DEAL NEWS – LOST FEAST by LENORE NEWMAN

World rights to LOST FEAST: A Requiem for Extinct Foods by Canada Research Chair in Food Security and Environment Lenore Newman, examining a series of extinct foods now lost to our insatiable human appetite, and shedding light on which beloved foods we will struggle to protect in the future, to Susan Renouf at ECW Press by Trena White.

DEAL NEWS – THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING BY MARISSA STAPLEY

For readers of The Nest and The Notebook comes THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING, by bestselling author Marissa Stapley – a poignant generational story about Mae Summers and Gabe Broadbent, childhood best friends and sweethearts who are reunited as adults at the idyllic Summers’ Inn and dealing with aging parents, heartbreak and secrets that will either bring them together or forever leave them as two islands. World English rights ex: Canada to Brittany Lavery at Graydon House by Samantha Haywood, previously to Nita Pronovost at Simon & Schuster Canada (Spring 2018).

DEAL NEWS – I REMEMBER YOU BY ELISABETH DE MARIAFFI

Canada English rights to Giller Prize-longlisted author Elisabeth de Mariaffi’s haunting new novel I REMEMBER YOU, for readers of Sarah Waters, a story whose post-war setting in seemingly idyllic 1950s upstate New York strangely parallels a young German woman’s relationship with her controlling husband, an American psychiatrist, until the couple’s small son goes missing, leaving the mother torn between the possibility that her husband is involved in the boy’s disappearance and the dark suggestion that something otherworldly has taken him, to Iris Tupholme of HarperCollins Canada​ by Samantha Haywood.

DEAL NEWS – FRONTIER CITY BY SHAWN MICALLEF

msfrontiercityFRONTIER CITY is a book about a city with Los Angeles sized proportions, with both the prosperity and poverty associated with such vastness and an infrastructure that struggles to support its growing population; a city that’s in the throes of an identity crisis – but on the launching pad to being a great world city. Author Shawn Micallef walks and talks through the city, finding the beauty that’s often overlooked and a force for change that’s been building for decades as people move there from every corner of the globe. FRONTIER CITY is a revelatory view of the Toronto of today and an inspiring vision of the Toronto of the near future. To Tim Rostron at Signal/McClelland & Stewart, Penguin Random House Canada by Samantha Haywood (Canada English).

DEAL NEWS – MEMOIR FROM GOLD MEDALIST PARALYMPIAN JESSICA LONG

Longbw72The Paralympic Games have just started in Rio and we’re thrilled to cheer on swimmer Jessica Long, Sandra Bishop‘s client! In collaboration with her sister, Hannah Long, Jessica is working on a currently untitled scrapbook-style memoir. Designed to inspire young women in search of a positive role model, her book will include personal anecdotes, photos, letters, and more that recount Jessica’s childhood, her return to Siberia to meet her birth family (a story familiar to many as it was featured during NBC’s airing of the 2014 Olympic games) and her rise to the top of the Paralympic swimming world. The book is set for a spring ’18 release. Acquired by Elizabeth Bennett at HMH Books for Young Readers.

Jessica has already won one silver medal in Rio for the women’s S8 400m freestyle, bringing her medal count to 18 for Team USA. She has eight more races to go–join us in wishing Jessica the best of luck!