUN O’KEEFE

Heather Smith won the Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Award in the Young Adult/Middle Reader category for THE AGONY OF BUN O’KEEFE!

Winners were selected by two juries of young readers. Students read the books and worked together to reach a consensus and select a winner. This process makes it a unique literary award in Canada.

One juror commented “Bun and Busker Boy are my favourite characters of all time!” and praised to protagonist as “one-of-a-kind”.

Congratulations Heather!

 

Welcoming new client Lillian Karabaic!

A very warm welcome to Lillian Karabaic. As the host of Oh My Dollar!, a weekly financial advice radio show, and as an international public speaker, Lillian has built a reputation for talking money without being boring – covering the kinds of modern money issues that millennials face (sometimes in costume.) Her work has been featured on CBS, NPR, Vox Media, the Portland Mercury, the Oregonian, the Journal of Higher Education, Portland Monthly, and in dozens of personal finance blogs and podcasts. A repeat speaker at community events, she has given fun money management talks at over 30 colleges including Wells College, School of the Art Institute of Chicago, Reed College, and Portland State University. Her cat-filled purrsonal finance illustrated workbook, Get Your Money Together, was 225% funded on Kickstarter She is represented by Fiona Kenshole.

FIND YOU IN THE DARK by Nathan Ripley (Naben Ruthnum) U.S. and audio editions now available!

Not only does the U.S. edition of Naben Ruthnum‘s (writing as Nathan Ripley) FIND YOU IN THE DARK publish today with Atria Books, but both the U.S. and Canadian audio editions drop today too! Now it’s up to you to decide how you’d like to experience your goosebumps.

Published by Simon & Schuster Canada in March, this bestselling debut thriller sold at auction in Canada and the U.S., and has sold on a pre-empt to eOne and at auction in the U.K. to Text Publishing.

In the vein of The Talented Mr. Ripley, FIND YOU IN THE DARK follows a family man obsessed with digging up the undiscovered remains of serial killer victims and soon catches the attention of a murderer prowling the streets of Seattle.

Praise for FIND YOU IN THE DARK

“[A] gripping debut thriller. . . Dexter fans will enjoy the creepy vibe.”
-Publishers Weekly

“Ripley’s debut offers a twist on the typical serial-killer story. . . . a unique spin with just enough creepy details to keep suspense readers interested.” -Booklist

“Engrossing. . . . This debut thriller by the pseudonymous Ripley (Journey Prize winner Naben Ruthnum) is highly recommended for fans of Lee Child and C.J. Box.”
-Library Journal

“There is something unsettling about this story and readers will feel that tension grow as they consume Find You in The Dark. Contrasting and conflicting emotions will dominate, making it impossible to stop until the chase is complete.” -The BOLO Books review

“Ripley . . . has come up with a fresh angle to the serial murder game. . . . clever and diabolical . . . This unusual debut thriller has a lot going for it.” -Kirkus Reviews

“A well-crafted crime novel that proves utterly absorbing. . . . with vivid scenes and complex psychology, Find You in the Dark lingers long after the last page has been devoured. And Ripley proves a stellar addition to the Canadian crime novel scene. An addictive debut.” -Toronto Star

“A fast-paced book . . . akin to dark British crime TV dramas such as Broadchurch or Luther, satisfyingly sinister and unsettling in their explorations of the violent possibilities of humanity…” -The Globe and Mail

Michelle Parise’s ALONE: A LOVE STORY WINS GOLD AT THE NEW YORK FESTIVALS RADIO AWARDS!

We’re thrilled to congratulate Michelle Parise who has won Gold at The New York Festivals Radio Awards for her CBC Radio podcast ALONE: A LOVE STORY!

The NYF’s International Radio Program Awards for The World’s Best Radio Programs honours “the exceptional and innovative content being created today on all continents and seen across all platforms.”

With over 3.5 million downloads to date, this podcast memoir of love, marriage and life after betrayal resonates with audiences all over the world.

ALONE: A LOVE STORY is an intensely relatable tale of heartbreak and hope that taps into the loneliness inside all of us. No matter how many times love kicks her in the shins, Parise doesn’t give up on hope or on herself. The only thing to do once you’ve hit bottom is to swim back up!

Michelle Parise has been a producer for CBC Radio and Television for over two decades. Born and raised in Toronto in a gigantic Italian immigrant family, Michelle was surrounded by storytellers, and as a child she wrote hundreds of short stories about her life. When she was 11-years-old she wrote a feminist novella in response to a book she’d taken issue with on the Grade 7 reading list. The teacher made it part of the curriculum in the years following. Her commitment to honest storytelling started early, is what we’re getting at, and is part of everything she creates, continually striving to make connection through shared experience.

