Deal News: Things to Do When It’s Raining by Marissa Stapley

German rights to THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING in a three book deal by bestselling author Marissa Stapley sold at auction in a six figure deal to Silke Jellinghaus at Wunderlich, Rowohlt, rights previously to Nita Pronovost at Simon & Schuster Canada and Brittany Lavery at Graydon House for US and UK, publishing Spring 2018 by Hannah Fosh at Liepman Agency on behalf of Samantha Haywood at Transatlantic Agency, for readers of Jojo Moyes and Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney comes a poignant generational story about Mae Summers and Gabe Broadbent, childhood best friends and sweethearts who are reunited as adults at the idyllic Summers’ Inn and dealing with aging parents, heartbreak and secrets that will either bring them together or forever leave them as two islands.

Deal News: The Truth About Love, Hockey and Ballroom Dancing by Jennifer Irwin

Amy Tompkins has sold English rights in Canada to Jennifer Irwin’s debut novel THE TRUTH ABOUT LOVE, HOCKEY AND BALLROOM DANCING to Patricia Ocampo at Simon & Schuster Canada. THE TRUTH ABOUT LOVE, HOCKEY AND BALLROOM DANCING is a middle grade novel that’s both poignant and laugh-out-loud funny. Set in the ‘80s, it’s best described as Billy Elliot meets Judy Blume’s Then Again, Maybe I Won’t. For publication in 2018.

Deal News: Mother Nature’s Son by Kate Inglis

World rights to Kate Inglis’s MOTHER NATURE’S SON to Beth Frankl at Shambhala Publications. Part memoir, part self-help book, MOTHER NATURE’S SON is a book of reflection for parents healing after the death of a child. Kate Inglis, a published author, TEDx speaker, and founder of the bereavement community Glow in the Woods, is represented by Amy Tompkins.

Deal News: A Girl Named Lovely by Catherine Porter

Catherine PorterFormer Toronto Star columnist, starting this month as a correspondent for New York Times, Catherine Porter’s A GIRL NAMED LOVELY, recounting Catherine’s journeys in post-earthquake Haiti as she bonds with the family of a miraculous child survivor and witnesses the realities of international aid, to Brendan May at Simon & Schuster Canada, by Samantha Haywood (NA).

Deal News: The Honey Farm by Harriet Alida Lye

Canada English rights to Harriet Alida Lye‘s unnerving novel, THE HONEY FARM, for fans of Darren Aronofsky’s Black Swan and readers of Kazuo Ishiguro’s haunting novel Never Let Me Go, THE HONEY FARM is a psychological thriller about art, bees and love – when beekeeper Cynthia offers young artists free room and board in exchange for help on the farm, strange things start happening, resembling the plagues from the Book of Exodus, triggering a Catholic would-be-poet into an increasingly terrorized state where she can no longer tell if Cynthia is her protector or her destroyer – to Whitney Moran at Vagrant Press for Spring 2018 by Stephanie Sinclair.

Deal News: Lear’s Shadow by Claire Holden Rothman

Claire Holden RothmanFor readers of Ann Patchett, Governor General’s Award finalist and twice longlisted Scotiabank Giller Prize author Claire Holden Rothman’s LEAR’S SHADOW tells the mesmerizing story of Beatrice Rose who, after losing her career and the love of her life, has lost her way and finds herself stuck caring for her aging father only to discover the fascinating world of an urban Shakespeare troupe which unveils new meanings, a new love, and a new life — to Shima Aoki and Nicole Winstanley at Penguin Canada for Fall 2018 by Samantha Haywood of the Transatlantic Agency (Canada, English).

Deal News: The Chloe Ellefson Mystery Series by Kathleen Ernst

World English audio rights to Emmy award-winning author Kathleen Ernst’s OLD WORLD MURDER, THE HEIRLOOM MURDERS, and THE LIGHT KEEPER’S LEGACY, the first three books in the popular CHLOE ELLEFSON MYSTERY SERIES. These cozy mysteries feature an unlikely crime-solving duo, one a curator of Old World Wisconsin, the other a cop, who solve murders and more in their midwestern small town while romantic sparks fly between them. Audio rights sold to Ron Formica at Tantor Audio, for publication in Feb 2017, by Fiona Kenshole and Sarah Binns.