DEAL NEWS: THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING by Marissa Stapley

Norwegian rights to THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING by bestselling author Marissa Stapley sold to Cappelen Damm by Jeanine Langenburg of Sebes & Bisseling Literary Agency on behalf of Samantha Haywood. Rights previously S&S Canada, Graydon House US, both editions publishing simultaneously in Spring 2018. And Rowohlt Verlag acquired at auction and published first in Germany in Nov 2017, while Italian rights were sold on a pre-empt to Sperling & Kupfer. For readers of Jojo Moyes, comes a poignant generational story about Mae Summers and Gabe Broadbent, childhood best friends and sweethearts who are reunited as adults at the idyllic Summers’ Inn and dealing with aging parents, heartbreak and secrets. For UK, translation and tv/film contact: samantha@transatlanticagency.com

Deal News: THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING BY MARISSA STAPLEY

Italian rights to THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING by bestselling author Marissa Stapley sold on a pre-empt to Sperling & Kupfer Editori by Erica Berla of Berla & Griffini on behalf of Samantha Haywood. Rights previously to Nita Pronovost at Simon & Schuster Canada, Brittany Lavery at Graydon House for US, both editions publishing simultaneously in Spring 2018. And Rowohlt Verlag acquired at auction and published first in Germany in Nov 2017. For readers of Jojo Moyes and Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney, comes a poignant generational story about Mae Summers and Gabe Broadbent, childhood best friends and sweethearts who are reunited as adults at the idyllic Summers’ Inn and dealing with aging parents, heartbreak and secrets that will either bring them together or forever leave them as two islands. For UK, translation and tv/film contact: samantha@transatlanticagency.com

German edition of THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING by Marissa Stapley publishes with Rowohlt Verlag!

Happy book birthday to Marissa Stapley whose German edition of THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING (Rowohlt Verlag​) publishes today!

From the bestselling author of Mating for Life, THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING is a poignant generational story about family and secrets. With honesty and heart, Marissa Stapley reminds us of the redemptive power of love and forgiveness, and that, ultimately, family is a choice.

This novel will be available in North America in February 2018 with Simon & Schuster Canada​ and Graydon House Books in the U.S.

Advance Praise:

Things to Do When It’s Raining has heart and soul and guts, and it has achingly beautiful prose and characters so dear and real I couldn’t bear to say goodbye when I reached its final page. It’s a book about friendship and secrets, grief and regret, the peculiar shape of families and the redemptive nature of love. And it is, quite frankly, one of the best books I have read in a very long time.”
–Jennifer Robson, bestselling author of Moonlight over Paris

“Fans of Nicholas Sparks will adore Things to Do When It’s Raining, an irresistible tribute to first love, second chances and the powerful legacy of the past. Elegant and heartfelt, Marissa Stapley’s writing is a gift.”
–Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Orphan’s Tale

“There is something so intimate and true in the sentence, ‘Every marriage harbors secrets, secrets about why it works or why it doesn’t work, secrets between two people that the rest of the world can never be privy to.’ Profound and intimate, raw and real—Things to Do When It’s Raining is hard to put down. Loved the ending but hated to have it end!” –Nan Rossiter, New York Times bestselling author of Firefly Summer

“Written with compassion and insight, Things to Do When It’s Raining is a truly captivating novel with exquisite prose and moments of bittersweet tenderness.”
–Nicola Moriarty, author of The Fifth Letter

Deal News: Things to Do When It’s Raining by Marissa Stapley

German rights to THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING in a three book deal by bestselling author Marissa Stapley sold at auction in a six figure deal to Silke Jellinghaus at Wunderlich, Rowohlt, rights previously to Nita Pronovost at Simon & Schuster Canada and Brittany Lavery at Graydon House for US and UK, publishing Spring 2018 by Hannah Fosh at Liepman Agency on behalf of Samantha Haywood at Transatlantic Agency, for readers of Jojo Moyes and Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney comes a poignant generational story about Mae Summers and Gabe Broadbent, childhood best friends and sweethearts who are reunited as adults at the idyllic Summers’ Inn and dealing with aging parents, heartbreak and secrets that will either bring them together or forever leave them as two islands.

DEAL NEWS – THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING BY MARISSA STAPLEY

For readers of The Nest and The Notebook comes THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING, by bestselling author Marissa Stapley – a poignant generational story about Mae Summers and Gabe Broadbent, childhood best friends and sweethearts who are reunited as adults at the idyllic Summers’ Inn and dealing with aging parents, heartbreak and secrets that will either bring them together or forever leave them as two islands. World English rights ex: Canada to Brittany Lavery at Graydon House by Samantha Haywood, previously to Nita Pronovost at Simon & Schuster Canada (Spring 2018).

Deal News – Mating for Life

Marissa Stapley’s MATING FOR LIFE follows former folk singer Helen and her three adult daughters, each of whom is struggling to reconcile their idea of what a perfect family should look like with the truth of their own marriages and relationships, while ultimately still embracing the redemptive power of love in all its forms.

To Sarah Cantin at Atria Books and Alison Clarke at Simon & Schuster Canada for publication in 2014, (North America) by Samantha Haywood.