Welcoming Rachel Matlow!

We’re delighted to welcome CBC’s arts and culture journalist/audio producer Rachel Matlow to Transatlantic Agency as a new client! She’s represented by Samantha Haywood.

Rachel Matlow worked at Q/q for eight crazy years as well as Spark, Day 6, The Sunday Edition, The Doc Project and The Current. Her writing has appeared in The Globe and Mail, National Post, CBC.ca and The Believer. She recently won a 2016 Third Coast International Audio Festival award and a 2017 Gabriel Award for her audio documentary ‘Dead Mom Talking’. She is at work on her debut memoir, a true dark comedy (a traumedy!), about her eccentric mother’s cancer journey called “Dead Mom Walking,” which is best described as a cross between Tig Notaro’s dark comedy One Mississippi and Chris Kelly’s devastatingly funny Other People, with a queer dose of Alison Bechdel and a Jewish dollop of Transparent. Proposal materials available shortly. Contact: samantha@transatlaticagency.com

The Lady and the Lionheart by Joanne Bischof Has Finaled in 18th Annual Christy Awards!

We are so proud to represent the rights to Joanne Bischof‘s much heralded historical romance novel, THE LADY AND THE LIONHEART which has just finaled in its category for the 18th annual CHRISTY AWARDS™

After many declines declaring it was too outside the conventions of its category at the time, THE LADY AND THE LIONHEART was ultimately self published in the US by the author.

Now, it is also available in audio (Blackstone) and German (Brunnen Verlag) and is currently under consideration for film,  and with several Transatlantic International co-agents. We just love that this beautiful dark horse of a story is beginning to find its way in the world in earnest.

For further rights inquiries, contact Sandra Bishop at sandra@transatlanticagency.com

Deal News: Two Roads Home by Daniel Griffin

Pitched in the tradition of Snow Falling on Cedars, Daniel Griffin’s TWO ROADS HOME, a literary novel with eco-thriller overtones, reimagining the 1993 Clayoquot Sound protests when the fall-out from a bomb blast at a logging company warehouse ends in the unplanned death of a security guard, to Dirk Vaihiner of Nagel & Kimche of Hanser Verlag by Hannah Fosh of Liepman Agency, on behalf of  Samantha Haywood of the Transatlantic Agency, Canada English and US rights previously sold to Freehand Books (September, 2017).

Welcoming Alicia Elliott!

Join us in welcoming the amazing Alicia Elliott, who is represented by Samantha Haywood and Stephanie Sinclair! We are so pleased that she’s now part of the agency.

Alicia Elliott is a Tuscarora writer living in Brantford, Ontario with her husband and daughter. Her writing has been published by The Malahat Review, The Butter, Room, Grain, The New Quarterly, CBC, Globe and Mail, Vice, Maclean’s, Maisonneuve, Today’s Parent and Reader’s Digest. She’s currently Associate Nonfiction Editor at Little Fiction | Big Truths, and a consulting editor with The New Quarterly. Her essay, “A Mind Spread Out on the Ground” won a National Magazine Award. She will be the 2017-2018 Geoffrey and Margaret Andrew Fellow at UBC, working with their Creative Writing Department. Alicia is currently at work on a collection of essays entitled A MIND SPREAD OUT ON THE GROUND, which explores the wider connections between colonialism, race, mental health, poverty, art and parenthood through the lens of her own personal experiences.

RUN, HIDE, REPEAT by Pauline Dakin Debuts on the Globe & Mail Bestsellers List!

Congratulations to Pauline Dakin! Her new book RUN, HIDE, REPEAT (Viking) has debuted at #1 on The Globe and Mail​ Canadian nonfiction and #2 on the general nonfiction bestsellers lists!

beta.theglobeandmail.com/arts/books-and-media/bestsellers/bestsellers-canadian-non-fiction-sept-16-2017/article36275876/

beta.theglobeandmail.com/arts/books-and-media/bestsellers/bestsellers-hardcover-non-fiction-sept-16-2017/article36275890/

Clara Humble: Quiz Whiz by Anna Humphrey Publishes with Owlkids!

Happy book birthday to Anna Humphrey, whose latest book in the Clara Humble series, CLARA HUMBLE: QUIZ WHIZ publishes today with Owlkids! CLARA HUMBLE: QUIZ WHIZ also features fantastic illustrations by Lisa Cinar.

Clara Humble, the winsome and über-confident fourth-grader who’s been described as “Ramona Quimby meets Timmy Failure” is back for a second adventure. When Clara and her best friend, Bradley, discover their favorite game show, Smarty Pants ―a mix of trivia and obstacle course stunts ― is recruiting in their area, Clara is sure she’ll be chosen. Fame and game-show glory will be hers… with Bradley’s help, of course.

Things get complicated when Bradley also earns a contestant spot on the show, and the friends are pitted against each other. It escalates into an epic schoolyard battle between boys and girls, and not everyone is playing fair. Will Clara and Bradley’s friendship survive? Between the tension, sabotage, shenanigans, and Clara’s comics featuring her alter ego @Cat, this is a flat-out funny, fast-paced read.

Advance Praise:

“The lively narrative and cunning plot points provide a nifty adventure and an exploration of the consequences of going with the crowd. Smart, lively, and genuine.” —Kirkus Reviews, STARRED REVIEW

“Another humorous misadventure… A satisfying sequel for younger readers seeking realistic fiction with levity and a plucky protagonist.” —School Library Journal

The Transatlantic welcomes Scotiabank Giller Prize winner Will Ferguson to the agency as Samantha Haywood’s new client!

