Sofie & Cecilia Publishes Today!

Happy Book Birthday to Katherine Ashenburg, whose book SOFIE & CECILIA is publishing today with Knopf Canada!

From the Publisher: “A surprising, rich and beautiful first novel about women’s friendship for readers of Paula McLain and Elena Ferrante, by a bestselling non-fiction author who has brilliantly turned her hand to fiction.

In Sofie & Cecilia, beloved non-fiction author and journalist Katherine Ashenburg draws upon her formidable skill and maturity as a writer to craft an extraordinary and splendid debut novel. This is the story of a lifelong female friendship, set in the fascinating art world of Sweden between 1900 and 1940, just as modern art and the beginnings of the Scandinavian mid-century modern design movement were inspiring a creative revolution across northern Europe. Loosely based on the lives of celebrated artists Carl Larsson and Anders Zorn (“Nils Olsson” and “Lars Vogt” in the novel), Ashenburg transports us behind both the public and domestic scenes–and canvasses–of these larger-than-life men to reveal the lesser-known but equally astounding and rich stories of the women who married them: restlessly creative artist-in-her-own-right Sofie Olsson, and fiercely private and intelligent curator Cecilia Vogt.

Here is a gorgeous gem of a book: surprising, unique, layered with insight into the nuances of female friendship as it stretches, changes, and deepens in unexpected ways over a lifetime. Woven effortlessly through this tapestry, like a beautiful motif, is absorbing detail about Scandinavian painting, design, and textile work; European history and sexual politics; the country life, city salons, vibrant art, and folklore of Sweden; and the secrets and challenges of bright, talented women juggling marriage, career, individual aspirations, and family life inside an artist’s household in the early twentieth century.”

Advance Praise:

“Closely and beautifully observed. . . . As readers, we experience both the affirmation of women’s friendships, and the challenge of devoting oneself to a life of artistic creation.” —Jane Urquhart

“Sofie & Cecilia paints a marvelously detailed, slyly witty portrait of two women of talent married to successful painters in early twentieth-century Sweden—when girls might dabble in drawing lessons, but must put aside any artistic ambitions after marriage. Their growing independence is fueled by their friendship, sustained over the length of their lives. Fans of Elena Ferrante (not to mention Jane Austen and Virginia Woolf, whose books are a bonding point) will revel in this wise and intensely moving story of two women navigating a world that expected women to weave, knit and embroider in the shadow of the real artists, their husbands. Nevertheless, they persisted.” —Marni Jackson

“Katherine Ashenburg slips her needle delicately beneath the skin to reveal the anatomy of an artist. This is the best kind of writing about art that is an art itself. So many pleasures here for the reader: delights of dress and décor and food and furnishings, all of the made things that make life better. Through the graceful procession of the years, strong strands of friendship tie these women together: their love of art, and books, and intelligent observation of the tangled knot of marriage.” —Marina Endicott, Giller shortlisted author of Good to a Fault

“Against the luscious backdrop of the early twentieth-century Swedish art world, Sofie & Cecilia offers a fascinating, intimate look at the many variations of female love: maternal love, marital love, love of industry and craft, love of beauty. Most of all it is a celebration of the love that can exist between women friends. An intelligent, tender, highly pleasurable novel.” —Barbara Gowdy, author of Little Sister and The Romantic

Visit the following link for more information: https://penguinrandomhouse.ca/books/550386/sofie-cecilia#9780735272682

The Ontario Library Association Announces the Forest of Reading Shortlists!

Transatlantic Agency congratulates our agency clients who are finalists on the 2018 Forest of Reading Awards shortlists! These awards recognize the best work by Canadian authors and illustrators. Over a quarter of a million readers participate in the program through schools, public libraries, literacy centres and within their homes. These awards encourage a love of reading through programs aimed at children and adults who vote for the winning books.

SHORT FOR CHAMELEON (HarperCollins Canada) by Vicki Grant (Red Maple Fiction Award)

A SQUIGGLY STORY (Kids Can Press) written by Andrew Larsen and illustrated by Mike Lowery (Blue Spruce Award)

ALL THE DIRT: A History of Getting Clean (Annick Press) written by Katherine Ashenburg and illustrated by Capucine Mazille (Golden Oak Award)

MEATLESS?: A Fresh Look at What You Eat (Owlkids) written by Sarah Elton and illustrated by Julie McLaughlin (Silver Birch Non-fiction Award)

 

Transatlantic would also like to congratulate all of the other authors who are finalists for this year’s Forest of Reading Awards.

For a full list of the nominees, please see the Ontario Library Association’s announcement at the following link www.accessola.org/web/OLA/Forest_of_Reading/Nominated_Lists/.

All the Dirt by Katherine Ashenburg Nominated for the 2018 Rocky Mountain Book Award!

This week the 2018 Rocky Mountain Book Award nominees were announced, and we are absolutely delighted that ALL THE DIRT: A History of Getting Clean (Annick Press) by Katherine Ashenburg and illustrated by Capuzine Mazille, is on the list! This is an Alberta-based reader’s choice award that invites students in grades 4-7 and their educators to select their favourite books. The winner will be awarded a gold medal. Congratulations to Katherine and Capucine, and their fellow nominees!

Please visit the following link for a full list of the nominees: www.rmba.info/rmba/nominees/2018/

To learn more about the award, you may visit www.rmba.info/about/

All the Dirt and Deep Roots Shortlisted for the 2018 Red Cedar Non-fiction Award!

