Deal News: Two Roads Home by Daniel Griffin

Pitched in the tradition of Snow Falling on Cedars, Daniel Griffin’s TWO ROADS HOME, a literary novel with eco-thriller overtones, reimagining the 1993 Clayoquot Sound protests when the fall-out from a bomb blast at a logging company warehouse ends in the unplanned death of a security guard, to Dirk Vaihiner of Nagel & Kimche of Hanser Verlag by Hannah Fosh of Liepman Agency, on behalf of  Samantha Haywood of the Transatlantic Agency, Canada English and US rights previously sold to Freehand Books (September, 2017).

DEAL NEWS: BIX BY SCOTT CHANTLER

Award-winning graphic novelist Scott Chantler‘s BIX, an experimental and mostly wordless black and white graphic biography highlighting the career of Leon Bix Beiderbecke, an early jazz cornet player, who rose rapidly to fame in the 1920s before falling just as quickly from grace due to a wretched dependence on alcohol, to Ed Schlesinger of Gallery 13, Simon & Schuster by Samantha Haywood (North America).

Deal News: The Death and Life of Strother Purcell by Ian Weir

Ian WeirAward-winning screenwriter, producer and novelist, Ian Weir‘s THE DEATH AND LIFE OF STROTHER PURCELL, a riveting frontier Western epic for fans of Ron Rash, Cormac McCarthy and the HBO hit series Deadwood, a novel about the two cursed brothers, the shifting nature of truth, and the yearnings of that treacherous sonofabitch the human heart, Canada English rights to Bethany Gibson of Goose Lane Editions for publication Fall 2018 by Samantha Haywood of the Transatlantic Agency (for world ex: Canada contact: samantha@transatlanticagency.com)

I’M THINKING OF ENDING THINGS Celebrates its 17th Territory!

In 2016 I’M THINKING OF ENDING THINGS by Iain Reid was simultaneously  published in the U.S., Canada, UK, Australia, the Netherlands and Turkey to incredible acclaim! Making Book Soup’s bestseller list in May 2017, the novel was also nominated for the Frank Heygi Award for Emerging Authors, the 2016 Shirley Jackson Award, and named a best book of 2016 by The Globe & Mail, 49th Shelf, Amazon, and NPR. We are absolutely thrilled to share that it has just sold in its 17th territory – a staggering accomplishment! To date the territories include the following:

U.S. (Scout Press), Canada (Simon & Schuster Canada), U.K. & A.N.Z.
(Text Publishing), The Netherlands (Prometheus), Brazil (Rocco), France
(Presses de la Cite), Israel (HaKursa), Denmark (Lindhardt og Ringhof),
Germany (Droemer), Turkey (Teas), Poland (Prosznski), Thailand
(WeLearn), China (United Sky), Korea (Arumdri Media Publishing),
Centrepolygraph Publishers (Russia), and Bjartur & Verold (Iceland).

Check out the praise the novel has received so far below!

Praise

“I’m Thinking of Ending Things is an ingeniously twisted nightmare road trip through the fragile psyches of two young lovers. My kind of  fun!” -Academy-award winning writer Charlie Kaufman

“The boldest and most original literary thriller to appear in some time. . . In addition to Cronenberg, the ghost of Stephen King hovers over these pages.” –Chicago Tribune

“Your dread and unease will mount with every passing page of this relationship tale.” – Entertainment Weekly

“This is a deliciously frightening novel, Reid has a light, idiosyncratic touch but never lets his vice-like grip of suspense slacken for a second. Once finished, you will be hard pressed not to start the whole terrifying journey all over again.” –The Independent

“I’m Thinking of Ending Things is one of the best debut novels I’ve ever read. Iain Reid has crafted a tight, ferocious little book, with a persistent tenor of suspense that tightens and mounts toward its visionary, harrowing final pages.” -Scott Heim, author of Mysterious Skin and We Disappear

“An addictive metaphysical investigation into the nature of identity, one which seduces and horrifies in equal measure. Reid masterfully explores the perversity of loneliness and somehow also creates a very entertaining thriller. I found myself yelling at the characters to put their feet on the pedal and drive.” -Heather O’Neill, author of
Lullabies for Little Criminals and Daydreams of Angels

“Here are some near-certainties about I’m Thinking of Ending Things. Number One: You’re going to read it fast. Over the course of an afternoon or an evening. The momentum is unstoppable—once you start, you won’t be able to stop. And Two: once you race to the end and  understand the significance of those final pages, you won’t be able to stop thinking about it. This novel will find a spot in your heart and head and it will live there—for days, weeks, months, or (in my case) the rest of your life. Yes. It really is that good.” -Craig Davidson (aka Nick Cutter), author of Cataract City and The Deep

“Iain Reid’s I’m Thinking of Ending Things is an engaging and bizarre dialogue between normality and weirdness, where ‘normal’ equals dishonesty and ‘weird’ is synonymous with vulnerability. In a novel this twisted it shouldn’t come as a surprise that its ending is even stranger than the narrative route that takes us there…but it does. Reid’s novel is a road trip to the heart of creepyness.” – Sjón, author of The Blue FoxFrom the Mouth of the Whale, and The Whispering Muse

