DEAL NEWS: Moira Welsh’s HAPPILY EVER OLDER

Photo credit: Toronto Star

World rights to investigative journalist with the Toronto Star Moira Welsh‘s HAPPILY EVER OLDER: How Boomers are Bringing Life Back to Long Term Care, a book for readers of health and wellness greats such as Daniel J. Siegel or Oliver Sacks that shows a massive movement in the making in North America, a revelation in long term care techniques that provide happiness and contentment at the end of life, instead of loneliness and isolation, sold to Jack David with Susan Renouf editing at ECW Press in a deal by Samantha Haywood.

Welcome to Teva Harrison

We’re extending a warm welcome to award-winning artist, writer and cartoonist Teva Harrison!

Teva is the author of the bestselling, award-winning, critically-acclaimed hybrid graphic memoir, In-Between Days, published by House of Anansi Press. The book won the Kobo Emerging Writer Prize for Non-Fiction and was shortlisted for the Governor General’s Literary Award for Non-Fiction and the Joe Shuster Award for Cartoonist/Auteur.

45 works from In-Between Days have been exhibited in a solo show at the Winnipeg Art Gallery.

Teva is Principal Illustrator for the National Film Board/National Theatre production of playwright Jordan Tannahill’s Draw Me Close: A Memoir, a virtual reality theatrical experience blending live theatre and virtual reality technology.

She is a Canadian Magazine Award and National Magazine Award finalist whose writing and/or comics have appeared in The Walrus, Granta, Quill & Quire, HuffingtonPost, Courriel International, Reader’s Digest (Canada, International and US editions), The Globe and Mail, and more. She is a regular commentator on CBC Radio, in the Toronto Star, The Globe and Mail, and has appeared on programs including Canada AM, The Agenda with Steve Paikin, Space TV’s InnerSpace, The Morning Show, in Maclean’s, Chatelaine, Rabble, and more.

Teva regularly speaks on creativity and leads workshops on telling life stories.

In-Between Days and Teva’s adult colouring book The Joyful Living Colouring Book are available in stores across Canada and the United States, and can be ordered directly from House of Anansi’s website.

Born and raised in rural Oregon, Teva currently lives in Toronto with her husband.

Teva is represented by Samantha Haywood.

DEAL NEWS: Kris Bertin’s USE YOUR IMAGINATION!

Canadian rights to USE YOUR IMAGINATION! – stories about stories, about the way we define and give shape to ourselves through all kinds of narratives, true or not. In six long stories, Kris Bertin examines the complex labyrinth of lies, delusions, compromise and fabrication that makes up our personal history and mythology. Sometimes funny, strange or frightening, these stories represent Bertin’s follow-up to his critically-acclaimed, award-winning debut, Bad Things Happen – to Vagrant Press for publication in spring 2019 by Stephanie Sinclair and Samantha Haywood.

Welcoming Chantel Guertin

We’re thrilled to welcome the multi-talented Chantel Guertin to Transatlantic Agency!

Chantel is an on-air lifestyle and beauty expert on The Marilyn Denis Show as well as morning shows across the country, a former editor at The Kit and ELLE Canada, and has written for dozens of publications including USA Today, Huffington Post, National Post, Reader’s Digest, FASHION and Chatelaine. In 2017, she founded the first-ever Lifestyle Media post-graduate program in the English-speaking world—at Centennial College—where she continues to work as a program coordinator and instructor. She has written six novels, most recently the Pippa Greene series for teens. She lives in Toronto with her husband and children.

Chantel is represented by Samantha Haywood.

Welcoming Kirsten Madsen

A big Transatlantic welcome to author Kirsten Madsen!

Kirsten is a writer based in Whitehorse, Yukon. She was runner-up for the 2015 CBC Short Story Prize, and her fiction has been published in The Walrus, Prairie Fire, The New Quarterly and elsewhere. She was a finalist in both the Malahat Review and The New Quarterly fiction awards in 2017, and the Writers’ Union of Canada short story competition in 2011 and 2015. Kirsten has an MFA in creative writing from the University of British Columbia, where her thesis novel, The Cantilevered Universe, was shortlisted for the 2013 HarperCollins Canada / UBC Prize for Best New Fiction.

