Praise for HOME ICE by Angie Abdou

The praise is piling as high as autumn leaves for Angie Abdou’s HOME ICE (ECW Press).

HOME ICE chronicles and illuminates a full season in the life of a hockey parent, offering a nuanced and unflinching self-portrait of a mother dedicated to supporting her son’s passion for amateur hockey but struggling with ambivalence over our society’s often troubling sport culture and its impact on her family.

Here’s what everyone is saying about HOME ICE:

“The author brings a novelist’s eye to the story, telling it in first-person present tense; with its sharp characterizations and dialogue in place of autobiographical exposition, the book is a first-rate memoir and a fine example of narrative nonfiction. It’s also a must-read for parents with youngsters who play organized sports.” –Booklist, starred review

“This is a lively, honestly written account of parenting that will resonate with readers who are fully involved in their children’s sports.” –Publishers Weekly

“Home Ice is page-turning and compelling in a whole different way. It’s about Abdou, her family, her relationships with her husband and two children, and her role as a parent; or, as Abdou said, consider it a ‘voyeuristic peek into the writer’s life.’” –Society for International Hockey Research

“You don’t get to pick your kids’ marriages or their sports, and he wants to play hockey.” – CBC Radio Sunday Edition

“It’s a unflinching and revealing account of the toll sports (especially hockey) can take on family dynamics and fortunes.” – CBC Radio Daybreak Alberta (19 min audio clip)

CTV’s The Social (11 min video clip)

“As much as Home Ice skewers Canadian hockey for its escalating costs and obsession with competitiveness, that criticism is balanced by an athlete’s appreciation for the heady benefits of training hard and excelling in a sport.” –Active For Life

“[T]his is a memoir told with humility, and throughout the book, Abdou lets her happy and sensitive son shine through. We see his sense of fairness and justice, his quirky stick-handling, his love for the rowdy speed and sweaty camaraderie of the sport.” –

University of Texas Arlington Sports Literature Association

“…she leaves the reader with as much knowledge and information on both sides of the coin to allow the reader to make a decision on the game’s safety rather than her imposing her decision onto the reader. One gets a sense that Miss Abdou did this with intent, and I feel it really opens the door to thoughtful and intelligent debate…” –Hockey Blog In Canada

About the Author:

Angie Abdou has published four books, including three novels: The Bone Cage (a CBC Canada Reads finalist in 2011), The Canterbury Trail (a Banff Mountain Book finalist in 2011) and Between (2014, Arsenal Press). Angie is an Assistant Professor of Creative Writing at Athabasca University. Her nonfiction has appeared in various magazines and newspapers, including National Post and Elle Magazine. Her novel IN CASE I GO launched with Arsenal Pulp Press Fall 2017.

DEAL NEWS: THE DYNAMITE KID BY TYLER ENFIELD

Bethany Gibson, fiction editor at Goose Lane Editions, has acquired English Canada and World French rights for Tyler Enfield’s dazzling sophomore novel, The Dynamite Kid.

Enfield is an Edmonton-based writer and photographer. He is the author of Madder Carmine (Great Plains Publications, 2015), which won the 2016 High Plains Book Award, and was a finalist for the Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Prize.

The Dynamite Kid is an offbeat, slightly magical and entirely original retelling of Aladdin as an American western – a rich combination of classic love story, a quest novel, and a tribute to boyhood enthusiasm.  While not as esoteric as Gary Barwin’s Yiddish for Pirates, it portrays an equally unique and magical landscape.

Tyler Enfield is represented by Shaun Bradley.

Welcoming Moira Welsh to Transatlantic!

We’re delighted to welcome Moira Welsh to Transatlantic Agency!

Moira has been a journalist with The Toronto Star for 25 years. During that time she has covered news, the environment and social justice and, as an investigative reporter, has long had an interest in issues related to people living in long term care and retirement homes. Moira has co-authored investigations that have won three National Newspaper Awards and a Michener Award for Public Service Journalism. She lives in Toronto with her family.

Moira is represented by Samantha Haywood.

Photo Credit: Toronto Star

DEAL NEWS x 2: Shani Mootoo’s CEREUS BLOOMS AT NIGHT and POLAR VORTEX

Double the deal news for author Shani Mootoo!

Film/TV rights to Shani Mootoo’s haunting debut CEREUS BLOOMS AT NIGHT, now a contemporary classic and past finalist for the Giller Prize, the Chapters/Books in Canada First Novel Award, and the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize, an exquisite cross-generational history filled with thrilling passion and alluring mystery, set in the fictional Caribbean town of Paradise, and unveils the mystery surrounding Mala Ramchandin, an aging, notoriously supposedly crazy woman suspected of murdering her father, optioned by Aaron Barnett at Bitter Boy Productions in a deal by Samantha Haywood.

