DEAL NEWS: PEACE AND GOOD ORDER by Harold Johnson

Former Crown Prosecutor, bestselling author and finalist for the Governor General’s Literary Award Harold R. Johnson has been commissioned by McClelland & Stewart to write a book about the failures of the Canadian state to deliver justice to Indigenous people.

The book, tentatively titled PEACE AND GOOD ORDER, will argue a case against Canadian criminal law for its failure to deliver justice to Indigenous people. The book will examine the roots of the justice system’s failures, and explore how those failures have affected Indigenous people. In documenting the struggle for peace and good order for Indigenous people today, it will also reflect on the role the author understands himself to have played in that mismanagement as former Crown Prosecutor.

Harold R. Johnson says, “We have to have a conversation about justice and the over incarceration of Indigenous and marginalized people. We need to talk about changing a culture, not Indigenous culture—we need to change the culture of justice.”

Martha Kanya-Forstner has acquired Canadian English rights for Spring 2019. The deal was arranged by Stephanie Sinclair at the Transatlantic Agency.

Martha Kanya-Fortnser says, “I am profoundly grateful that the outrage and confusion following the verdicts in the deaths of Colten Boushie and Tina Fontaine inspired Harold to write. As a former Crown prosecutor in northern Saskatchewan and a member of the Montreal Lake Cree Nation, he is uniquely and perfectly situated to argue the case against the Canadian justice system.”

Harold R. Johnson is the author of five works of fiction and two non-fiction. His most recent work “Firewater: How Alcohol Is Killing My People (and Yours)” was nominated for the Governor General’s Award for Nonfiction. Born and raised in northern Saskatchewan to Swede Cree parents, Harold has a connection to the land from which he writes. After having had a variety of occupations, Harold attended Harvard University to obtain a Master’s Degree in Law. Harold managed a private law practice for several years before he became a Crown Prosecutor.

He and his wife Joan live at the north end of Montreal Lake, Saskatchewan where they continue the traditions of trapping and commercial fishing. The cabin they built together is off grid and without road access. In this quiet space, except for the howling of a dozen sleigh dogs, and the caw of the occasional raven, he can listen to the sounds the land makes and remember ancient stories.

Billy-Ray Belcourt wins the 2018 Robert Kroetsch Edmonton Book Award!

A big congratulations to Billy-Ray Belcourt who won the 2018 Robert Kroetsch Edmonton Book Award for THIS WOUND IS A WORLD!

“Part manifesto, part memoir, This Wound is a World is an invitation to “cut a hole in the sky to world inside.” Billy-Ray Belcourt issues a call to turn to love and sex to understand how Indigenous peoples shoulder sadness and pain like theirs without giving up on the future. His poems upset genre and play with form, scavenging for a decolonial kind of heaven where “everyone is at least a little gay.” (Source: Frontenac House)”

 

Heather Smith won the Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Award for THE AGONY OF BUN O’KEEFE

Heather Smith won the Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Award in the Young Adult/Middle Reader category for THE AGONY OF BUN O’KEEFE!

Winners were selected by two juries of young readers. Students read the books and worked together to reach a consensus and select a winner. This process makes it a unique literary award in Canada.

One juror commented “Bun and Busker Boy are my favourite characters of all time!” and praised to protagonist as “one-of-a-kind”.

Congratulations Heather!

 

Welcoming new client Lillian Karabaic!

A very warm welcome to Lillian Karabaic. As the host of Oh My Dollar!, a weekly financial advice radio show, and as an international public speaker, Lillian has built a reputation for talking money without being boring – covering the kinds of modern money issues that millennials face (sometimes in costume.) Her work has been featured on CBS, NPR, Vox Media, the Portland Mercury, the Oregonian, the Journal of Higher Education, Portland Monthly, and in dozens of personal finance blogs and podcasts. A repeat speaker at community events, she has given fun money management talks at over 30 colleges including Wells College, School of the Art Institute of Chicago, Reed College, and Portland State University. Her cat-filled purrsonal finance illustrated workbook, Get Your Money Together, was 225% funded on Kickstarter She is represented by Fiona Kenshole.

FIND YOU IN THE DARK by Nathan Ripley (Naben Ruthnum) U.S. and audio editions now available!

Not only does the U.S. edition of Naben Ruthnum‘s (writing as Nathan Ripley) FIND YOU IN THE DARK publish today with Atria Books, but both the U.S. and Canadian audio editions drop today too! Now it’s up to you to decide how you’d like to experience your goosebumps.

Published by Simon & Schuster Canada in March, this bestselling debut thriller sold at auction in Canada and the U.S., and has sold on a pre-empt to eOne and at auction in the U.K. to Text Publishing.

In the vein of The Talented Mr. Ripley, FIND YOU IN THE DARK follows a family man obsessed with digging up the undiscovered remains of serial killer victims and soon catches the attention of a murderer prowling the streets of Seattle.

