Carol Off’s ALL WE LEAVE BEHIND Nominated for the Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing

Congratulations to Carol Off, who has been shortlisted for the Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing for ALL WE LEAVE BEHIND (Random House Canada)! This prize, which awards $25,000 to the winner, is given out annually to an exceptional literary nonfiction work on a political subject.

The winner will be announced on May 9th at Politics and the Pen in Ottawa.

For more information, please visit the following link: https://writerstrust.com/Awards/Shaughnessy-Cohen-Prize-for-Political-Writing.aspx

THE HONEY FARM by Harriet Alida Lye is a Barnes & Noble Discover Pick!

Can you hear the buzzing getting louder? We are thrilled to share THE HONEY FARM by Harriet Alida Lye​ is a Barnes & Noble​ Discover Pick! Barnesandnoble.com/2018-bn-discover-great-new-writers-selections

Only a few, short weeks away from publication, we’re also excited by the well-deserved praise this debut is receiving. Stop at your local bookstore on April 15th to get your hands on a copy and join the author on April 24th for her launch at the Gladstone Hotel​. Congrats, Harriet!

Pre-publication accolades:

A Quill & Quire Editor’s Pick

Selected as an April Top Ten for Loan Stars! “A creepy (in the best way) dark tale set on a remote Ontario honey farm. For fans of The Poisonwood Bible or the novels of Jane Smiley or Louise Erdrich.”

“Lye evokes gothic tropes and an aura of foreboding that recall Shirley Jackson and Daphne du Maurier by way of the tortured Catholicism of Flannery O’Connor.”
-Quill and Quire

“An aura of mystery, faintly tinged with menace, permeates Canadian author Lye’s sensuous debut novel …Lye offers an achingly lyrical excursion into a lost Eden”
-Publishers Weekly

“Each lyrical line feels like a gift left at the reader’s altar. A honey-mouthed debut ruminating on creation, possession, and faith.”
-Kirkus Reviews

The Honey Farm is a delightful and mistily enigmatic story…I am putting The Honey Farm on the 2018 longlist for a ‘Very Best!’ Book Award for fiction.”
-The Miramichi Reader

Plus an interview with the author via The Varsity: Thevarsity.ca/writer-harriet-alida-lye-on-creativity-and-the-writing-process/

Three Transatlantic authors nominated for 2018 Atlantic Book Awards!

Transatlantic heartily congratulates all of our authors who have been shortlisted for the 2018 Atlantic Book Awards! It’s always a joy to see any book be nominated for an award, in this case we get double the joy to see each of these books nominated for two awards!!

PENINSULA SINKING by David Huebert: shortlisted for the Alistair MacLeod Prize for Short Fiction and the Jim Connors Dartmouth Book Award (Fiction)

RUN, HIDE, REPEAT by Pauline Dakin: shortlisted for Evelyn Richardson Non-Fiction Award and the Margaret and John Savage First Book Award – Non-Fiction

ALL IS BEAUTY NOW by Sarah Faber: shortlisted for the Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award and the Margaret and John Savage First Book Award – Fiction

The Atlantic Book Awards are twelve annual awards that strive to promote and acknowledge excellence in Atlantic Canadian writing and book publishing.

We’re wishing all three authors the best of luck! For the full list of nominees, please visit: Atlanticbookawards.ca/2018-atlantic-book-awards-shortlist/

DEAL NEWS: GENDER by Dr. LEE AIRTON

World rights to Dr. Lee Airton‘s GENDER: Your Guide – A Gender-Friendly Primer on What to Say, What to Know, and What to Do in the New Gender Culture, an accessible and prescriptive guide on topics such as how to use gender-neutral pronouns, how to know which pronouns to use, and other ‘gender-friendly’ daily practices, acquired by Cate Prato of Adams Media, Simon & Schuster Inc. The deal was arranged by Samantha Haywood.

Sofie & Cecilia Publishes Today!

Happy Book Birthday to Katherine Ashenburg, whose book SOFIE & CECILIA is publishing today with Knopf Canada!

From the Publisher: “A surprising, rich and beautiful first novel about women’s friendship for readers of Paula McLain and Elena Ferrante, by a bestselling non-fiction author who has brilliantly turned her hand to fiction.

In Sofie & Cecilia, beloved non-fiction author and journalist Katherine Ashenburg draws upon her formidable skill and maturity as a writer to craft an extraordinary and splendid debut novel. This is the story of a lifelong female friendship, set in the fascinating art world of Sweden between 1900 and 1940, just as modern art and the beginnings of the Scandinavian mid-century modern design movement were inspiring a creative revolution across northern Europe. Loosely based on the lives of celebrated artists Carl Larsson and Anders Zorn (“Nils Olsson” and “Lars Vogt” in the novel), Ashenburg transports us behind both the public and domestic scenes–and canvasses–of these larger-than-life men to reveal the lesser-known but equally astounding and rich stories of the women who married them: restlessly creative artist-in-her-own-right Sofie Olsson, and fiercely private and intelligent curator Cecilia Vogt.