For more information about these awards, please visit: Newyorkfestivals.com/radio/

DEAL NEWS: THEY SAID THIS WOULD BE FUN by Eternity Martis

Canadian English rights to Eternity Martis THEY SAID THIS WOULD BE FUN sold to Jared Bland and Haley Cullingham at McClelland & Stewart, in a two book pre-emptive deal by Stephanie Sinclair.

In this debut memoir in essays, Eternity explores what happens when a woman of colour tries to have the epic university experience seen in movies – and finds out it’s not possible when you don’t fit into the predetermined culture. Weaving compelling personal experience with sharp criticism of the ongoing racial tensions across Canada and university campuses, the book takes a fiercely unapologetic look at the challenges that students of colour face today amidst growing anti-Black racism, white nationalism and alt-right ideologies.

David Huebert’s Peninsula Sinking Runner Up for Danuta Gleed Literary Award!

We’re delighted to announce David Huebert’s PENINSULA SINKING (Biblioasis) was runner up for the 2017 Danuta Gleed Literary Award – congratulations, David!

This annual award recognizes the best first collection of short fiction by a Canadian author published in the previous year in the English language. PENINSULA SINKING has been selected as the runner up from 39 submitted collections.

From the Jury:
“A sense of wonderment penetrates the everyday lives of characters from the Maritimes in this well-crafted, compelling collection that displays a mastery of classical short-story structure and technique. Huebert’s vibrant language juxtaposes tough characters with tender preoccupations, creating narratives that are unsettling and mesmerizing, making ordinary moments in relationships thrilling and dangerous.”

PENINSULA SINKING explores the relation between periphery and centre, using the metaphor of rising sea levels to examine the various emotional crises of underemployed Nova Scotians caught between the place they love deeply and the brute fact that opportunity lies elsewhere.

DIANE SCHOEMPERLEN wins The Molson Prize!

Diane Schoemperlen

Canada Council for the Arts Molson Prizes are awarded to two people – one in the arts and the other in social science and humanities, who have distinguished themselves by their outstanding achievements.

“Being awarded a Molson Prize gives me a deep sense of affirmation that it has all been worthwhile and that I have indeed been accomplishing something valuable in my work.” -Diane on winning the Molson Prize.

Warmest congratulations from all of us at the Transatlantic Agency, Diane!

 

 

DEAL NEWS: MAJOR MISCONDUCT BY JEREMY ALLINGHAM

World rights to award-winning journalist and broadcaster, who works for CBC, Jeremy Allingham‘s MAJOR MISCONDUCT has been acquired by Brian Lam at Arsenal Pulp Press, by Samantha Haywood and Rob Firing. The book explores the dark side of Canada’s national pastime: bare-knuckle boxing on ice. Hockey players as young as 12 years old are trained to fight, most often with an eye on junior and professional careers, the pursuit of the Canadian hockey dream. But, as we learn more about concussions, mental health and CTE; and see lives laying in ruin, is all of that violence worth it?

DEAL NEWS: BETWEEN BEFORE AND AFTER BY MAUREEN DOYLE MCQUERRY

Once in awhile, finding the right place for a novel is like following a trail of crumbs. We put this one away for a decade while Maureen released other novels, but this tale’s time has finally come.

BETWEEN BEFORE AND AFTER is Maureen McQuerry’s dual narrated generational novel about a girl in 1955 San Jose who discovers there may be more to her family than meets the eye; and her Brooklyn born mother who was forced to make drastic decisions in the aftermath of the Spanish Flu pandemic of 1918.

The novel takes readers down a trail of clues and family stories until the past and present literally collide, revealing a secret that had hid in the shadows too long. A retelling of Hansel and Gretel weaves between the chapters.

David Bennett and I have our own tales to tell about the sale of this work. But that’s a story for another day. In the meantime, we’re just over the moon to share the news that this novel has found its way home, and will release in February 2019 from Harper Collins/Blink YA.

Congratulations, Maureen, from all of us at Transatlantic.

Represented by Sandra Bishop
Film inquiries contact sandra@transatlanticagency.com

For more detail about the author, see Maureen’s website

DEAL NEWS: HUNGOVER by SHAUGHNESSY BISHOP-STALL

UK rights to Shaughnessy Bishop-Stall’s HUNGOVER: A History of the Morning After and One Man’s Quest for the Cure- a journalist’s journey to discover the ultimate hangover cure, drinking and writing his way through the world’s favorite beverages and their vengeful aftermath-to Joel Simons at 535/Blink, part of Bonnier Publishing, by Stephanie Sinclair on behalf of Samantha Haywood

Rights previously sold to Penguin in the US, HarperCollins Canada, and Dumont, Germany for Winter 2018.