Praise for FIND YOU IN THE DARK

“[A] gripping debut thriller. . . Dexter fans will enjoy the creepy vibe.”
-Publishers Weekly

“Ripley’s debut offers a twist on the typical serial-killer story. . . . a unique spin with just enough creepy details to keep suspense readers interested.” -Booklist

“Engrossing. . . . This debut thriller by the pseudonymous Ripley (Journey Prize winner Naben Ruthnum) is highly recommended for fans of Lee Child and C.J. Box.”
-Library Journal

“There is something unsettling about this story and readers will feel that tension grow as they consume Find You in The Dark. Contrasting and conflicting emotions will dominate, making it impossible to stop until the chase is complete.” -The BOLO Books review

“Ripley . . . has come up with a fresh angle to the serial murder game. . . . clever and diabolical . . . This unusual debut thriller has a lot going for it.” -Kirkus Reviews

“A well-crafted crime novel that proves utterly absorbing. . . . with vivid scenes and complex psychology, Find You in the Dark lingers long after the last page has been devoured. And Ripley proves a stellar addition to the Canadian crime novel scene. An addictive debut.” -Toronto Star

“A fast-paced book . . . akin to dark British crime TV dramas such as Broadchurch or Luther, satisfyingly sinister and unsettling in their explorations of the violent possibilities of humanity…” -The Globe and Mail

Michelle Parise’s ALONE: A LOVE STORY WINS GOLD AT THE NEW YORK FESTIVALS RADIO AWARDS!

We’re thrilled to congratulate Michelle Parise who has won Gold at The New York Festivals Radio Awards for her CBC Radio podcast ALONE: A LOVE STORY!

The NYF’s International Radio Program Awards for The World’s Best Radio Programs honours “the exceptional and innovative content being created today on all continents and seen across all platforms.”

With over 3.5 million downloads to date, this podcast memoir of love, marriage and life after betrayal resonates with audiences all over the world.

ALONE: A LOVE STORY is an intensely relatable tale of heartbreak and hope that taps into the loneliness inside all of us. No matter how many times love kicks her in the shins, Parise doesn’t give up on hope or on herself. The only thing to do once you’ve hit bottom is to swim back up!

Michelle Parise has been a producer for CBC Radio and Television for over two decades. Born and raised in Toronto in a gigantic Italian immigrant family, Michelle was surrounded by storytellers, and as a child she wrote hundreds of short stories about her life. When she was 11-years-old she wrote a feminist novella in response to a book she’d taken issue with on the Grade 7 reading list. The teacher made it part of the curriculum in the years following. Her commitment to honest storytelling started early, is what we’re getting at, and is part of everything she creates, continually striving to make connection through shared experience.

For more information about these awards, please visit: Newyorkfestivals.com/radio/

DEAL NEWS: THEY SAID THIS WOULD BE FUN by Eternity Martis

Canadian English rights to Eternity Martis THEY SAID THIS WOULD BE FUN sold to Jared Bland and Haley Cullingham at McClelland & Stewart, in a two book pre-emptive deal by Stephanie Sinclair.

In this debut memoir in essays, Eternity explores what happens when a woman of colour tries to have the epic university experience seen in movies – and finds out it’s not possible when you don’t fit into the predetermined culture. Weaving compelling personal experience with sharp criticism of the ongoing racial tensions across Canada and university campuses, the book takes a fiercely unapologetic look at the challenges that students of colour face today amidst growing anti-Black racism, white nationalism and alt-right ideologies.

David Huebert’s Peninsula Sinking Runner Up for Danuta Gleed Literary Award!

We’re delighted to announce David Huebert’s PENINSULA SINKING (Biblioasis) was runner up for the 2017 Danuta Gleed Literary Award – congratulations, David!

This annual award recognizes the best first collection of short fiction by a Canadian author published in the previous year in the English language. PENINSULA SINKING has been selected as the runner up from 39 submitted collections.

From the Jury:
“A sense of wonderment penetrates the everyday lives of characters from the Maritimes in this well-crafted, compelling collection that displays a mastery of classical short-story structure and technique. Huebert’s vibrant language juxtaposes tough characters with tender preoccupations, creating narratives that are unsettling and mesmerizing, making ordinary moments in relationships thrilling and dangerous.”

PENINSULA SINKING explores the relation between periphery and centre, using the metaphor of rising sea levels to examine the various emotional crises of underemployed Nova Scotians caught between the place they love deeply and the brute fact that opportunity lies elsewhere.

DIANE SCHOEMPERLEN wins The Molson Prize!

Diane Schoemperlen

Canada Council for the Arts Molson Prizes are awarded to two people – one in the arts and the other in social science and humanities, who have distinguished themselves by their outstanding achievements.

“Being awarded a Molson Prize gives me a deep sense of affirmation that it has all been worthwhile and that I have indeed been accomplishing something valuable in my work.” -Diane on winning the Molson Prize.

Warmest congratulations from all of us at the Transatlantic Agency, Diane!

 

 

DEAL NEWS: MAJOR MISCONDUCT BY JEREMY ALLINGHAM

World rights to award-winning journalist and broadcaster, who works for CBC, Jeremy Allingham‘s MAJOR MISCONDUCT has been acquired by Brian Lam at Arsenal Pulp Press, by Samantha Haywood and Rob Firing. The book explores the dark side of Canada’s national pastime: bare-knuckle boxing on ice. Hockey players as young as 12 years old are trained to fight, most often with an eye on junior and professional careers, the pursuit of the Canadian hockey dream. But, as we learn more about concussions, mental health and CTE; and see lives laying in ruin, is all of that violence worth it?