Welcoming new client Lillian Karabaic!

A very warm welcome to Lillian Karabaic. As the host of Oh My Dollar!, a weekly financial advice radio show, and as an international public speaker, Lillian has built a reputation for talking money without being boring – covering the kinds of modern money issues that millennials face (sometimes in costume.) Her work has been featured on CBS, NPR, Vox Media, the Portland Mercury, the Oregonian, the Journal of Higher Education, Portland Monthly, and in dozens of personal finance blogs and podcasts. A repeat speaker at community events, she has given fun money management talks at over 30 colleges including Wells College, School of the Art Institute of Chicago, Reed College, and Portland State University. Her cat-filled purrsonal finance illustrated workbook, Get Your Money Together, was 225% funded on Kickstarter She is represented by Fiona Kenshole.

FIND YOU IN THE DARK by Nathan Ripley (Naben Ruthnum) U.S. and audio editions now available!

Not only does the U.S. edition of Naben Ruthnum‘s (writing as Nathan Ripley) FIND YOU IN THE DARK publish today with Atria Books, but both the U.S. and Canadian audio editions drop today too! Now it’s up to you to decide how you’d like to experience your goosebumps.

Published by Simon & Schuster Canada in March, this bestselling debut thriller sold at auction in Canada and the U.S., and has sold on a pre-empt to eOne and at auction in the U.K. to Text Publishing.

In the vein of The Talented Mr. Ripley, FIND YOU IN THE DARK follows a family man obsessed with digging up the undiscovered remains of serial killer victims and soon catches the attention of a murderer prowling the streets of Seattle.

Praise for FIND YOU IN THE DARK

“[A] gripping debut thriller. . . Dexter fans will enjoy the creepy vibe.”
-Publishers Weekly

“Ripley’s debut offers a twist on the typical serial-killer story. . . . a unique spin with just enough creepy details to keep suspense readers interested.” -Booklist

“Engrossing. . . . This debut thriller by the pseudonymous Ripley (Journey Prize winner Naben Ruthnum) is highly recommended for fans of Lee Child and C.J. Box.”
-Library Journal

“There is something unsettling about this story and readers will feel that tension grow as they consume Find You in The Dark. Contrasting and conflicting emotions will dominate, making it impossible to stop until the chase is complete.” -The BOLO Books review

“Ripley . . . has come up with a fresh angle to the serial murder game. . . . clever and diabolical . . . This unusual debut thriller has a lot going for it.” -Kirkus Reviews

“A well-crafted crime novel that proves utterly absorbing. . . . with vivid scenes and complex psychology, Find You in the Dark lingers long after the last page has been devoured. And Ripley proves a stellar addition to the Canadian crime novel scene. An addictive debut.” -Toronto Star

“A fast-paced book . . . akin to dark British crime TV dramas such as Broadchurch or Luther, satisfyingly sinister and unsettling in their explorations of the violent possibilities of humanity…” -The Globe and Mail

Michelle Parise’s ALONE: A LOVE STORY WINS GOLD AT THE NEW YORK FESTIVALS RADIO AWARDS!

We’re thrilled to congratulate Michelle Parise who has won Gold at The New York Festivals Radio Awards for her CBC Radio podcast ALONE: A LOVE STORY!

The NYF’s International Radio Program Awards for The World’s Best Radio Programs honours “the exceptional and innovative content being created today on all continents and seen across all platforms.”

With over 3.5 million downloads to date, this podcast memoir of love, marriage and life after betrayal resonates with audiences all over the world.

ALONE: A LOVE STORY is an intensely relatable tale of heartbreak and hope that taps into the loneliness inside all of us. No matter how many times love kicks her in the shins, Parise doesn’t give up on hope or on herself. The only thing to do once you’ve hit bottom is to swim back up!

Michelle Parise has been a producer for CBC Radio and Television for over two decades. Born and raised in Toronto in a gigantic Italian immigrant family, Michelle was surrounded by storytellers, and as a child she wrote hundreds of short stories about her life. When she was 11-years-old she wrote a feminist novella in response to a book she’d taken issue with on the Grade 7 reading list. The teacher made it part of the curriculum in the years following. Her commitment to honest storytelling started early, is what we’re getting at, and is part of everything she creates, continually striving to make connection through shared experience.

For more information about these awards, please visit: Newyorkfestivals.com/radio/

DEAL NEWS: THEY SAID THIS WOULD BE FUN by Eternity Martis

Canadian English rights to Eternity Martis THEY SAID THIS WOULD BE FUN sold to Jared Bland and Haley Cullingham at McClelland & Stewart, in a two book pre-emptive deal by Stephanie Sinclair.

