DEAL NEWS FOR SUSAN SWAN’S THE BIGGEST MODERN WOMAN OF THE WORLD AND THE DEAD CELEBRITIES CLUB

We have incredible news to share – Temple Street, a division of Boat Rocker Studios and producers of Orphan Black, have secured television rights to multiple prize finalist and internationally bestselling author Susan Swan‘s debut novel, THE BIGGEST MODERN WOMAN OF THE WORLD!! The deal was arranged by Samantha Haywood, full press release below.

Plus this great news too (!!) Swan’s newest novel, THE DEAD CELEBRITIES CLUB, a timely and satirical novel featuring the hedge fund whale, Dale Paul, a witty, self-absorbed rogue and raconteur for fans of The Wolf of Wall Street and The Sellout by Paul Beatty, will be published by Cormorant Books in 2019, world ex: Canada rights now available. Contact: samantha@transatlanticagency.com.

Press release continued:

Originally published in 1983, and now a contemporary classic, THE BIGGEST MODERN WOMAN OF THE WORLD tells the extraordinary true story of a seven-foot-six giantess who exhibited with P.T. Barnum, and will be adapted for television by Hannah Moscovitch, one of Canada’s leading writers.

Susan Swan’s critically acclaimed fiction has been published in 15 countries, translated into eight languages and received multiple prize nominations. Her novels include What Casanova Told Me, The Western Light and The Wives of Bath, a bestseller that was adapted as the film Lost And Delirious.

Hannah Moscovitch is an award winning playwright, radio, film and television dramatist who has risen to international prominence with works such as This is War, The Russian Play and East of Berlin, and television dramas XCompany and Played.

Kerry Appleyard, SVP Temple Street, said: “Susan Swan’s wonderful novel examines Western culture’s obsession with size and abnormality as Anna’s astonishing life unfolds. Ultimately it is an unlikely story of triumph over adversity which will resonate deeply with audiences worldwide. We’re delighted that we have one of the strongest voices in Canada, the multiple award-winning Hannah Moscovitch, to adapt the series.”

Susan Swan said: “This novel is very close to my heart and I’m thrilled that the television series will be created by Temple Street and Hannah. It’s the ideal dream team to bring Anna Swan’s incredible true story to life!”

Executive Producer Hannah Moscovitch said: “I am beyond thrilled to be working with the award-winning team at Temple Street, to bring Susan Swan’s novel about the extraordinary Anna to our screens. Part truth, part legend, The Biggest Modern Woman of the World is a saucy romp through traditional categories of gender, sexuality and nationality and working on it is going to be a huge pleasure. ”

Co-chairmen Boat Rocker Media David Fortier and Ivan Schneeberg will executive produce the television series based on The Biggest Modern Woman of the World by Susan Swan, along with Trish Williams (Killjoys, Saving Hope). Creator Hannah Moscovitch is also executive producer.

Temple Street is the premium scripted division of Boat Rocker Studios and produces a wide range of content including prime-time television dramas and comedies. Since 2005, Temple Street has been recognized with more than 120 awards and nominations, earning a global reputation for the quality of its programming. A selection of our productions include Orphan Black (BBC America, Space), Killjoys (Syfy, Space), X Company (CBC, Ovation), Being Erica (CBC, SOAPnet), Billable Hours (Global, Showcase), and Queer as Folk (Showtime, Showcase).

DEAL NEWS: Film/TV rights to Harriet Alida Lye’s THE HONEY FARM

Film/TV rights to Harriet Alida Lye‘s thrilling debut novel, THE HONEY FARM, have sold to Sonya Di Rienzo and Aeschylus Poulos of Hawkeye Pictures. The deal was arranged by Kim Yau of Paradigm on behalf of Stephanie Sinclair.

The novel tells the story of two budding artists who move to a remote farm and begin a romance, as creepy, inexplicable events, possibly orchestrated by the enigmatic woman in charge, start to unfold around them. In the hands of brilliant newcomer Harriet Alida Lye, the natural world is both lovely and menacing, as lushly depicted as the interior lives of her characters. Building to a shocking conclusion, THE HONEY FARM announces the arrival of a bold new voice and offers a thrilling portrait of creation and possession in the natural world.

