DEAL News: SCRATCH by Becky Blake

CBC Short Story Prize Winner Becky Blake‘s debut novel, SCRATCH, about a young thief and aspiring artist on the run from an assault charge in Toronto who attempts to start her life over on the streets of Barcelona, entering an underground world of pickpockets, squatters and graffiti artists. North American rights to Wolsak & Wynn’s Buckrider Books for Spring 2019 by Stephanie Sinclair of the Transatlantic Agency.

A hale and hearty new client welcome to voice artist, Gail Shalan!

Gail Shalan is a talented professional story-teller who loves narrating audiobooks from her professionally equipped home studio in New England.

In 2015, Gail was selected as one of Audible’s ACX University Up-and-Coming Narrators. She holds a BFA in Acting from Boston University and has trained with the London Academy of Music and Dramatic Arts, the Bristol Old Vic Theatre School, Dame Judi Dench’s Mountview Academy, Williamstown Theatre Festival, and Shakespeare and Company.

In addition to narrating audiobooks, Gail also adores acting Shakespeare and telling new stories—from local Boston premieres, to touring premieres at the NYC & Edinburgh Fringe Festivals.

Gail is currently at work narrating the award winning The Lady & The Lionheart for Blackstone Audio; Gail’s second title with Transatlantic author, Joanne Bischof.

Gail is represented by Sandra Bishop.

Welcome to Simona Ceccarelli

A big welcome to Simona Ceccarelli who has just joined the team at Transatlantic!

Simona was born in Italy and, after an exceptionally nerdy childhood, entered adult life with a passion for both art and science, a large library (which has been growing without control ever since) and the idea that life should rather be wide than long – better still if generous in both dimensions. She went on to study science, move to Germany and then to Switzerland, work as a research scientist, and travel the world.

Art eventually called her back to pursue “the road not taken.” Since 2011 she has done illustration and animation projects for magazines, advertising, corporate marketing and scientific education and has been Creative Director in Corporate Communications.

Simona earned a MFA in Visual Development from the Academy of Art University, San Francisco. She currently lives in Basel, Switzerland with her husband and two children and enjoys the view of the river Rhein while painting.

Simona is represented by Andrea Cascardi.

DEAL NEWS – THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING BY MARISSA STAPLEY

For readers of The Nest and The Notebook comes THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING, by bestselling author Marissa Stapley – a poignant generational story about Mae Summers and Gabe Broadbent, childhood best friends and sweethearts who are reunited as adults at the idyllic Summers’ Inn and dealing with aging parents, heartbreak and secrets that will either bring them together or forever leave them as two islands. World English rights ex: Canada to Brittany Lavery at Graydon House by Samantha Haywood, previously to Nita Pronovost at Simon & Schuster Canada (Spring 2018).