News & Events

The News & Events section of the Transatlantic Agency web site highlights current announcements, news releases and event details from and about the agency and its clients.

To sign up to receive Transatlantic Agency announcements by e-mail, click here.

You can also keep up with Transatlantic Agency news and announcements via Facebook and Twitter.

Here are some the latest news updates from Transatlantic Agency.

Recent News

DEAL NEWS: THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH YOU BY LAUREN CARTER

Lauren CarterCanadian English rights to Lauren Carter‘s THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH YOU, about a young woman grappling with the reality that her mother murdered her father and her father’s girlfriend, sold to Kelsey Attard at Freehand Books for publication in Fall 2019 in a deal by Samantha Haywood.

For fans of Miriam Toews and Karen Joy Fowler, THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH YOU is a complex character-driven novel that explores how we are tied to each other, how you can’t outrun grief, and how sometimes, it’s your turn to take care of your family.

Lauren Carter is the author of the novel Swarm, named by CBC as one of forty books that could change Canada, as well as Lichen Bright, a poetry collection which was described as “a stunning debut” by Canadian Book Review Annual. A transplanted Ontarian, she lives near Winnipeg, Manitoba. Visit her online at www.laurencarter.ca.

Welcoming Sally Cooper to Transatlantic Agency!

We’re delighted to welcome author Sally Cooper to Transatlantic Agency!

Sally is the author of two acclaimed novels: Love Object (Dundurn, 2002) and Tell Everything (Dundurn, 2008) and the linked story collection Smells Like Heaven (ARP, 2017). Her writing has appeared in CNQ: Canadian Notes & QueriesElectric Literature; Event; The Feathertale Review; The Globe and Mail; Grain; The Millions and TNQ: The New Quarterly. In 2017, her writing was longlisted for the Edna Staebler Personal Essay Contest, the Short Works Prize and the Vancouver Women in Film and Television From Our Dark Side Contest. Sally is a Senior Editor of Hamilton Review of Books. Her third novel, With My Back to the World, is forthcoming in 2019 with Wolsak & Wynn.

Visit Sally at her website: www.sallycooper.ca.

Sally is represented by Samantha Haywood.

Welcoming Carey Sookocheff to Transatlantic Agency!

Welcome Carey Sookocheff, a new client for Fiona Kenshole. Carey Sookocheff is the illustrator of the critically acclaimed BUDDY AND EARL series by Maureen Fergus, now publishing its 5th title with Groundwood Books. She is also the author/illustrator of WET (Macmillan Children’s), which was included in the Society Of Illustrators Original Art Exhibition in 2017, and SOLUTIONS FOR COLD FEET AND OTHER LITTLE PROBLEMS (Tundra Books), which is currently a selection for the Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library. Her most recent picture book is SPROUT SEED, SPROUT! which will publish in 2019 with Owlkids

A graduate of the Ontario College of Art and Design, she has worked for The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and Real Simple. Her editorial work has received recognition from Society Of Illustrators, American Illustration, Communication Arts and National Magazine Awards.

Since pursuing children’s book illustration in 2014, she has worked on nine picture books. She is also a recent recipient of an Ontario Arts Recommender Grant for Writers. So pleased to be working with you, Carey!

More great foreign rights deal news for THE COACHING HABIT by Michael Bungay Stanier!

Greek rights to THE COACHING HABIT by Michael Bungay Stanier to Papasotiriou Publishing by JLM Literary Agency in association with Stephanie Sinclair on behalf of Page Two Strategies.

Portuguese rights to THE COACHING HABIT by Michael Bungay Stanier to ASA Leya’s commercial nonfiction imprint Lua de Papel by Julia Garrigos in association with Stephanie Sinclair on behalf of Page Two Strategies.

Mongolia rights to THE COACHING HABIT by Michael Bungay Stanier to Gerelmaa Partners LLC by Stephanie Sinclair on behalf of Page Two Strategies.

Brazilian rights to THE COACHING HABIT by Michael Bungay Stanier to Sextante by Julia Garrigos in association with Stephanie Sinclair on behalf of Page Two Strategies.