Hawkeye Pictures is a producer of feature films, tv series, documentaries and digital content. Recent film credits include Sleeping Giant (Cannes Film Festival, Semaine de la Critique); Mary Goes Round (Toronto International Film Festival 2017); and 22 Chaser (2018). The latest project, Propaganda: The Art of Selling Lies, is currently in production.

Selected Prepublication praise for Harriet Alida Lye’s THE HONEY FARM (World Rights Available Ex: U.S., Liveright; Canada, Vagrant Press; Australia, Penguin Random House):

Barnes & Noble​ Discover Pick! Barnesandnoble.com/2018-bn-discover-great-new-writers-selections

https://www.hawkeyepicturesinc.com/news

Hawkeye Pictures Developing Mystery ‘The Honey Farm’ as Movie (EXCLUSIVE)

“An aura of mystery, faintly tinged with menace, permeates Canadian author Lye’s sensuous debut novel …Lye offers an achingly lyrical excursion into a lost Eden”
-Publishers Weekly

“Each lyrical line feels like a gift left at the reader’s altar. A honey-mouthed debut ruminating on creation, possession, and faith.” -Kirkus Reviews

“With a strong command of tone and a haunting sense of atmosphere, Lye’s first novel will transfix readers. At times lyrical, biblical, and otherworldly, The Honey Farm is a suspenseful and well-crafted story.” -Booklist

A Quill & Quire Editor’s Pick- “Lye evokes gothic tropes and an aura of foreboding that recall Shirley Jackson and Daphne du Maurier by way of the tortured Catholicism of Flannery O’Connor.” -Quill and Quire

Selected as an April Top Ten for Loan Stars! “A creepy (in the best way) dark tale set on a remote Ontario Honey farm. For fans of The Poisonwood Bible or the novels of Jane Smiley or Louise Erdrich.”

The Honey Farm is a delightful and mistily enigmatic story…I am putting The Honey Farm on the 2018 longlist for a ‘Very Best!’ Book Award for fiction.”
-The Miramichi Reader

“I loved this book. The way Harriet Alida Lye captures and registers moments of encounter with gentleness and specificity, like bees bumping against flowers—there’s magic afoot here.”
-Lauren Elkin, author of Flaneuse: Women Walk the City in Paris, New York, Tokyo, Venice, and London (A New York Times Book Review Editor’s Choice)

“Mysterious, suspenseful, and unnerving, The Honey Farm offers a thrilling narrative that examines the distorted realities and conflicting perceptions that often exist in the quietest places.” –Iain Reid, bestselling author of I’m Thinking of Ending Things, an NPR Best Book of the Year, 2016

The Honey Farm delves into the intimate mysteries of art, madness, religion, and love through a story built with beautiful language and lush sensory detail. Gothic and subtly menacing, it’s a book as rich as the sweet substance at its core.”
-Grace O’Connell, author of Be Ready for the Lightning

“The secret world of bees and the sensuous natural order in all its peril and glory come alive in this mesmerizing, suspenseful novel. Harriet Alida Lye is a writer of prodigious talent and The Honey Farm a thrilling, chills-inducing debut. Brava!”
-Carol Bruneau, award-winning author of Glass Voices and These Good Hands

“Beguiled by the promise of a writers’ retreat, Sylvia leaves her staunchly Catholic family home for the uncertain territory of a honey farm in Northern Ontario. The Honey Farm offers readers an accomplished meditation on love, creativity and the wonder of the natural world, and a gripping exploration of a community that is perhaps not as it seems.”
-Cathy Marie Buchanan, New York Times bestselling author of The Painted Girls

DEAL NEWS – THEY LEFT US EVERYTHING BY PLUM JOHNSON

JPTheyLeftEverything2016covFeature film rights to Plum Johnson’s bestselling and award-winning memoir, THEY LEFT US EVERYTHING, the highly relatable tale of a baby boomer, packing up the eccentric house she grew up in after the death of her mother, to BUCK Productions by Samantha Haywood in association with Samantha London at the Alpern Group.