DEAL NEWS FOR SUSAN SWAN’S THE BIGGEST MODERN WOMAN OF THE WORLD AND THE DEAD CELEBRITIES CLUB

We have incredible news to share – Temple Street, a division of Boat Rocker Studios and producers of Orphan Black, have secured television rights to multiple prize finalist and internationally bestselling author Susan Swan‘s debut novel, THE BIGGEST MODERN WOMAN OF THE WORLD!! The deal was arranged by Samantha Haywood, full press release below.

Plus this great news too (!!) Swan’s newest novel, THE DEAD CELEBRITIES CLUB, a timely and satirical novel featuring the hedge fund whale, Dale Paul, a witty, self-absorbed rogue and raconteur for fans of The Wolf of Wall Street and The Sellout by Paul Beatty, will be published by Cormorant Books in 2019, world ex: Canada rights now available. Contact: samantha@transatlanticagency.com.

Press release continued:

Originally published in 1983, and now a contemporary classic, THE BIGGEST MODERN WOMAN OF THE WORLD tells the extraordinary true story of a seven-foot-six giantess who exhibited with P.T. Barnum, and will be adapted for television by Hannah Moscovitch, one of Canada’s leading writers.

Susan Swan’s critically acclaimed fiction has been published in 15 countries, translated into eight languages and received multiple prize nominations. Her novels include What Casanova Told Me, The Western Light and The Wives of Bath, a bestseller that was adapted as the film Lost And Delirious.

Hannah Moscovitch is an award winning playwright, radio, film and television dramatist who has risen to international prominence with works such as This is War, The Russian Play and East of Berlin, and television dramas XCompany and Played.

Kerry Appleyard, SVP Temple Street, said: “Susan Swan’s wonderful novel examines Western culture’s obsession with size and abnormality as Anna’s astonishing life unfolds. Ultimately it is an unlikely story of triumph over adversity which will resonate deeply with audiences worldwide. We’re delighted that we have one of the strongest voices in Canada, the multiple award-winning Hannah Moscovitch, to adapt the series.”

Susan Swan said: “This novel is very close to my heart and I’m thrilled that the television series will be created by Temple Street and Hannah. It’s the ideal dream team to bring Anna Swan’s incredible true story to life!”

Executive Producer Hannah Moscovitch said: “I am beyond thrilled to be working with the award-winning team at Temple Street, to bring Susan Swan’s novel about the extraordinary Anna to our screens. Part truth, part legend, The Biggest Modern Woman of the World is a saucy romp through traditional categories of gender, sexuality and nationality and working on it is going to be a huge pleasure. ”

Co-chairmen Boat Rocker Media David Fortier and Ivan Schneeberg will executive produce the television series based on The Biggest Modern Woman of the World by Susan Swan, along with Trish Williams (Killjoys, Saving Hope). Creator Hannah Moscovitch is also executive producer.

Temple Street is the premium scripted division of Boat Rocker Studios and produces a wide range of content including prime-time television dramas and comedies. Since 2005, Temple Street has been recognized with more than 120 awards and nominations, earning a global reputation for the quality of its programming. A selection of our productions include Orphan Black (BBC America, Space), Killjoys (Syfy, Space), X Company (CBC, Ovation), Being Erica (CBC, SOAPnet), Billable Hours (Global, Showcase), and Queer as Folk (Showtime, Showcase).

DEAL NEWS: BETWEEN BEFORE AND AFTER BY MAUREEN DOYLE MCQUERRY

Once in awhile, finding the right place for a novel is like following a trail of crumbs. We put this one away for a decade while Maureen released other novels, but this tale’s time has finally come.

BETWEEN BEFORE AND AFTER is Maureen McQuerry’s dual narrated generational novel about a girl in 1955 San Jose who discovers there may be more to her family than meets the eye; and her Brooklyn born mother who was forced to make drastic decisions in the aftermath of the Spanish Flu pandemic of 1918.

The novel takes readers down a trail of clues and family stories until the past and present literally collide, revealing a secret that had hid in the shadows too long. A retelling of Hansel and Gretel weaves between the chapters.

David Bennett and I have our own tales to tell about the sale of this work. But that’s a story for another day. In the meantime, we’re just over the moon to share the news that this novel has found its way home, and will release in February 2019 from Harper Collins/Blink YA.

Congratulations, Maureen, from all of us at Transatlantic.

Represented by Sandra Bishop
Film inquiries contact sandra@transatlanticagency.com

For more detail about the author, see Maureen’s website

DEAL NEWS: EXACTLY WHAT TO SAY by Phil Jones

Taiwanese rights to EXACTLY WHAT TO SAY by Phil Jones to Domain publishing by Nurnberg Taiwan in association with Stephanie Sinclair of the Transatlantic Agency on behalf of Page Two Strategies

Romanian rights to EXACTLY WHAT TO SAY by Phil Jones to California Fitness Romania by Stephanie Sinclair of the Transatlantic Agency on behalf of Page Two Strategies

Deal News: Untitled Work by Joshna Maharaj Sold to ECW Press!

Chef and activist Joshna Maharaj’s untitled work, a social gastronomy manifesto and practical guide for transforming the way people eat in hospitals, schools, prisons, and community food centers, to Jennifer Knoch at ECW Press, in a nice deal, for publication in Spring 2020, by Jesse Finkelstein (world English; French).

Deal News: THE SCIENTIST AND THE PSYCHIC by Dr. Christian Smith

North American rights to Dr. Christian Smith’s THE SCIENTIST AND THE PSYCHIC sold on a pre-empt to Amanda Betts and Anne Collins at Random House Canada by Stephanie Sinclair. As a child, Dr. Smith watched his mother become a world-renowned psychic and as an adult, whose education and research challenges the existence of the paranormal, he embarks on a quest to uncover and investigate the science underlying psychic phenomena.

Deal News- NDN Coping Mechanisms: Notes from the Field

World rights to the highly anticipated new work from Billy-Ray BelcourtNDN COPING MECHANISMS: NOTES FROM THE FIELD, using poetry, prose, and digital art to document the polyphonic emotions that flower in Indigenous social words, to House of Anansi Press, for Fall 2019, by Stephanie Sinclair.

Deal News: BOYS by Rachel Giese

Award-winning journalist and editor-at-large at Chatelaine and regular contributor to CBC Radio, Rachel Giese’s BOYS: What It Means to Become a Man, examining the myths and realities of boy culture and the challenges facing boys, making a strong case that the movement for gender equality has the potential to liberate us all, to Laura Mazer at Seal Press, for publication in Fall 2018, by Samantha Haywood of Transatlantic Literary Agency (world English excluding Canada).

Deal News: They Left Us Everything by Plum Johnson

Audio rights to winner of the RBC Taylor Prize and beloved Canadian bestseller, THEY LEFT US EVERYTHING by Plum Johnson sold at auction to Rebecca Best of Rakuten Kobo, rights previously sold to Putnam US, Brandon Culture in China and Gads Forlag in Denmark. The deal was arranged by Samantha Haywood of the Transatlantic Agency.