The 2018 Red Cedar Non-fiction Award shortlist has been announced, and we are delighted to share that both Katherine Ashenburg and Nikki Tate are receiving acknowledgement for their amazing books! Katherine’s book ALL THE DIRT: A History of Getting Clean (Annick Press) and Nikki’s book DEEP ROOTS: How Trees Sustain Our Planet (Orca Book Publishers) are on the list. This is British Columbia’s reader’s choice award, in which thousands of children between grades 4 and 7 from across BC read from nominated lists of fiction and non-fiction and vote for their favourites in April of each year. We’re not surprised that these books are two of them!

Please visit the following link to view the full shortlist: www.redcedaraward.ca/blog/2017/05/26/the-20172018-red-cedar-nominees-for-information-are/

Also check out the following link to learn more about the award: www.redcedaraward.ca/group-leader-resources/about-red-cedar/

ALL THE DIRT by Katherine Ashenburg, and Illustrated by Capucine Mazille, Publishes with Annick Press!

all-the-dirtALL THE DIRT: A History of Getting Clean, written by Katherine Asheburg and illustrated by Capucine Mazille, publishes with Annick Press today – Happy Book Birthday to both Katherine and Capucine!

Says the publisher of the book, “All the Dirt is a lively, informative exploration of the evolution of personal hygiene. Starting with a number of myths about cleanliness, the author gives a quick overview of the topic. Throughout most of history, people rejected the notion of keeping clean, with some exceptions—the
ancient Romans were obsessive about it. Readers will
Trans - Katherine Ashenburgdiscover how the definition of cleanliness in one part of the world may differ radically from
another. In Zimbabwe, for example, cleanliness means coating your washed body with a mixture of oil and dirt! There is just enough of a gross factor that young readers will find the book as entertaining as it is enlightening. Colorful spreads, lots of sidebars, humorous illustrations, and photos make it ideal for browsing as cmazillewell as reading in depth.”

Visit Annick’s website to read more and look inside the book! Annickpress.com/All-the-Dirt

Purchase the book at Amazon.ca.

 

Reviews

“With its lively writing and presentation, this informative book makes the history of cleanliness unexpectedly fun.” – Booklist

“VERDICT A factual yet witty take on dirt and cleanliness. Highly recommended for school libraries.” – School Library Journal

“The text successfully shows the influences of religion, class distinctions, geography, individual thinkers, and advertising on cleanliness behaviors throughout centuries and over most continents, ending with current practices in Canada and the U.S.—including the ongoing debate about antibacterial products. Colorful pages brim with sidebar anecdotes related to bathhouses, soap, toilets, and surprised international travelers.” – Kirkus Books

Deal News- Sofie & Cecilia By Katherine Ashenburg

Internationally bestselling nonfiction author Katherine Ashenburg’s debut novel SOFIE & CECILIA, set in the art world of Sweden in the late 19th/early 20th century, a story of life-long female friendship between two women married to famous artists inspired by Carl Larsson and Anders Zorn, revealing the pre-feminist pressures and secrets of marriage, career and family. For readers of Elena Ferrante and Paula McLain, Canadian English rights sold to Lynn Henry of Knopf Canada for New Face of Fiction, Spring 2018, by Samantha Haywood of the Transatlantic Agency.

ILLUMINATION – Portraits of Canadian Literature + Authors

Coming in October ILLUMINATION – Portraits of Canadian Literature + Authors

In this innovative new exhibit, award-winning Canadian artist Mark Raynes Roberts illustrates the personalities of some of Canada’s most vibrant and interesting authors through a series of 150 photographs. Exhibits at both the Toronto Reference Library and the Harbourfront Centre’s International Festival of Authors will feature projected portrait installations of some of the following Transatlantic Agency author clients: Martha Baillie, Dave Bidini, Shaughnessy Bishop-Stall, Claire Holden Rothman, Diane Schoemperlen, Paula Todd and Kathleen Winter. Through these works, Raynes Roberts will explore the inner lives of authors and their creative roots.

At the Gardiner Museum, to complement the photography series, Mark Raynes Roberts will present his ethereal glass engraving as visual interpretations of narrative by 12 Canadian authors based upon the theme of Light. For over 30 years, Raynes Roberts has created glass sculpture as medium to examine human transcendence and with this new collection, celebrate artistic culture and Canada’s literary treasury.

ILLUMINATION – Portraits of Canadian Literature – Crystal Art Exhibition
Gardiner Museum – October 26 to November 11, 2015

ILLUMINATION – Portraits of Canadian Authors – Projected Portrait Photography Exhibitions
Toronto Reference Library – October 11 – Nov 1, 2015
International Festival of Authors – October 22 to November 1, 2015.

Learn more at www.raynesillumination.com

DEAL NEWS – THE DIRT ON CLEAN

From Katherine Ashenburg, author of the international bestseller, THE DIRT ON CLEAN: AN UNSANITIZED HISTORY, comes a middle-grade adaptation of this social history of washing our bodies.

Katherine AshenburgLooking at Western culture through a soap bubble, THE DIRT ON CLEAN allows kids to discover that the everyday acts of showering and washing are a lens through which to see a surprising amount of history.

North American rights sold to Rick Wilks of Annick Press by Samantha Haywood at Transatlantic Agency