Deal News: BIX by Scott Chantler

World French rights to award-winning graphic novelist Scott Chantler‘s forthcoming new original graphic novel, BIX, a mostly wordless black and white graphic biography highlighting the career of Leon Bix Beiderbecke, an early jazz cornet player, who rose rapidly to fame in the 1920s before falling just as quickly from grace due to a wretched dependence on alcohol, to Frederic Gauthier of La Pasteque, NA previously to Ed Schlesinger of Gallery 13, Simon & Schuster by Samantha Haywood. For UK and translation and tv/film rights contact: samantha@transatlanticagency.com

Deal News: THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING BY MARISSA STAPLEY

Italian rights to THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING by bestselling author Marissa Stapley sold on a pre-empt to Sperling & Kupfer Editori by Erica Berla of Berla & Griffini on behalf of Samantha Haywood. Rights previously to Nita Pronovost at Simon & Schuster Canada, Brittany Lavery at Graydon House for US, both editions publishing simultaneously in Spring 2018. And Rowohlt Verlag acquired at auction and published first in Germany in Nov 2017. For readers of Jojo Moyes and Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney, comes a poignant generational story about Mae Summers and Gabe Broadbent, childhood best friends and sweethearts who are reunited as adults at the idyllic Summers’ Inn and dealing with aging parents, heartbreak and secrets that will either bring them together or forever leave them as two islands. For UK, translation and tv/film contact: samantha@transatlanticagency.com

Deal News: Harold Johnson’s new memoir/fiction/thought experiment/fantasy

A memoir/fiction/thought experiment/fantasy by Harold Johnson, author of the bestselling nonfiction work and GG finalist FIREWATER, about his brother Clifford, a scientist in the making whose life was cut too short — To Sarah MacLachlan and Janie Yoon at House of Anansi Press for Fall 2018 (World).

Deal arranged by Stephanie Sinclair.

DEAL NEWS: THE HONEY FARM by HARRIET ALIDA LYE

ANZ rights to Harriet Alida Lye‘s THE HONEY FARM, in which two budding artists move to a remote farm and begin a romance, as creepy, inexplicable events, possibly orchestrated by the enigmatic woman in charge, start to unfold around them, to Kimberley Atkins at Penguin Random House Australia (Previous rights sold to Liveright US, in a pre-empt and in Canada to Nimbus Press, Summer 2018) by Stephanie Sinclair.

Kimberley says, “I personally can’t remember a time that I found a novel so atmospheric and foreboding – it’s a really clever thriller that seduces you from the start, then builds to that thunderous conclusion.”

Advance Praise:

“Beguiled by the promise of a writers’ retreat, Silvia leaves her staunchly Catholic family home for the uncertain territory of a honey farm in Northern Ontario. The Honey Farm offers readers an accomplished meditation on love, creativity and the wonder of the natural world, and a gripping exploration of a community that is perhaps not as it seems.”
—Cathy Marie Buchanan, New York Times bestselling author of The Painted Girls

“I loved this book. The way Harriet Alida Lye captures and registers moments of encounter with gentleness and specificity, like bees bumping against flowers—there’s magic afoot here.” —Lauren Elkin, author of Flaneuse: Women Walk the City in Paris, New York, Tokyo, Venice, and London (A New York Times Book Review Editor’s Choice)

“Mysterious, suspenseful, and unnerving, The Honey Farm offers a thrilling narrative that examines the distorted realities and conflicting perceptions that often exist in the quietest places.”
–Iain Reid, bestselling author of I’m Thinking of Ending Things, an NPR Best Book of the Year, 2016

“In THE HONEY FARM, Harriet Alida Lye has created a modern-day Eden, shot through with innocence and foreboding. The landscape of this gripping debut is alive with tension and temptation, and I found myself seduced alongside Lye’s unforgettable characters. Laying bare faith, identity, and love, this book presents a world where nothing is quite as it seems.” —Adrienne Celt, author of The Daughters

“The Honey Farm delves into the intimate mysteries of art, madness, religion, and love through a story built with beautiful language and lush sensory detail. Gothic and subtly menacing, it’s a book as rich as the sweet substance at its core.”
—Grace O’Connell, author of Be Ready for the Lightning

“The secret world of bees and the sensuous natural order in all its peril and glory come alive in this mesmerizing, suspenseful novel. Harriet Alida Lye is a writer of prodigious talent and The Honey Farm a thrilling, chills-inducing debut. Brava!”
—Carol Bruneau, award-winning author of Glass Voices and These Good Hands

Deal News: IF CLARA by Martha Baillie

World French rights to Martha Baillie‘s exquisite new novel, IF CLARA – looking at family, friendship, memory –when a mysterious manuscript falls into a bed-ridden writer’s lap in this novel of broken bones, Syrian folktales, and plummets of all varieties. To Hermine Naudin of Actes Sud, by Anna Jarota Agency on behalf of Samantha Haywood. Published in North America by Alana Wilcox of Coach House Books in September 2017. For film/tv rights contact: samantha@transatlanticagency.com

 

DEAL NEWS: BIX BY SCOTT CHANTLER

Award-winning graphic novelist Scott Chantler‘s BIX, an experimental and mostly wordless black and white graphic biography highlighting the career of Leon Bix Beiderbecke, an early jazz cornet player, who rose rapidly to fame in the 1920s before falling just as quickly from grace due to a wretched dependence on alcohol, to Ed Schlesinger of Gallery 13, Simon & Schuster by Samantha Haywood (North America).

Deal News: The Bird House by Fran Kimmel

World rights to Fran Kimmel’s sophomore novel, THE BIRD HOUSE– following a troubled family who shelters an orphan over the holidays, the novel illuminates the surprising ways we heal one another and how love can sometimes be found in the most unexpected places- to ECW Press Senior Editor Jen Knoch by Stephanie Sinclair of Transatlantic Agency for Fall 2018.

DEAL NEWS – LOST FEAST by LENORE NEWMAN

World rights to LOST FEAST: A Requiem for Extinct Foods by Canada Research Chair in Food Security and Environment Lenore Newman, examining a series of extinct foods now lost to our insatiable human appetite, and shedding light on which beloved foods we will struggle to protect in the future, to Susan Renouf at ECW Press by Trena White.

DEAL NEWS – THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING BY MARISSA STAPLEY

For readers of The Nest and The Notebook comes THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING, by bestselling author Marissa Stapley – a poignant generational story about Mae Summers and Gabe Broadbent, childhood best friends and sweethearts who are reunited as adults at the idyllic Summers’ Inn and dealing with aging parents, heartbreak and secrets that will either bring them together or forever leave them as two islands. World English rights ex: Canada to Brittany Lavery at Graydon House by Samantha Haywood, previously to Nita Pronovost at Simon & Schuster Canada (Spring 2018).

DEAL NEWS – I REMEMBER YOU BY ELISABETH DE MARIAFFI

Canada English rights to Giller Prize-longlisted author Elisabeth de Mariaffi’s haunting new novel I REMEMBER YOU, for readers of Sarah Waters, a story whose post-war setting in seemingly idyllic 1950s upstate New York strangely parallels a young German woman’s relationship with her controlling husband, an American psychiatrist, until the couple’s small son goes missing, leaving the mother torn between the possibility that her husband is involved in the boy’s disappearance and the dark suggestion that something otherworldly has taken him, to Iris Tupholme of HarperCollins Canada​ by Samantha Haywood.