“This is the most unsettling book I have ever read…deliciously sinister, dark, and harrowing.” –Book Riot

“Iain Reid’s book is somewhat of a philosophical tract as well as a novel. The narrator often muses over big life-and-death ideas such as the one above, but in a disarming way that renders these thoughts to feel like a seamless part of the narrative. It’s an incredibly hard thing to achieve, and Reid has done it to perfection: introducing ideas
to the reader without taking them out of the narrative.” –Electric Literature

“A superbly crafted psychological thriller, with forays into the metaphysical, which promises to keep you up at night.” –Macleans

“I picked up I’m Thinking of Ending Things one afternoon this past summer at a bookstore outside a movie theatre, planning to read the first chapter or so before my matinee started. Two and a half hours later, I’d missed the film entirely…” – Hazlitt

“I’m Thinking of Ending Things rocked my world. This slim novel about a man on a trip with his unhappy girlfriend is a total mindbender, and when it ended, I immediately started flipping back through it to re-experience old scenes with new knowledge. Don’t risk spoiling it for yourself by reading reviews; just be brave and buckle up.” -Powell’s
Books

“I’m Thinking of Ending Things is an utterly compelling modern Gothic that stakes its claim in the inner precincts of horror. Reid builds tension the way Edgar Allen Poe builds brick walls in his basement.” -Wayne Grady, author of Emancipation Day

“Smart, dangerous and spooky as hell. Iain Reid takes you on a harrowing road trip that keeps you riveted until the final destination.” -Brian
Francis, author of Fruit and Natural Order

Deal News: I REMEMBER YOU by Elisabeth de Mariaffi

UK Commonwealth Ex Canada rights to Giller Prize-longlisted author Elisabeth de Mariaffi’s haunting new novel I REMEMBER YOU, now titled HYSTERIA in North America, for fans of Hitchcock and readers of Sarah Waters, when a young German woman encounters a strange little girl in the woods, she begins to fear what lies beneath the shiny veneer of the 1950s upstate New York community where she lives with her young son and her husband, a controlling American psychiatrist, but when her son suddenly goes missing, she finds herself torn between the possibility that her husband is involved in the boy’s disappearance and the dark suggestion that something otherworldly has taken him, to Miranda Jewess of Titan Publishing Group​ by Samantha Haywood of the Transatlantic Agency, previously to Iris Tupholme, Publisher of HarperCollins Canada for 2018.

Deal News: UK/ANZ Rights to FIND YOU IN THE DARK by NABEN RUTHNUM

UK/ANZ rights to Journey Prize winner Naben Ruthnum writing as Nathan Ripley’s debut FIND YOU IN THE DARK, pitched as reminiscent of The Talented Mr. Ripley with elements of Red Dragon and the hit TV series “Dexter,” which follows the story of a family man whose obsessive need to right the past by digging up the undiscovered skeletal remains of serial killer victims is about to lead to a terrifyingly real encounter with a killer who is very much alive, to Michael Heyward at Text Publishing, at auction, by Stephanie Sinclair and Samantha Haywood (previous rights to Rakesh Satyal of Atria and Laurie Grassi of Simon & Schuster Canada).

Deal News: Quintland by Shelley Wood

Shelley Wood‘s mesmerizing debut novel, QUINTLAND™ – a tour de force of imagination, taking readers inside the devastating true story of the Dionne quintuplets through fiction steeped in research. This is a coming-of-age novel bound up in one of the strangest true tales of the past century, to executive editor Lucia Macro at William Morrow, on an exclusive, for Winter 2018 (North America) by Stephanie Sinclair.

DEAL News: SCRATCH by Becky Blake

CBC Short Story Prize Winner Becky Blake‘s debut novel, SCRATCH, about a young thief and aspiring artist on the run from an assault charge in Toronto who attempts to start her life over on the streets of Barcelona, entering an underground world of pickpockets, squatters and graffiti artists. North American rights to Wolsak & Wynn’s Buckrider Books for Spring 2019 by Stephanie Sinclair of the Transatlantic Agency.

Deal News: End of the Rope by Jan Redford

Jan Redford’s debut, END OF THE ROPE: Braving Mountains, Marriage and  Motherhood, in the tradition of Cheryl Strayed’s Wild,  set in the Rockies, in which a rash young climber bounces from mountain to mountain and relationship to relationship, then loses the love of her life in a climbing accident, becomes pregnant with his friend’s baby and struggles in a stormy marriage until she finally breaks free to pursue higher education and make her own way in life. US English rights to Jack Shoemaker at Counterpoint with Megha Majumdar editing, previously to Random House Canada for Spring 2018 by Samantha Haywood of Transatlantic Agency.

Deal News: The Sweetest Music by Kristen den Hartog and Tracy Kasaboski

Kristen den Hartog and Tracy Kasaboski‘s new work, THE SWEETEST MUSIC, a sweeping, working-class family memoir, begins with a young cowkeeper and his wife who arrive in 1840s London, England from Wales to escape poverty but instead plunge into it, then follows their descendants through 100 years to the big band era of the 1920s and 1930s in London, Ontario. World English rights to Anna Comfort-O’Keeffe at Douglas & McIntyre by Samantha Haywood of Transatlantic Agency.