JULIA LEDERER’S WITH LOVE AND A MAJOR ORGAN PUBLISHES WITH SCIROCCO

lederer72We are so proud to celebrate Julia Lederer’s publication with Scirocco. WITH LOVE AND A MAJOR ORGAN is a witty and unique romantic comedy with lots of heart and broad appeal, examining love in the age of technology, and the universal and trying task of reconciling the head and the heart.

A comedy with guts – about pheromones, fate and public transit.

Anabel gives her heart to a man she meets on the subway and he disappears with it. Her limbs begin to fall asleep. George is on the run but keeps getting distracted by romantic comedies. He begins to blame his mother. Mona resorts to seeking therapy from GoogleShrink, forcing herself to speed-date, and taking in a stranger who appears on her doorstep clad in purple plaid.

Selected Press from productions in the US and Canada:

“Theatre that lets go of realism and embraces the joys of language…. wonderfully weird, piercingly poetic and unexpectedly moving .. Isn’t that what theatre should do?”  – Hank Sartin, Crain’s Chicago

“A brash, poetic and fiercely original voice that’s equal parts pee-your-pants funny and get-out-that-Kleenex poignant…Keep your eye on Lederer, whose got huge potential. NNNNN/5”  –  Glenn Sumi, NOW Magazine

“[A] show that stands out above the others… just about perfect… takes us on a roller coaster of joyous and torturous emotions with which we can all identify, but not quite clearly express… rises to a rare level of universal truth, all while making us laugh. A lot.”  – Christopher Kidder-Mostrom, NewCity Stage, Chicago

“Lederer has a deliciously twisted way with words…… genuinely original… a dead sprint and the end result is pure elation mixed with a bit of dry heaving.” – Kevin Greene, Chicago Stage Standard

Named  “Outstanding New Play” & “Outstanding Production” by NOW Magazine, and awarded “Best of Fringe” and “Patron’s Pick” at the 2012 Toronto Fringe Festival.

Playwrights Guild of Canada Catalogue Listing.

An internationally acclaimed playwright, Julia’s work has been described as, “delightfully original” (The Toronto Star) and “endlessly quotable” (Torontoist). WITH LOVE AND A MAJOR ORGAN premiered at the 2012 Toronto Fringe Festival where is was “Best of the Fringe”,  then part of the Next Stage Theatre Festival. Its US premier was in 2015, as part of Strawdog Theatre’s 28th Season in Chicago. Julia’s other plays include: The Best Plan for Living Happily (Toronto’s VideoFag; presented in the Last Frontier Theatre Conference in Alaska), Frame (New York’s Seven Collective; Toronto’s Alumnae Theatre), Reality Theatre (recipient of Driftwood Theatre’s Jury Prize), Boxed In, and her first play for young audiences, It’s Nothing. Her short play, Reality Vision, will be published in One Minute Plays: A Practical Guide to Tiny Theatre (Steve Ansell and Rose Burnett Bonczek, Routledge Press, 2017). Julia also writes for film and television. Her script, Witch Office, placed in the top 15% in AMC’s one-hour pilot competition at the 2015 Austin Film Festival. She was the Social Media Creative Consultant for Smokebomb’s multi-award-winning webseries, Carmilla. Julia is currently developing a new play as part of the Thousand Islands Theatre’s playwrights unit and working on her first book project.

For more information: www.julialederer.ca .

 

DEAL NEWS – THIS SIDE OF SAD BY KAREN SMYTHE

SymtheKarenbwFor fans of Joan Didion and Sheila Heti, and reminiscent of Jenny Offill’s The Department of Speculation, Karen Smythe’s THIS SIDE OF SAD is a mesmerizing tour of a woman’s fractured past – a provocative and piercing novel that lingers in mind and heart – to Bethany Gibson at Goose Lane Editions for Fall 2017/Spring 2018 by Stephanie Sinclair (Canada English)

DEAL NEWS – CATCH MY DRIFT BY GENEVIEVE SCOTT

Scott72bwGenevieve Scott’s CATCH MY DRIFT is a novel-in-stories reminiscent of Elizabeth Strout’s Olive Kitteridge, spanning decades in the life of a family, reminding us of our lifelong labor to connect with others, even as we tackle most of life’s complications alone, to Bethany Gibson at Goose Lane Editions for Spring 2018 by Stephanie Sinclair (Canada English).

Meadowlark by Wendi Stewart Publishes in Germany

Ciww9-LUUAAYwBPMEADOWLARK by Wendi Stewart publishes in Germany with Nagel & Kimche today! First published in Canada by NeWest Press, MEADOWLARK has already received extensive praise and we couldn’t be prouder of Wendi and her continued success. Happy Book Birthday Wendi!