Canadian English rights to one of Canada’s most widely acclaimed literary fiction authors, Shani Mootoo’s POLAR VORTEX, a seductive and tension-filled new novel about a lesbian couple receiving an unexpected visit from an old male friend that throws questions of true intentions into the mix of their previously monogamous commitment, told with a Mrs. Dalloway stream-of-consciousness narration, for readers of Herman Koch and Rachel Cusk, sold to Jay and Hazel Millar at Book*hug Press for publication in early 2020 in a deal by Samantha Haywood.

Welcoming Sam Shelstad to Transatlantic!

An excited Transatlantic welcome to author Sam Shelstad!
 
Sam was longlisted for the 2014 CBC Short Story Prize and was a runner up for the 2014 Thomas Morton Memorial Prize. He regularly contributes to McSweeney’s Internet Tendency, and has been published in many literary magazines, including The New Quarterly, The Fiddlehead, and Joyland. His debut story collection, COP HOUSE (Nightwood Editions, 2017), was compared to the work of George Saunders in Quill and Quire, where they remarked, “it is precisely this blend of humour and pathos that give Shelstad’s stories their disarming power.” Sam lives in Toronto, Ontario.
 
Sam is represented by Samantha Haywood.

DEAL NEWS: ADVENTURES IN SOLITUDE II by Grant Lawrence

World rights to Grant Lawrence‘s ADVENTURES IN SOLITUDE II, a follow up to the perennial bestseller ADVENTURES IN SOLITUDE, interweaving the fascinating history of the Desolation Sound, B.C. area with his own experiences and further exciting anecdotes featuring the colourful characters of the area, including the inimitable Cougar Lady, the phantom-like Spaghetti Bandit, and the doomed Mack the Knife. As well, Lawrence explores the generational shift of becoming a father and dragging his own young family to the cabin, sold to Anna Comfort O’Keeffe at Harbour Publishing in a deal by Samantha Haywood.

DEAL NEWS: Jordan Abel’s NISHGA

McClelland & Stewart publisher Jared Bland has acquired Canadian English rights to Griffin-Poetry-Prize-winner Jordan Abel‘s non-fiction debut, NISHGA, for publication in Spring 2020.

NISHGA is a deeply personal and autobiographical book that attempts to address the complications of contemporary Indigenous existence. Drawing on autobiography, a series of interconnected documents (including pieces of memoir, transcriptions of talks, and photography), the book explores the ways in which the colonial violence originating at the Coqualeetza Indian Residential School impacted Abel’s grandparent’s generation, then his father’s generation, and ultimately his own generation.

The deal was arranged by Stephanie Sinclair on exclusive submission.

Welcoming author Susan Olding

We’re welcoming author Susan Olding to Transatlantic Agency!

Susan is the author of Pathologies: A Life in Essays, selected by 49th Shelf as one of the top 100 Canadian books to read in a lifetime. Her work has been honoured multiple times by the National Magazine Awards Foundation and has appeared in The Bellingham Review, The L.A. Review of Books, Maisonneuve, The Malahat Review, The New Quarterly, and the Utne Reader, and in many anthologies including Best Canadian Essays, 2016 and In Fine Form, 2nd Edition. A graduate of the MFA program at the University of British Columbia, she lives with her family in Kingston, Ontario, where she holds a Joseph-Armand Bombardier CGS Doctoral Scholarship in Cultural Studies.

To learn more, visit her website: www.susanolding.com.

Susan is represented by Samantha Haywood.

Paul Harbridge’s WHEN THE MOON COMES wins 2018 Martha Baillie Picture Book Award

Major congrats to Paul Harbridge whose picture book WHEN THE MOON COMES (Tundra Books), illustrated by Matt James, has won the 2018 Martha Baillie Picture Book Award!

FROM THE JURY: “This nostalgia filled adventure with friends will resonate with those who love the moon, nature and hockey… The friends’ anticipation and excitement for their nighttime excursion is palpable… James’ strong illustrations emphasize the beauty of winter, the wonder of a dark night, the power of the moon and the fun of an escapade with friends.”

The Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award honours excellence in the illustrated picture book format and is given to outstanding books of the picture book genre in which the author and illustrator achieve artistic and literary unity.

For more information about this award, please visit: Bookcentre.ca/awards/marilyn-baillie-picture-book-award