Beware That Girl by Teresa Toten Named on YA Choices 2017 Reading List!

“Teen favourites” lists are coming in — and BEWARE THAT Teresa TotenGIRL (Delacorte/Penguin Random House Canada) by Teresa Toten is on them! See the full list for the International Literacy Association’s 2017 Young Adults’ Choices 2017 list at: www.literacyworldwide.org/get-resources/reading-lists

Congratulations, Teresa!

Yiddish for Pirates Shortlisted for the 2017 Leacock Medal for Humour Award!

Congratulations to Gary Barwin, author of YIDDISH FOR PIRATES (Penguin Random House Canada), which has been shortlisted for the 2017 Leacock Medal for Humour award!

Founded in 1947, the Leacock Medal for Humour encourages the growth of Canadian humour writing. The winner will be announced at an June 10, 2017 dinner outside of Orillia, Ontario, and will be awarded $15,000 from the TD Financial Group as well as the prestigious Leacock Medal for Humour.

Please visit the following link to view the full shortlist: https://leacock.ca/2017-2/2017-shortlist/.

Deal News: Find You In The Dark by Naben Ruthnum

Reminiscent of The Talented Mr. Ripley, with elements of Red Dragon and the hit series Dexter, comes Journey Prize winner Naben Ruthnum, writing as Nathan Ripley’s debut thriller, FIND YOU IN THE DARK. Following the story of Martin Reese, a family man whose obsessive need to right the past by digging up the undiscovered skeletal remains of serial killer victims is about to lead to a terrifyingly real encounter with a killer who is very much alive. Sold in a two-book deal, at auction, in a six-figure deal, to Rakesh Satyal of Atria and Laurie Grassi of Simon & Schuster Canada (NA) by Stephanie Sinclair & Samantha Haywood of the Transatlantic Agency. TV/film rights sold in a pre-empt to eOne by Dana Spector of Paradigm Agency.

SHOOTER by Caroline Pignat Shortlisted for the 2018 MYRCA Awards!

Huge congratulations to Caroline Pignat on her novel SHOOTER (Razorbill Canada) being shortlisted for the 2018 Manitoba Young Readers’ Choice Awards! MYRCA honours quality books with wide reader appeal, and the nominated books are selected by young readers.

The 2017 Award Ceremony will take place on Friday, September 29th, 2017.

To view the full list of nominees, please visit http://www.myrca.ca/2018-myrca-nominees/

The Lady and the Lionheart Wins the 2016 RT BOOK REVIEWS Reviewers’ Choice Awards

We are proud to share that THE LADY AND THE LIONHEART by Joanne Bischof has won the 2016 RT BOOK REVIEWS Reviewers’ Choice Awards for Best Inspirational Romance! Congratulations to Joanne on this great achievement!

The Awards Ceremony will be held in Atlanta on Friday, May 5, 2017 from 7 – 9pm.

Please visit the following link for further information about the award and the full list of winners: www.rtbookreviews.com/blog/135351/announcing-2016-rt-reviewers-choice-and-career-achievement-awards-winners.

Joanne is represented by Sandra Bishop.

Deal News: The Bird House by Fran Kimmel

World rights to Fran Kimmel’s sophomore novel, THE BIRD HOUSE– following a troubled family who shelters an orphan over the holidays, the novel illuminates the surprising ways we heal one another and how love can sometimes be found in the most unexpected places- to ECW Press Senior Editor Jen Knoch by Stephanie Sinclair of Transatlantic Agency for Fall 2018.

Monique Polak Honoured for Contribution to Children’s Literature in Quebec

We are thrilled to announce that Monique Polak has been honoured for her contribution to children’s literature in her home province of Quebec! To mark the 10th anniversary of the Blue Metropolis Children’s Literary Festival, the Blue Metropolis Literary Foundation honoured one francophone and one anglophone children’s author for their contributions to children’s literature in Quebec. The authors were Christiane Duchesne and Monique Polak.

Deal News: The Centaur’s Wife by Amanda Leduc

In the tradition of Station Eleven and The Leftovers comes THE CENTAUR’S WIFE by Amanda Leduc, a dark and exciting post-apocalyptic story about despair, redemption, and magic. Starting the day after asteroids hit the planet, THE CENTAUR’S WIFE follows a ragtag group of people with mysterious connections to centaurs living in a nearby mountain–centaurs whose magic might just teach the others to navigate a world that is dying and being reborn all at once. Canada (English) rights to Anne Collins, Publisher of Random House Canada for spring/summer 2018. World rights ex Canada and TV/film available. Contact: samantha@transatlanticagency.com

SHOOTER by Caroline Pignat Shortlisted for the 2017 Arthur Ellis Awards

She shoots…she scores! Congratulations to Caroline Pignat, whose “Breakfast Club”-type YA novel, SHOOTER (Penguin Random House of Canada) has been shortlisted for the 2017 Arthur Ellis Awards for Excellence in Canadian Crime Writing. It is nominated in the category of Best Juvenile/YA Book.

The 2017 Arthur Ellis Awards Gala will take place on Thursday May 25, 2017 at 7:00pm at the Arts & Letters Club in Toronto. Please visit the following link for more information about the event and how to purchase tickets:
www.crimewriterscanada.com/awards/annual-awards-events/awards-banquet

Please visit the following link for the full list of nominations:
www.crimewriterscanada.com/

SO MUCH LOVE shortlisted for the Amazon.ca First Novel Award

Congratulations to Rebecca Rosenblum​ whose debut novel SO MUCH LOVE has been named a finalist for the Amazon.ca​ First Novel Award! This annual award recognizes the outstanding achievement of a first-time Canadian author and has launched the careers of some of Canada’s most beloved novelists.

SO MUCH LOVE is a stunning first novel about the unexpected reverberations the abduction of a young woman has on a small community.

The winner will be announced on May 25th.