RUN, HIDE, REPEAT by Pauline Dakin publishes with Penguin Canada!

Happy book birthday to Pauline Dakin whose riveting memoir RUN, HIDE, REPEAT publishes today with Penguin Canada!

A fast-paced, action filled memoir, in the same vein as Mary Karr’s The Liar’s Club or Jeanette Walls’ The Glass Castle, RUN, HIDE, REPEAT explores coming to terms with a lost childhood, and betrayal by those most loved and trusted. But at its core it also explores a profound path of personal discovery – one that is paved with the redemptive powers of love and forgiveness.

Pauline Dakin is an ‎Assistant Professor of Journalism at the University of King’s College. She was the Senior Producer, Current Affairs Programming (Nova Scotia) for CBC Radio, the former national health reporter for CBC News, and was the host of the regional documentary program Atlantic Voice. She is a three-time recipient of fellowships from the National Press Foundation in Washington and was a fellow of the MIT/Knight Science Journalism program. Dakin has worked as a producer, on-air host, assignment editor, and reporter in various media including film, television, radio, and print. She also writes and produces documentaries on a wide range of topics. RUN, HIDE, REPEAT is her first book.

Pre-publication Praise: 

“What happens when ‘Fake News’ takes over your family? This harrowing true story reads like a psychological thriller—I was haunted by it.” —Plum Johnson, author of They Left Us Everything

“From a childhood marked by secrets and sudden moves to an adulthood where truth—and lies—of the past are laid bare, Run, Hide, Repeat is a fascinating story of family, deception, and forgiveness.” —Sonja Larsen, author of Red Star Tattoo

“This twisted page-turner brings the truth to the forefront, while Dakin tries to master the art of forgiveness.” —Canadian Living

Samra Habib’s debut memoir to Viking Canada

Penguin Canada managing editor David Ross has acquired world rights to Toronto writer Samra Habib’s WE HAVE ALWAYS BEEN HERE, a memoir of the transformative experiences that have shaped her identity as a queer Muslim, to be published under the Viking imprint in spring 2019. The deal was arranged by Samantha Haywood of the Transatlantic Agency.

Deal News: Lear’s Shadow by Claire Holden Rothman

Claire Holden RothmanFor readers of Ann Patchett, Governor General’s Award finalist and twice longlisted Scotiabank Giller Prize author Claire Holden Rothman’s LEAR’S SHADOW tells the mesmerizing story of Beatrice Rose who, after losing her career and the love of her life, has lost her way and finds herself stuck caring for her aging father only to discover the fascinating world of an urban Shakespeare troupe which unveils new meanings, a new love, and a new life — to Shima Aoki and Nicole Winstanley at Penguin Canada for Fall 2018 by Samantha Haywood of the Transatlantic Agency (Canada, English).