Warm Welcome to Atz Kilcher, Sr.

Photo Credit – Scott Dickerson

Atz Kilcher grew up the eldest son of Yule and Ruth Kilcher, who emigrated Switzerland in the late 1930’s and settled in the Kenai Peninsula of Alaska, joining some of Homer’s earliest pioneer homesteaders.

Today, Atz performs music around the country, occasionally alongside his singer-songwriter daughter, Jewel. When he’s not singing or writing, he spends his time cross-country skiing with his wife Bonnie; supporting the endeavors of his three grown sons; weaving root baskets; riding herd at the head of Kachemak Bay; hunting; yodeling; and appearing regularly on Discovery Channel’s popular show, ALASKA: The Last Frontier.

Atz Kilcher is represented by Sandra Bishop

For more information about Atz, see atzkilcher.com   For a look at the popular Discovery program about his homesteading family, see Alaska: The Last Frontier

Deal News: A Girl Named Lovely by Catherine Porter

Catherine PorterFormer Toronto Star columnist, starting this month as a correspondent for New York Times, Catherine Porter’s A GIRL NAMED LOVELY, recounting Catherine’s journeys in post-earthquake Haiti as she bonds with the family of a miraculous child survivor and witnesses the realities of international aid, to Brendan May at Simon & Schuster Canada, by Samantha Haywood (NA).

First professional literary agent association formed in Canada

PACLA president and Transatlantic Agency literary agent Samantha Haywood

Thirty-eight Canadian literary agents from 13 agencies announced the formation of the Professional Association of Canadian Literary Agents on Jan. 23. The organization echoes similar long-standing international organizations, such as the Australian Literary Agents’ Association and the U.K.’s Association of Author’s Agents.

PACLA’s agents – led by president Samantha Haywood, of the Transatlantic Agency, and an executive committee comprising vice-president Jackie Kaiser (Westwood Creative Artists), treasurer Hilary McMahon (WCA), and secretary Marilyn Biderman – collectively represent more than 1,000 authors and illustrators.

Haywood says there has long been a need for such an organization in Canada, and its creation will result in better communication with other members of the publishing community both domestically and overseas.
“Many agents in Canada have been wanting to form an association for some time, and we need one that can concentrate on publishing issues that face Canadian authors in particular,” Haywood says. “Agents are the intermediaries between publishers and writers, and as a result we have a privileged perspective on the publishing ecosystem in Canada and abroad. … We hope to keep in regular communication with [other agent] organizations about our shared industry issues.”

PACLA’s main aim will be to advocate for authors, and also to provide professional development and standards of practice for agents. It will support endeavours like the Fair Contracts Initiative for equitable author contract terms, first launched by the U.S. Authors Guild in 2015.

“As the Writers’ Union and other organizations have pointed out, it’s never been more difficult to make a living as an author. While our association won’t be directly negotiating new terms with publishers, we will be actively advocating on behalf of what we feel is just and fair for authors in Canada,” Haywood says.

Deal News: If Clara by Martha Baillie

World Rights Ex: France/Quebec to Martha Baillie‘s exquisite new novel, IF CLARA – looking at family, friendship, memory, and the anxiety of contemporary life as if through a kaleidoscope, the colourful shards keep rearranging themselves. Flawlessly woven together are characters that fall and break their bones, dive into erotic love, drop from the sky, and plummet into mental illness. Their lives, they quickly discover, are inextricably intertwined. To Alana Wilcox at Coach House Books for Fall 2017.

A Plea for Constant Motion by Paul Carlucci Publishes with House of Anansi Press

A PLEA FOR CONSTANT MOTION, a collection of short stories by award-winning author Paul Carlucci publishes on January 21, 2017 with House of Anansi Press! Happy Book Birthday Paul!

From the Publisher: “Quietly atmospheric and darkly foreboding, A Plea for Constant Motion is an ominous, and occasionally unnerving, new work of fiction by award-winning author Paul Carlucci.

Penetrating and visceral, yet always offset by small moments of tenderness and humour, A Plea for Constant Motion is a powerful examination of the innate desire in everyone to change their lives and strive for something better.

Two couples share a disastrous dinner after their children are killed in a botched kidnapping overseas. A teacher with a passion for cartography orchestrates a bizarre apology after intentionally hitting a student. Desperate to be friends, a man ignores his neighbour’s strange behaviour to the peril of himself and others. A young girl babysits for a family friend, dimly aware that her presence is required for more than just childcare.”

View an interview with Paul at littlefiction.com and also listen to a story-by-story playlist of his new collection here.

Also check out Paul’s In Character interview with Open Book!

