DEAL NEWS: THE DYNAMITE KID BY TYLER ENFIELD

Bethany Gibson, fiction editor at Goose Lane Editions, has acquired English Canada and World French rights for Tyler Enfield’s dazzling sophomore novel, The Dynamite Kid.

Enfield is an Edmonton-based writer and photographer. He is the author of Madder Carmine (Great Plains Publications, 2015), which won the 2016 High Plains Book Award, and was a finalist for the Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Prize.

The Dynamite Kid is an offbeat, slightly magical and entirely original retelling of Aladdin as an American western – a rich combination of classic love story, a quest novel, and a tribute to boyhood enthusiasm.  While not as esoteric as Gary Barwin’s Yiddish for Pirates, it portrays an equally unique and magical landscape.

Tyler Enfield is represented by Shaun Bradley.

Welcoming Moira Welsh to Transatlantic!

We’re delighted to welcome Moira Welsh to Transatlantic Agency!

Moira has been a journalist with The Toronto Star for 25 years. During that time she has covered news, the environment and social justice and, as an investigative reporter, has long had an interest in issues related to people living in long term care and retirement homes. Moira has co-authored investigations that have won three National Newspaper Awards and a Michener Award for Public Service Journalism. She lives in Toronto with her family.

Moira is represented by Samantha Haywood.

Photo Credit: Toronto Star

DEAL NEWS x 2: Shani Mootoo’s CEREUS BLOOMS AT NIGHT and POLAR VORTEX

Double the deal news for author Shani Mootoo!

Film/TV rights to Shani Mootoo’s haunting debut CEREUS BLOOMS AT NIGHT, now a contemporary classic and past finalist for the Giller Prize, the Chapters/Books in Canada First Novel Award, and the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize, an exquisite cross-generational history filled with thrilling passion and alluring mystery, set in the fictional Caribbean town of Paradise, and unveils the mystery surrounding Mala Ramchandin, an aging, notoriously supposedly crazy woman suspected of murdering her father, optioned by Aaron Barnett at Bitter Boy Productions in a deal by Samantha Haywood.

Canadian English rights to one of Canada’s most widely acclaimed literary fiction authors, Shani Mootoo’s POLAR VORTEX, a seductive and tension-filled new novel about a lesbian couple receiving an unexpected visit from an old male friend that throws questions of true intentions into the mix of their previously monogamous commitment, told with a Mrs. Dalloway stream-of-consciousness narration, for readers of Herman Koch and Rachel Cusk, sold to Jay and Hazel Millar at Book*hug Press for publication in early 2020 in a deal by Samantha Haywood.

Welcoming Sam Shelstad to Transatlantic!

An excited Transatlantic welcome to author Sam Shelstad!
 
Sam was longlisted for the 2014 CBC Short Story Prize and was a runner up for the 2014 Thomas Morton Memorial Prize. He regularly contributes to McSweeney’s Internet Tendency, and has been published in many literary magazines, including The New Quarterly, The Fiddlehead, and Joyland. His debut story collection, COP HOUSE (Nightwood Editions, 2017), was compared to the work of George Saunders in Quill and Quire, where they remarked, “it is precisely this blend of humour and pathos that give Shelstad’s stories their disarming power.” Sam lives in Toronto, Ontario.
 
Sam is represented by Samantha Haywood.

DEAL NEWS: ADVENTURES IN SOLITUDE II by Grant Lawrence

World rights to Grant Lawrence‘s ADVENTURES IN SOLITUDE II, a follow up to the perennial bestseller ADVENTURES IN SOLITUDE, interweaving the fascinating history of the Desolation Sound, B.C. area with his own experiences and further exciting anecdotes featuring the colourful characters of the area, including the inimitable Cougar Lady, the phantom-like Spaghetti Bandit, and the doomed Mack the Knife. As well, Lawrence explores the generational shift of becoming a father and dragging his own young family to the cabin, sold to Anna Comfort O’Keeffe at Harbour Publishing in a deal by Samantha Haywood.

DEAL NEWS: Jordan Abel’s NISHGA

McClelland & Stewart publisher Jared Bland has acquired Canadian English rights to Griffin-Poetry-Prize-winner Jordan Abel‘s non-fiction debut, NISHGA, for publication in Spring 2020.

NISHGA is a deeply personal and autobiographical book that attempts to address the complications of contemporary Indigenous existence. Drawing on autobiography, a series of interconnected documents (including pieces of memoir, transcriptions of talks, and photography), the book explores the ways in which the colonial violence originating at the Coqualeetza Indian Residential School impacted Abel’s grandparent’s generation, then his father’s generation, and ultimately his own generation.

The deal was arranged by Stephanie Sinclair on exclusive submission.

Welcoming author Susan Olding

We’re welcoming author Susan Olding to Transatlantic Agency!

Susan is the author of Pathologies: A Life in Essays, selected by 49th Shelf as one of the top 100 Canadian books to read in a lifetime. Her work has been honoured multiple times by the National Magazine Awards Foundation and has appeared in The Bellingham Review, The L.A. Review of Books, Maisonneuve, The Malahat Review, The New Quarterly, and the Utne Reader, and in many anthologies including Best Canadian Essays, 2016 and In Fine Form, 2nd Edition. A graduate of the MFA program at the University of British Columbia, she lives with her family in Kingston, Ontario, where she holds a Joseph-Armand Bombardier CGS Doctoral Scholarship in Cultural Studies.

To learn more, visit her website: www.susanolding.com.

Susan is represented by Samantha Haywood.

Paul Harbridge’s WHEN THE MOON COMES wins 2018 Martha Baillie Picture Book Award

Major congrats to Paul Harbridge whose picture book WHEN THE MOON COMES (Tundra Books), illustrated by Matt James, has won the 2018 Martha Baillie Picture Book Award!

FROM THE JURY: “This nostalgia filled adventure with friends will resonate with those who love the moon, nature and hockey… The friends’ anticipation and excitement for their nighttime excursion is palpable… James’ strong illustrations emphasize the beauty of winter, the wonder of a dark night, the power of the moon and the fun of an escapade with friends.”

The Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award honours excellence in the illustrated picture book format and is given to outstanding books of the picture book genre in which the author and illustrator achieve artistic and literary unity.

For more information about this award, please visit: Bookcentre.ca/awards/marilyn-baillie-picture-book-award

Happy Book Birthday to Lisa Bolton’s ON BOARDS!

Happy book birthday to Lisa Bolton‘s ON BOARDS: Simple & Inspiring Recipe Ideas to Share at Every Gathering, publishing today with Penguin Random House Canada! With entertaining season upon us this is the perfect book to help make your gatherings unforgettable.

From the publisher: “In On Boards, food stylist Lisa Bolton has put together 50 ideas for instantly approachable boards, all with effortless entertaining in mind, as well as 52 recipes for delectable savory and sweet additions like Beet Hummus, Bourbon Bacon Jam, Mashed Potato Dip and Chocolate Salami. All of the boards can be pulled together in very little time, and all include presentation and styling tips to make them (and you!) shine.”

Lisa Bolton is a freelance food writer, stylist and photographer. She is the creative mind behind the successful blog Food Well Said, a space dedicated to thoughtfully presented and wholesomely prepared meals and recipes. Lisa’s work has appeared in the Huffington Post, Redbook, Canadian Living and she was a former contributor to the Queen Latifah Show and she continues to write monthly columns on the topics of 20 minute meals and food styling.

Order your copy of ON BOARDS at Penguinrandomhouse.ca/on-boards.