The Cantilevered Universe is a contemporary literary novel about the inner workings of an unconventional family. After a move to an isolated Northern town, teenage Emily begins to unravel after becoming increasingly withdrawn as her siblings forsake her in search of their own lives. Nearly twenty years later, her sister Louise seeks to come to terms with Emily’s disintegration while forging a new relationship of her own. The novel exposes a family embroiled in conflict while at the same time united in their desire to protect their youngest and most troubled member. This stunning debut will be ready for consideration in January.

Kirsten is represented by Stephanie Sinclair.

Welcoming Moira Welsh to Transatlantic!

We’re delighted to welcome Moira Welsh to Transatlantic Agency!

Moira has been a journalist with The Toronto Star for 25 years. During that time she has covered news, the environment and social justice and, as an investigative reporter, has long had an interest in issues related to people living in long term care and retirement homes. Moira has co-authored investigations that have won three National Newspaper Awards and a Michener Award for Public Service Journalism. She lives in Toronto with her family.

Moira is represented by Samantha Haywood.

Photo Credit: Toronto Star

DEAL NEWS x 2: Shani Mootoo’s CEREUS BLOOMS AT NIGHT and POLAR VORTEX

Double the deal news for author Shani Mootoo!

Film/TV rights to Shani Mootoo’s haunting debut CEREUS BLOOMS AT NIGHT, now a contemporary classic and past finalist for the Giller Prize, the Chapters/Books in Canada First Novel Award, and the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize, an exquisite cross-generational history filled with thrilling passion and alluring mystery, set in the fictional Caribbean town of Paradise, and unveils the mystery surrounding Mala Ramchandin, an aging, notoriously supposedly crazy woman suspected of murdering her father, optioned by Aaron Barnett at Bitter Boy Productions in a deal by Samantha Haywood.

Canadian English rights to one of Canada’s most widely acclaimed literary fiction authors, Shani Mootoo’s POLAR VORTEX, a seductive and tension-filled new novel about a lesbian couple receiving an unexpected visit from an old male friend that throws questions of true intentions into the mix of their previously monogamous commitment, told with a Mrs. Dalloway stream-of-consciousness narration, for readers of Herman Koch and Rachel Cusk, sold to Jay and Hazel Millar at Book*hug Press for publication in early 2020 in a deal by Samantha Haywood.

Welcoming Sam Shelstad to Transatlantic!

An excited Transatlantic welcome to author Sam Shelstad!
 
Sam was longlisted for the 2014 CBC Short Story Prize and was a runner up for the 2014 Thomas Morton Memorial Prize. He regularly contributes to McSweeney’s Internet Tendency, and has been published in many literary magazines, including The New Quarterly, The Fiddlehead, and Joyland. His debut story collection, COP HOUSE (Nightwood Editions, 2017), was compared to the work of George Saunders in Quill and Quire, where they remarked, “it is precisely this blend of humour and pathos that give Shelstad’s stories their disarming power.” Sam lives in Toronto, Ontario.
 
Sam is represented by Samantha Haywood.

DEAL NEWS: ADVENTURES IN SOLITUDE II by Grant Lawrence

World rights to Grant Lawrence‘s ADVENTURES IN SOLITUDE II, a follow up to the perennial bestseller ADVENTURES IN SOLITUDE, interweaving the fascinating history of the Desolation Sound, B.C. area with his own experiences and further exciting anecdotes featuring the colourful characters of the area, including the inimitable Cougar Lady, the phantom-like Spaghetti Bandit, and the doomed Mack the Knife. As well, Lawrence explores the generational shift of becoming a father and dragging his own young family to the cabin, sold to Anna Comfort O’Keeffe at Harbour Publishing in a deal by Samantha Haywood.