We are thrilled to welcome internationally bestselling author Will Ferguson with his new novel THE SHOE ON THE ROOF forthcoming from Simon & Schuster Canada in October. THE SHOE ON THE ROOF is a tour de force, a startling, funny, and heartbreaking story of a psychological experiment gone wrong. This is a novel that questions our definitions of sanity and madness, while exploring the magical reality that lies just beyond the world of scientific fact. For fans of John Irving, Anne Patchett and Michael Chabon THE SHOE ON THE ROOF follows in the tradition of Will Ferguson’s internationally bestselling debut novel Happiness TM.

Will Ferguson is the author of sixteen books. His most recent novel, 419, won the Scotiabank Giller Prize. He has won the Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour a record-tying three times and has been nominated for both the IMPAC Dublin Literary Award and a Commonwealth Writers’ Prize. He lives in Calgary. Visit him at WillFerguson.ca. For rights inquires contact: samantha@transatlanticagency.com

Two Roads Home by Daniel Griffin

TWO ROADS HOME by Daniel Griffin published withDaniel Griffin Freehand Books earlier this week on September 12th. We’re wishing Daniel a Happy Belated Book Birthday!

From the Publisher: “It is 1993 on Vancouver Island. A group of idealistic environmental activists, convinced their peaceful protests have been in vain, turn to sabotage. But in a single night everything they’ve worked for goes terribly wrong: a security guard arrives just as the group sets off an explosion at a logging company warehouse.

Two Roads Home follows these activists as their lives—and their cause—spiral out of control. Pete, who set the bomb, heads off the grid where he discovers a vibrant community of squatters who have been affected by the explosion in unexpected ways. Meanwhile, Pete’s mother is determined to track him down in hopes she can help clear his name.

In Two Roads Home, Daniel Griffin deftly re-imagines history: what if, instead of the peaceful anti-logging protests of the 1990s, things had gone too far? How far is too far, when it comes to protesting injustice? And what happens when that line is crossed?”

Advance Praise 

“Daniel Griffin’s Two Roads Home is a blistering examination of modern-day radicalism, a society’s collective guilt, and the possibility of redemption. As propulsive as a thriller, with characters so real they draw blood, this is a powerful novel that never lets up.” —Steven Price, author of By Gaslight

“In this darkly beautiful tale, four idealists try to do ‘something good, something important, something no one else seemed willing to stand up and do.’ But it goes wrong and suddenly Pete Osborne is on the run, his mother Tab becomes a sleuth and we’re off into a page-turner of a story. Daniel Griffin’s compassionate eye follows his characters through the lush coastal forests, wilderness and waters of British Columbia, while he maps their emotional terrain keenly as a mind-reader. Two Roads Home is an elegantly crafted, nuanced work that reveals how we stretch our bonds, and sometimes betray them, to belong, matter or survive.” —Shauna Singh Baldwin, author of The Selector of SoulsThe Tiger Claw and What

Deal News: The Death and Life of Strother Purcell by Ian Weir

Ian WeirAward-winning screenwriter, producer and novelist, Ian Weir‘s THE DEATH AND LIFE OF STROTHER PURCELL, a riveting frontier Western epic for fans of Ron Rash, Cormac McCarthy and the HBO hit series Deadwood, a novel about the two cursed brothers, the shifting nature of truth, and the yearnings of that treacherous sonofabitch the human heart, Canada English rights to Bethany Gibson of Goose Lane Editions for publication Fall 2018 by Samantha Haywood of the Transatlantic Agency (for world ex: Canada contact: samantha@transatlanticagency.com)

SHOOTER and A DAY OF SIGNS AND WONDERS Shortlisted for the 2017 CCBC Awards!

We are absolutely delighted to congratulate both Caroline Pignat and Kit Pearson on being shortlisted for the 2017 Canadian Children’s Book Centre Awards! SHOOTER (Razorbill Canada) by Caroline Pignat is nominated for both the Amy Mather and John Spray Awards and A DAY OF SIGNS AND WONDERS (HarperCollins Canada) by Kit Pearson is among the finalists for the TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award! These awards honour some of the best work by Canadian authors and illustrators, and we are pleased that these two are among them. Congratulations to the authors and their fellow finalists.

From the Jury:

A DAY OF SIGNS AND WONDERS

“In this fictional story about two historical figures — the young Emily Carr and Victoria’s socialite, Kitty O’Reilly — Pearson delves with astute perception into the qualities and psyches of two very different personalities… Both characters are surprising and convincing, and Pearson’s respect for children’s emotions and intelligence — both her characters’ and her readers’ — is admirably apparent throughout.”

SHOOTER

“Pignat tells an incredible story through the eyes of five very different characters who have to face a situation no one could ever be prepared for… The entire story takes place over the course of one nail-biting hour, and a countdown timer at the beginning of each chapter ramps up the tension… The gripping storyline makes this impossible to put down.”

The English-language awards will be presented at an invitation-only gala at The Carlu in Toronto on November 21, 2017. The Amy Mather and John Spray Awards each come with a prize of $5000 while the TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award holds a prize of $30000.

bookcentre.ca/finalists-2017-ccbc-awards/#tdaward