Reviews

“Paul Carlucci’s A Plea for Constant Motion is a visceral, vibrant, take-no-prisoners collection. Its characters keep talking in your head even after you put the stories down, coming back when you least expect it. Bright like nightmares, yet gauzy like half-remembered dreams — a unique touch.” Russell Wangersky, author of The Path of Most Resistance

“Paul Carlucci’s collection thrums with violence. The damaged, deranged, and dangerous are flayed open on the page by vivid, razor-sharp prose. These stories, steeped in darkness, disturb and captivate in equal measure.” Laura Trunkey, author of Double Dutch

“Paul Carlucci has a gift for the dark and the heartbreaking. In this myriad collection of stories, we meet people who have been confronted with all manner of quiet disasters. It’s a testament to the careful brilliance of Carlucci’s prose that this disaster exists hand-in-hand with redemption; these are tales of unlikely triumph, wistfully poignant and played out with a master hand.” Amanda Leduc, author of The Miracles of Ordinary Men

“Whether Paul Carlucci’s characters are dealing with class conflict, prejudice, or incomprehensible cruelty, the precision and dark, vivid humour of his stories deliver new angles on literary and societal conventions, demonstrating that the sidelines are often where the real emotional action is.” Naben Ruthnum, Journey Prize-winning author and National Post columnist

Rights Sold: House of Anansi Press, World

Oregon Book Awards Finalists Include The Way Back From Broken

We’re so pleased to announce that Amber Keyser’s debut YA novel, THE WAY BACK FROM BROKEN, has been selected as an Oregon Book Awards finalist. Published to acclaim in 2015 by Carolrhoda Lab, the book is a wilderness adventure in which a young boy faces the elements and confronts his grief about his sister’s death. It has been nominated for the Leslie Bradshaw Award for Young Adult Literature and Amber joins the ranks of fellow OBA nominees including Carrie Brownstein and Walidah Imarisha. Winners will be announced on Monday, April 24 at an awards ceremony in Portland. Congratulations, Amber!

Amber is represented by Fiona Kenshole.

DEAL NEWS – THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING BY MARISSA STAPLEY

For readers of The Nest and The Notebook comes THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING, by bestselling author Marissa Stapley – a poignant generational story about Mae Summers and Gabe Broadbent, childhood best friends and sweethearts who are reunited as adults at the idyllic Summers’ Inn and dealing with aging parents, heartbreak and secrets that will either bring them together or forever leave them as two islands. World English rights ex: Canada to Brittany Lavery at Graydon House by Samantha Haywood, previously to Nita Pronovost at Simon & Schuster Canada (Spring 2018).

A Mighty Duo: An author’s hard work and a marketing team’s unwavering support

We always appreciate the hard work our authors devote to writing the absolute best book they can. But, as most authors know, that’s just the beginning. Getting the word out about an upcoming release takes a lot of emotional energy, and a whole lot of hustle, long hours, & tons of good old fashioned hard work. And often, this all takes place during a long period of waiting accompanied by a hefty dose of wondering if any of it will make a difference.

So, when we see positive things happening as a result of an author’s hard work and the support of the marketing team who gets behind her ideas and is willing to invest and help break the marketing mold, we get pretty excited.

Check out the collaboration between author Rachel Macy Stafford, her publisher, and an award winning video company which resulted in this gorgeous, uplifting book promo:

GET OFF THE SCALE written & read aloud by Rachel Macy Stafford…

A stranger recently offered me an apology containing some of the most heartbreaking words I’d ever heard—words that indicated she was “too much” and “not enough,” all at the same time. I knew her words by heart. I’d inhabited them for nearly a lifetime. I can’t say exactly how many years it went on like that, but I can remember when I finally questioned it. This powerful shift led me to write a freeing manifesto for myself, for my children, for my sisters, and my brothers. Never in my wildest dreams would I have imagined it could become THIS—an uplifting short film created by the Emmy Award winning SALT Project. As you will see, it features people just like us, people who are ready to live bravely, boldly, flawed & full of hope. I hand this piece of my heart over to you, my friends of The Hands Free Revolution. I know how fast and far you can spread good news, and I am counting on you today. Please share, tag a friend, or simply write, “It’s time.” It’s time to stop looking at all the things we’re not and start looking at all the things we are. Come as you are, beautiful souls. It’s time. #onlylovetoday #getoffthescale #comeasyouare #flawedandfullofhope * ‘Get Off the Scale’ Manifesto can be found in my new book: ONLY LOVE TODAY: Reminders to Breathe More, Stress Less, & Choose Love. I’d be grateful for your support ==> http://amzn.to/2auBHHj

Posted by The Hands Free Revolution on Wednesday, January 18, 2017

Its release today undoubtedly helped her book, ONLY LOVE TODAY, become a #1 title on Amazon.

And new opportunities are still unfolding. For one, the author was invited by Barnes & Noble to pre-autograph 1,500 copies of the book for exclusive sale … available soon.

Congratulations, Rachel, and team. We’re excited that your hard work is getting the attention it deserves, and we’re very much looking forward to celebrating the big day with you on March 7th.

Posted by Sandra Bishop.

 

 

Deal News: The Honey Farm by Harriet Alida Lye

Canada English rights to Harriet Alida Lye‘s unnerving novel, THE HONEY FARM, for fans of Darren Aronofsky’s Black Swan and readers of Kazuo Ishiguro’s haunting novel Never Let Me Go, THE HONEY FARM is a psychological thriller about art, bees and love – when beekeeper Cynthia offers young artists free room and board in exchange for help on the farm, strange things start happening, resembling the plagues from the Book of Exodus, triggering a Catholic would-be-poet into an increasingly terrorized state where she can no longer tell if Cynthia is her protector or her destroyer – to Whitney Moran at Vagrant Press for Spring 2018 by Stephanie Sinclair.