In this debut memoir in essays, Eternity explores what happens when a woman of colour tries to have the epic university experience seen in movies – and finds out it’s not possible when you don’t fit into the predetermined culture. Weaving compelling personal experience with sharp criticism of the ongoing racial tensions across Canada and university campuses, the book takes a fiercely unapologetic look at the challenges that students of colour face today amidst growing anti-Black racism, white nationalism and alt-right ideologies.

DEAL NEWS: MAJOR MISCONDUCT BY JEREMY ALLINGHAM

World rights to award-winning journalist and broadcaster, who works for CBC, Jeremy Allingham‘s MAJOR MISCONDUCT has been acquired by Brian Lam at Arsenal Pulp Press, by Samantha Haywood and Rob Firing. The book explores the dark side of Canada’s national pastime: bare-knuckle boxing on ice. Hockey players as young as 12 years old are trained to fight, most often with an eye on junior and professional careers, the pursuit of the Canadian hockey dream. But, as we learn more about concussions, mental health and CTE; and see lives laying in ruin, is all of that violence worth it?

BILLY-RAY BELCOURT’S THIS WOUND IS WORLD WINS 2018 GRIFFIN POETRY PRIZE

Congratulations to Billy-Ray Belcourt, making history as the youngest winner of the Griffin Poetry Prize, for his debut collection THIS WOUND IS A WORLD (Frontenac House).

From the jury: “Blending the resources of love song and elegy, prayer and manifesto, Billy-Ray Belcourt’s This Wound is a World shows us poetry at its most intimate and politically necessary. Mindful of tangled lineages and the lingering erasures of settler colonialism, Belcourt crafts poems in which ‘history lays itself bare’…Belcourt pursues original forms with which to chart the constellations of queerness and indigeneity, rebellion and survival, desire and embodiedness these poems so fearlessly explore. Between its bold treatment of sexuality and wary anatomy of despair, This Wound is a World peels back the layers of feeling and experience to offer, finally, the glimmerings of hope…”

The Griffin Poetry Prize is awarded annually to recognize excellence in English-language poetry internationally and in Canada.

For more information, please visit: Griffinpoetryprize.com/2018-griffin-poetry-prize

Four Transatlantic authors on Ontario Library Association’s 2018 Kid Committee Summer Reading List!

For kids by kids, the Ontario Library Association’s 2018 Kid Committee Summer Reading List is revealed and four Transatlantic authors have made the cut – Anna Humphrey‘s CLARA HUMBLE AND THE NOT-SO-SUPER POWERS (Owlkids Books), Andrew Larsen‘s DINGUS (Kid Can Press), and Eric Walters90 DAYS OF DIFFERENT (Orca Book Publishers) and SAY YOU WILL (Doubleday Canada)! This programme selects “books that you should be reading over the summer” and is part of the Forest of Reading. Congratulations to all!

For the full list please visit: https://bit.ly/2LuzXxh

Welcoming Jill Frayne to Transatlantic Agency!

We’re thrilled to welcome author Jill Frayne to Transatlantic Agency!

Jill’s first book, the travel memoir Starting Out in the Afternoon: A Midlife Journey Into Wild Land (Random House Canada, 2002) was lauded by The Globe and Mail as having writing that was  “transcendental, ecstatic, as crisp and clear as Lake Superior in October”. It was a finalist for a Governor General’s Award. She has been published in The Walrus, Literary Review of Canada, Canadian Geographic, Up Here and Explore magazines, among others. Jill Frayne worked with kids and families in a counselling agency in northern Ontario for many years. She lives on a bush lot north of Parry Sound and spends winters in the wild mountains on the Yukon border. Her novel Say I Am is currently on offer.

Jill is represented by Amy Tompkins.

Four Transatlantic Authors on The Ontario Library Association’s 2018 Teen Committee Summer Reading List

The teens have spoken! The Ontario Library Association’s 2018 Teen Committee Summer Reading List has picked 36 QUESTIONS THAT CHANGED MY MIND ABOUT YOU (Running Press Kids) by Vicki Grant, 90 DAYS OF DIFFERENT (Orca Book Publishers) by Eric Walters, THE AGONY OF BUN O’KEEFE (Penguin Teen) by Heather Smith, and PRINCE OF POT (Groundwood Books) by Tanya Lloyd Kyi in their list of the outstanding books of the summer. The programme is part of the Forest of Reading.

http://www.accessola.org/WEB/Documents/OLA/Forest/Resources/2018/Teen%20Committee%20List%202018.pdf