In MEADOWLARK by Wendi Stewart, when her family’s car goes through the ice on Rainy Lake one cold March day in 1962, six-year-old Rebecca Archer is the only person her father is able to pull from the sinking vehicle. But as Rebecca grows up in a farmhouse haunted by the absence of her mother and baby brother, raised by a man left nearly paralyzed with grief, she wonders if her father really did save her after all. In her debut novel, Wendi Stewart tells the luminous, deeply imagined story of a young woman’s hard-won triumph over heartbreaking personal tragedy and the restorative power of friendship.

Stewart2015bwAwards

  • 2016, Shortlisted, Alberta Book Publishing Awards, Trade Fiction Book of the Year and Cover Design Categories
  • 2016, Shortlisted, second annual Kobo Emerging Writer Prize, Literary Fiction

Reviews 

“Stewart’s story reflects self-discovery in the midst of suffering. Meadowlark is a novel of tragedy infused with hope and survival.” – Quill & Quire

“Wendi Stewart has a smart and compelling heroine in Rebecca Archer, and Meadowlark tells the story of her resilience in the face of stacked odds.” – The National Post

Rights Sold: NeWest Press, Canada; Nagel & Kimche, Germany

Meadowlark and The Mystics of Mile End Shortlisted for the 2016 Alberta Book Publishing Awards!

We are excited to share that the Book Publishers Association of Alberta has announced that MEADOWLARK by Wendi Stewart (NeWest Press) and THE MYSTICS OF MILE END (Freehand Books) by Sigal Samuel have been shortlisted for the 2016 Alberta Book Publishing Awards! MEADOWLARK has been shortlisted in the Trade Fiction Book of the Year and Cover Design categories while THE MYSTICS OF MILE END has been nominated in the Trade Fiction Book of the Year category. The Alberta Book Publishing Awards are awarded every year to books by Alberta publishers, and this year there were over 77 entries for the 12 award categories.

SWMeadowlarkcovIn MEADOWLARK by Wendi Stewart, when her family’s car goes through the ice on Rainy Lake one cold March day in 1962, six-year-old Rebecca Archer is the only person her father is able to pull from the sinking vehicle. But as Rebecca grows up in a farmhouse haunted by the absence of her mother and baby brother, raised by a man left nearly paralyzed with grief, she wonders if her father really did save her after all. In her debut novel, Wendi Stewart tells the luminous, deeply imagined story of a young woman’s hard-won triumph over heartbreaking personal tragedy and the restorative power of friendship.

SSMysticsCADcovTHE MYSTICS OF MILE END by Sigal Samuel weaves together four distinct voices to tell the story of the dysfunctional Meyer family with a dangerous mystical obsession. Living in Mile End, home to hipsters and Hasidic Jews, David, a professor of religion, is diagnosed with a heart murmur and becomes convinced that his heart is whispering divine secrets. When David’s attempts to ascend the Tree of Life lead to tragedy, his daughter Samara believes it is up to her to finish what he started, and her brother documents her increasingly strange behaviour. It falls to next-door neighbour Chaim Glassman to shatter the silence that divides the members of the Meyer family.

The winners will be announced on September 16th at a gala at the Hotel Arts in Calgary. To purchase tickets for the event, please visit www.bookpublishers.ab.ca

Congratulations to Wendi Stewart and Sigal Samuel, as well as to the other nominees!

To view the shortlists in all categories, visit http://bookpublishers.ab.ca/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/Media-Release-Shortlist-2016-Book-Publishing-Awards.pdf

Welcome to Justin Rutledge

Rutledge2016bwWe are very proud to share that Justin Rutledge has joined Transatlantic. He will be represented by Stephanie Sinclair.

Justin Rutledge is a Juno Award-winning songwriter who resides in Wellington, Ontario. Born in Toronto, Justin studied English Literature at the University of Toronto before recording his first album, No Never Alone (2005), which was originally released in the UK to rave reviews and critical acclaim—the NME called the album “an incredible breakthrough.” Justin’s other albums include The Devil On A Bench In Stanley Park (2006), Man Descending (2008), The Early Widows (2010), Valleyheart (2013—Juno Award, Canadian Folk Music Award), Daredevil (2014), and East (2016).

In addition, Justin is also an actor. Working closely with Michael Ondaatje to stage Divisadero (2010), Justin also appeared in CanStage’s The Arsonists (2012), and in 2014, Justin was awarded a Montreal English Theatre Award for best composition in the Segal Centre’s production of The Graduate. He is currently developing a feature film with Hannah Moscovitch and The Film Farm entitled Unsettled.