DEAL NEWS – LOST FEAST by LENORE NEWMAN

World rights to LOST FEAST: A Requiem for Extinct Foods by Canada Research Chair in Food Security and Environment Lenore Newman, examining a series of extinct foods now lost to our insatiable human appetite, and shedding light on which beloved foods we will struggle to protect in the future, to Susan Renouf at ECW Press by Trena White.

Deal News: A Girl Named Lovely by Catherine Porter

Catherine PorterFormer Toronto Star columnist, starting this month as a correspondent for New York Times, Catherine Porter’s A GIRL NAMED LOVELY, recounting Catherine’s journeys in post-earthquake Haiti as she bonds with the family of a miraculous child survivor and witnesses the realities of international aid, to Brendan May at Simon & Schuster Canada, by Samantha Haywood (NA).

Deal News: If Clara by Martha Baillie

World Rights Ex: France/Quebec to Martha Baillie‘s exquisite new novel, IF CLARA – looking at family, friendship, memory, and the anxiety of contemporary life as if through a kaleidoscope, the colourful shards keep rearranging themselves. Flawlessly woven together are characters that fall and break their bones, dive into erotic love, drop from the sky, and plummet into mental illness. Their lives, they quickly discover, are inextricably intertwined. To Alana Wilcox at Coach House Books for Fall 2017.

DEAL NEWS – THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING BY MARISSA STAPLEY

For readers of The Nest and The Notebook comes THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING, by bestselling author Marissa Stapley – a poignant generational story about Mae Summers and Gabe Broadbent, childhood best friends and sweethearts who are reunited as adults at the idyllic Summers’ Inn and dealing with aging parents, heartbreak and secrets that will either bring them together or forever leave them as two islands. World English rights ex: Canada to Brittany Lavery at Graydon House by Samantha Haywood, previously to Nita Pronovost at Simon & Schuster Canada (Spring 2018).

Deal News: The Honey Farm by Harriet Alida Lye

Canada English rights to Harriet Alida Lye‘s unnerving novel, THE HONEY FARM, for fans of Darren Aronofsky’s Black Swan and readers of Kazuo Ishiguro’s haunting novel Never Let Me Go, THE HONEY FARM is a psychological thriller about art, bees and love – when beekeeper Cynthia offers young artists free room and board in exchange for help on the farm, strange things start happening, resembling the plagues from the Book of Exodus, triggering a Catholic would-be-poet into an increasingly terrorized state where she can no longer tell if Cynthia is her protector or her destroyer – to Whitney Moran at Vagrant Press for Spring 2018 by Stephanie Sinclair.

Deal News: Lear’s Shadow by Claire Holden Rothman

Claire Holden RothmanFor readers of Ann Patchett, Governor General’s Award finalist and twice longlisted Scotiabank Giller Prize author Claire Holden Rothman’s LEAR’S SHADOW tells the mesmerizing story of Beatrice Rose who, after losing her career and the love of her life, has lost her way and finds herself stuck caring for her aging father only to discover the fascinating world of an urban Shakespeare troupe which unveils new meanings, a new love, and a new life — to Shima Aoki and Nicole Winstanley at Penguin Canada for Fall 2018 by Samantha Haywood of the Transatlantic Agency (Canada, English).

DEAL NEWS – I REMEMBER YOU BY ELISABETH DE MARIAFFI

Canada English rights to Giller Prize-longlisted author Elisabeth de Mariaffi’s haunting new novel I REMEMBER YOU, for readers of Sarah Waters, a story whose post-war setting in seemingly idyllic 1950s upstate New York strangely parallels a young German woman’s relationship with her controlling husband, an American psychiatrist, until the couple’s small son goes missing, leaving the mother torn between the possibility that her husband is involved in the boy’s disappearance and the dark suggestion that something otherworldly has taken him, to Iris Tupholme of HarperCollins Canada​ by Samantha Haywood.