Dr. Lee Airton’s GENDER: YOUR GUIDE one-week round up

We’re proud to see Dr. Lee Airton‘s GENDER: Your Guide stimulating important discussions on programs across Canada and the US just a week post publication.

Publisher Simon & Schuster calls this book “An authentic and accessible guide to understanding—and engaging in—today’s gender conversation.”

The Globe and Mail‘s Harvey Schachter says, “Airton offers a warm, inviting guide to a complicated area, and discusses their own transition in university from female to non-binary.”

Click on links below for informative interviews with Dr. Lee Airton:

TV
CTV’s Your Morning
Ctv.ca/YourMorning//What-to-say-and-what-to-do-in-the-new-gender-culture

RADIO
KGO 810’s The Chip Franklin Show
Omny.fm/shows/the-chip-franklin-show/october-22-2018-trump-goes-after-trans

Dr. Lee Airton is an Assistant Professor of Gender and Sexuality Studies in Education at Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario. As a researcher, blogger, advocate and speaker, Dr. Airton focuses on enabling individuals and institutions to welcome gender and sexual diversity in everyday life. Dr. Airton founded They Is My Pronoun, a Q+A-based blog about gender-neutral pronoun usage and user support. Dr. Airton is also the founder of the No Big Deal Campaign, a social media initiative that helps people show support for transgender peoples’ right to have their pronouns used. In recognition of their pronoun advocacy, Dr. Airton received a 2017 Youth Role Model of the Year Award from the Canadian Centre for Gender and Sexual Diversity. Dr. Airton’s scholarly work has appeared in the journals Sex Education, Curriculum Inquiry, and Teachers College Record. Learn more at LeeAirton.com and genderyourguide.com.

DEAL NEWS: BIX BY SCOTT CHANTLER

Award-winning graphic novelist Scott Chantler‘s BIX, an experimental and mostly wordless black and white graphic biography highlighting the career of Leon Bix Beiderbecke, an early jazz cornet player, who rose rapidly to fame in the 1920s before falling just as quickly from grace due to a wretched dependence on alcohol, to Ed Schlesinger of Gallery 13, Simon & Schuster by Samantha Haywood (North America).

DEAL NEWS – THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING BY MARISSA STAPLEY

For readers of The Nest and The Notebook comes THINGS TO DO WHEN IT’S RAINING, by bestselling author Marissa Stapley – a poignant generational story about Mae Summers and Gabe Broadbent, childhood best friends and sweethearts who are reunited as adults at the idyllic Summers’ Inn and dealing with aging parents, heartbreak and secrets that will either bring them together or forever leave them as two islands. World English rights ex: Canada to Brittany Lavery at Graydon House by Samantha Haywood, previously to Nita Pronovost at Simon & Schuster Canada (Spring 2018).