Deal News: Things to Do When It’s Raining by Marissa Stapley

German rights to THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING in a three book deal by bestselling author Marissa Stapley sold at auction in a six figure deal to Silke Jellinghaus at Wunderlich, Rowohlt, rights previously to Nita Pronovost at Simon & Schuster Canada and Brittany Lavery at Graydon House for US and UK, publishing Spring 2018 by Hannah Fosh at Liepman Agency on behalf of Samantha Haywood at Transatlantic Agency, for readers of Jojo Moyes and Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney comes a poignant generational story about Mae Summers and Gabe Broadbent, childhood best friends and sweethearts who are reunited as adults at the idyllic Summers’ Inn and dealing with aging parents, heartbreak and secrets that will either bring them together or forever leave them as two islands.

Deal News: The Truth About Love, Hockey and Ballroom Dancing by Jennifer Irwin

Amy Tompkins has sold English rights in Canada to Jennifer Irwin’s debut novel THE TRUTH ABOUT LOVE, HOCKEY AND BALLROOM DANCING to Patricia Ocampo at Simon & Schuster Canada. THE TRUTH ABOUT LOVE, HOCKEY AND BALLROOM DANCING is a middle grade novel that’s both poignant and laugh-out-loud funny. Set in the ‘80s, it’s best described as Billy Elliot meets Judy Blume’s Then Again, Maybe I Won’t. For publication in 2018.

Deal News: Mother Nature’s Son by Kate Inglis

World rights to Kate Inglis’s MOTHER NATURE’S SON to Beth Frankl at Shambhala Publications. Part memoir, part self-help book, MOTHER NATURE’S SON is a book of reflection for parents healing after the death of a child. Kate Inglis, a published author, TEDx speaker, and founder of the bereavement community Glow in the Woods, is represented by Amy Tompkins.

DEAL NEWS – LOST FEAST by LENORE NEWMAN

World rights to LOST FEAST: A Requiem for Extinct Foods by Canada Research Chair in Food Security and Environment Lenore Newman, examining a series of extinct foods now lost to our insatiable human appetite, and shedding light on which beloved foods we will struggle to protect in the future, to Susan Renouf at ECW Press by Trena White.

Deal News: A Girl Named Lovely by Catherine Porter

Catherine PorterFormer Toronto Star columnist, starting this month as a correspondent for New York Times, Catherine Porter’s A GIRL NAMED LOVELY, recounting Catherine’s journeys in post-earthquake Haiti as she bonds with the family of a miraculous child survivor and witnesses the realities of international aid, to Brendan May at Simon & Schuster Canada, by Samantha Haywood (NA).

Deal News: If Clara by Martha Baillie

World Rights Ex: France/Quebec to Martha Baillie‘s exquisite new novel, IF CLARA – looking at family, friendship, memory, and the anxiety of contemporary life as if through a kaleidoscope, the colourful shards keep rearranging themselves. Flawlessly woven together are characters that fall and break their bones, dive into erotic love, drop from the sky, and plummet into mental illness. Their lives, they quickly discover, are inextricably intertwined. To Alana Wilcox at Coach House Books for Fall 2017.

DEAL NEWS – THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING BY MARISSA STAPLEY

For readers of The Nest and The Notebook comes THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING, by bestselling author Marissa Stapley – a poignant generational story about Mae Summers and Gabe Broadbent, childhood best friends and sweethearts who are reunited as adults at the idyllic Summers’ Inn and dealing with aging parents, heartbreak and secrets that will either bring them together or forever leave them as two islands. World English rights ex: Canada to Brittany Lavery at Graydon House by Samantha Haywood, previously to Nita Pronovost at Simon & Schuster Canada (Spring 2018).