ALL THE DIRT by Katherine Ashenburg, and Illustrated by Capucine Mazille, Publishes with Annick Press!

all-the-dirtALL THE DIRT: A History of Getting Clean, written by Katherine Asheburg and illustrated by Capucine Mazille, publishes with Annick Press today – Happy Book Birthday to both Katherine and Capucine!

Says the publisher of the book, “All the Dirt is a lively, informative exploration of the evolution of personal hygiene. Starting with a number of myths about cleanliness, the author gives a quick overview of the topic. Throughout most of history, people rejected the notion of keeping clean, with some exceptions—the
ancient Romans were obsessive about it. Readers will
Trans - Katherine Ashenburgdiscover how the definition of cleanliness in one part of the world may differ radically from
another. In Zimbabwe, for example, cleanliness means coating your washed body with a mixture of oil and dirt! There is just enough of a gross factor that young readers will find the book as entertaining as it is enlightening. Colorful spreads, lots of sidebars, humorous illustrations, and photos make it ideal for browsing as cmazillewell as reading in depth.”

Visit Annick’s website to read more and look inside the book! Annickpress.com/All-the-Dirt

Purchase the book at Amazon.ca.

 

Reviews

“With its lively writing and presentation, this informative book makes the history of cleanliness unexpectedly fun.” – Booklist

“VERDICT A factual yet witty take on dirt and cleanliness. Highly recommended for school libraries.” – School Library Journal

“The text successfully shows the influences of religion, class distinctions, geography, individual thinkers, and advertising on cleanliness behaviors throughout centuries and over most continents, ending with current practices in Canada and the U.S.—including the ongoing debate about antibacterial products. Colorful pages brim with sidebar anecdotes related to bathhouses, soap, toilets, and surprised international travelers.” – Kirkus Books

Deal News- Sofie & Cecilia By Katherine Ashenburg

Internationally bestselling nonfiction author Katherine Ashenburg’s debut novel SOFIE & CECILIA, set in the art world of Sweden in the late 19th/early 20th century, a story of life-long female friendship between two women married to famous artists inspired by Carl Larsson and Anders Zorn, revealing the pre-feminist pressures and secrets of marriage, career and family. For readers of Elena Ferrante and Paula McLain, Canadian English rights sold to Lynn Henry of Knopf Canada for New Face of Fiction, Spring 2018, by Samantha Haywood of the Transatlantic Agency.

ILLUMINATION – Portraits of Canadian Literature + Authors

Coming in October ILLUMINATION – Portraits of Canadian Literature + Authors

In this innovative new exhibit, award-winning Canadian artist Mark Raynes Roberts illustrates the personalities of some of Canada’s most vibrant and interesting authors through a series of 150 photographs. Exhibits at both the Toronto Reference Library and the Harbourfront Centre’s International Festival of Authors will feature projected portrait installations of some of the following Transatlantic Agency author clients: Martha Baillie, Dave Bidini, Shaughnessy Bishop-Stall, Claire Holden Rothman, Diane Schoemperlen, Paula Todd and Kathleen Winter. Through these works, Raynes Roberts will explore the inner lives of authors and their creative roots.

At the Gardiner Museum, to complement the photography series, Mark Raynes Roberts will present his ethereal glass engraving as visual interpretations of narrative by 12 Canadian authors based upon the theme of Light. For over 30 years, Raynes Roberts has created glass sculpture as medium to examine human transcendence and with this new collection, celebrate artistic culture and Canada’s literary treasury.

ILLUMINATION – Portraits of Canadian Literature – Crystal Art Exhibition
Gardiner Museum – October 26 to November 11, 2015

ILLUMINATION – Portraits of Canadian Authors – Projected Portrait Photography Exhibitions
Toronto Reference Library – October 11 – Nov 1, 2015
International Festival of Authors – October 22 to November 1, 2015.

Learn more at www.raynesillumination.com

DEAL NEWS – THE DIRT ON CLEAN

From Katherine Ashenburg, author of the international bestseller, THE DIRT ON CLEAN: AN UNSANITIZED HISTORY, comes a middle-grade adaptation of this social history of washing our bodies.

Katherine AshenburgLooking at Western culture through a soap bubble, THE DIRT ON CLEAN allows kids to discover that the everyday acts of showering and washing are a lens through which to see a surprising amount of history.

North American rights sold to Rick Wilks of Annick Press by Samantha Haywood at Transatlantic Agency