Here is a gorgeous gem of a book: surprising, unique, layered with insight into the nuances of female friendship as it stretches, changes, and deepens in unexpected ways over a lifetime. Woven effortlessly through this tapestry, like a beautiful motif, is absorbing detail about Scandinavian painting, design, and textile work; European history and sexual politics; the country life, city salons, vibrant art, and folklore of Sweden; and the secrets and challenges of bright, talented women juggling marriage, career, individual aspirations, and family life inside an artist’s household in the early twentieth century.”

Advance Praise:

“Closely and beautifully observed. . . . As readers, we experience both the affirmation of women’s friendships, and the challenge of devoting oneself to a life of artistic creation.” —Jane Urquhart

“Sofie & Cecilia paints a marvelously detailed, slyly witty portrait of two women of talent married to successful painters in early twentieth-century Sweden—when girls might dabble in drawing lessons, but must put aside any artistic ambitions after marriage. Their growing independence is fueled by their friendship, sustained over the length of their lives. Fans of Elena Ferrante (not to mention Jane Austen and Virginia Woolf, whose books are a bonding point) will revel in this wise and intensely moving story of two women navigating a world that expected women to weave, knit and embroider in the shadow of the real artists, their husbands. Nevertheless, they persisted.” —Marni Jackson

“Katherine Ashenburg slips her needle delicately beneath the skin to reveal the anatomy of an artist. This is the best kind of writing about art that is an art itself. So many pleasures here for the reader: delights of dress and décor and food and furnishings, all of the made things that make life better. Through the graceful procession of the years, strong strands of friendship tie these women together: their love of art, and books, and intelligent observation of the tangled knot of marriage.” —Marina Endicott, Giller shortlisted author of Good to a Fault

“Against the luscious backdrop of the early twentieth-century Swedish art world, Sofie & Cecilia offers a fascinating, intimate look at the many variations of female love: maternal love, marital love, love of industry and craft, love of beauty. Most of all it is a celebration of the love that can exist between women friends. An intelligent, tender, highly pleasurable novel.” —Barbara Gowdy, author of Little Sister and The Romantic

Visit the following link for more information: https://penguinrandomhouse.ca/books/550386/sofie-cecilia#9780735272682

Good luck to Sharon Bala’s THE BOAT PEOPLE

The time has finally arrived – the CBC Books #CanadaReads2018 debates start today!! The best of luck to Sharon Bala and her debut novel THE BOAT PEOPLE (McClelland & Stewart Canada), which is championed by Mozhdah Jamalzadah. 
Canada Reads is an annual contest in which five Canadian celebrity panellists champion a chosen work of Canadian fiction based on the novel’s literary qualities. Books are voted off by the panellists until one book is chosen as the title the entire country should read.
THE BOAT PEOPLE follows a group of refugees who survive a perilous ocean voyage only to face the threat of deportation amid accusations of terrorism.
Watch the Canada Reads Book Trailer for THE BOAT PEOPLE here: CBC.ca/player/play/1190463555702/
WHERE TO TUNE INTO THE DEBATES:
ONLINE: Livestreamed at 11 a.m. ET on CBCbooks.ca, YouTube and Facebook.
ON THE RADIO: CBC Radio at 11:05 a.m. ET, CT, MT, PT; at 1:05 p.m. in Atlantic Canada; and at 1:35 p.m. in Newfoundland and Labrador.
ON TV: CBC TV will broadcast Canada Reads at 4 p.m. local time.
PODCAST: New episodes of Canada Reads will be posted daily on CBC and on iTunes.

Deal News- NDN Coping Mechanisms: Notes from the Field

World rights to the highly anticipated new work from Billy-Ray BelcourtNDN COPING MECHANISMS: NOTES FROM THE FIELD, using poetry, prose, and digital art to document the polyphonic emotions that flower in Indigenous social words, to House of Anansi Press, for Fall 2019, by Stephanie Sinclair.

Great Book Design Recognized at the Alcuin Society Awards!

At The Alcuin Society Awards for Excellence in Book Design in Canada, the covers for THE AGONY OF BUN O’KEEFE (Penguin Teen Canada) by Heather Smith, LOST IN SEPTEMBER (Knopf Canada) by Kathleen Winter, and THE ONLY CAFE (Random House Canada) by Linden MacIntyre were recognized as the very best in book design in the prose fiction category! The Alcuin Society Awards is the only national competition for book design in the country, and was judged by Sue Colberg, Shelley Gruendler, and Frank Viva, who had the challenge of choosing the winning titles from 235 submissions, from 10 provinces and 107 publishers. Huge congratulations to Jennifer Griffiths who took home two first prize awards for her work on Heather’s and Kathleen’s novels, and to Terri Nimmo, who won second prize as a designer for Linden’s book!

2017 Winners

Welcoming Jocelyn Parr to Transatlantic!

We are excited to welcome writer Jocelyn Parr to Transatlantic Agency, as a new client of Stephanie Sinclair’s!

Jocelyn Parr was born in New Zealand, but grew up on the West Coast. She holds a PhD in English Literature, which she completed as a cotutelle with the Erasmus Mundus Doctoral programme, graduating from the universities of Tübingen and Perpignan. Her writing has appeared in publications in France and Germany, as well in Canadian literary magazines such as Brick and Grain. Her debut novel, Uncertain Weights and Measures, was shortlisted for the Governor General’s award for English-language fiction.