Sharon Bala’s “Butter Tea at Starbucks” shortlisted for the 2017 Journey Prize!

Congratulations to Sharon Bala, who has been shortlisted for the 2017 Journey Prize, for her story “Butter Tea at Starbucks” (first published in The New Quarterly)!

The Writers’ Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize is awarded annually to an emerging writer of distinction for a short story originally published in a Canadian literary magazine. Previous winners of The Journey Prize include Yann Martel, Alissa York, Jessica Grant, Yasuko Thanh, Timothy Taylor and Miranda Hill. The 2017 winner will be announced on November 14th.

Sharon’s highly anticipated debut novel, THE BOAT PEOPLE, is forthcoming from McClleland & Stewart Canada and Doubleday Books​ U.S. in January 2018.

To view the full shortlist, please visit Writerstrust.com/Journey-Prize-Finalists

THIS SIDE OF SAD by Karen Smythe publishes with Goose Lane Editions!

Happy book birthday to Karen Smythe‘s THIS SIDE OF SAD, publishing today with Goose Lane Editions!

For fans of Joan Didion and Sheila Heti, and reminiscent of Jenny Offill’s The Department of Speculation, THIS SIDE OF SAD is a provocative and piercing novel that lingers in mind and heart.

Meditative, philosophical, confessional, elegiac: THIS SIDE OF SAD is a many-sided novel. It is about the disintegration of a marriage, but it’s also about relationship between memory and identity; the enduring colloquy between the living and the dead; the varieties and limitations of love; and how we find meaning in the random architecture of despair and joy that makes and unmakes our lives.

Karen Smythe is the author of Stubborn Bones, a collection of short fiction (Polestar/Raincoast Books, 2001). Karen’s stories have appeared in several literary publications including Grain, Fiddlehead, Antigonish Review, Gaspereau Review, and Water Studies: New Voices in Maritime Fiction. While living in Halifax, she guest-edited the Michael Ondaatje issue of Essays on Canadian Writing and served as the fiction editor of the Pottersfield Portfolio. Figuring Grief, her ground-breaking monograph on Gallant and Munro (McGill-Queen’s University Press, 1992), is still in print and widely cited. Karen is at work on her second novel.

Pre-publication Praise:

“Smythe’s prose is powerful…The author’s choice of narrative perspective ensures that this book is likely to provoke lively debate.” – Quill & Quire

“It’s always wonderful to stumble upon what could be a sleeper, and leave it Goose Lane to have one on offer. Karen Smythe’s THIS SIDE OF SAD is due in September and it’s a stunner.” – 49th Shelf

“Karen Smythe is a bright original. Her writing is wry, visceral, intriguing, and very moving. What Smythe has done here is really quite brilliant: she has found new ways to write about a difficult subject — the peculiar passion that is longing — and to make it palpable, leaving the reader with something profound to hang onto.” –Diane Schoemperlen, award-winning author of Forms of Devotion

“Mesmerizing.” –Antanas Sileika, author of Underground

Interviews with the Author:

“I spent a lot of time actually on bulletin boards with thumbnail tacks and little paces of paper, moving them around. So that’s how it came to be.” – a captivating interview with Karen Smythe about the inner-workings of her novel THIS SIDE OF SAD via Queen Mob’s Teahouse

Karen sit down with Humber College and talks about writing this novel after graduating Humber’s Creative Writing program: Humber.ca/this-side-of-sad

Join Karen on September 21st as she launches THIS SIDE OF SAD at the eBar in Guelph on 41 Quebec Street from 7:00pm to 9:00pm!

Sharon Bala Long-listed for the 2017 Journey Prize for “Reading Week”

Congratulations to Sharon Bala, who has been long-listed for the 2017 Journey Prize, for her story “Reading Week” (first published in PRISM International)! This is her second nomination for this prize, with the nomination for “Butter Tea at Starbucks” (first published in The New Quarterly) being announced earlier this month.

Awarded through Writers’ Trust of Canada​, McClelland & Stewart​’s The Journey Prize​ lauds an emerging Canadian writer for a short story originally published in a Canadian literary magazine. Previous winners of The Journey Prize include Yann Martel, Alissa York, Jessica Grant, Yasuko Thanh, Timothy Taylor and Miranda Hill. Sharon’s “Butter Tea at Starbucks” and “Reading Week” will appear in The Journey Prize Stories 29, along with the other nominees. The winner will be selected from the anthology’s stories and will receive $10,000 from the Trust.

Sharon’s highly anticipated debut novel, THE BOAT PEOPLE, is forthcoming from McClleland & Stewart Canada and Doubleday Books​ US in January 2018.

To view the full longlist, please visit www.writerstrust.com/Awards/Journey-Prize.aspx.

Deal News: UK/ANZ Rights to FIND YOU IN THE DARK by NABEN RUTHNUM

UK/ANZ rights to Journey Prize winner Naben Ruthnum writing as Nathan Ripley’s debut FIND YOU IN THE DARK, pitched as reminiscent of The Talented Mr. Ripley with elements of Red Dragon and the hit TV series “Dexter,” which follows the story of a family man whose obsessive need to right the past by digging up the undiscovered skeletal remains of serial killer victims is about to lead to a terrifyingly real encounter with a killer who is very much alive, to Michael Heyward at Text Publishing, at auction, by Stephanie Sinclair and Samantha Haywood (previous rights to Rakesh Satyal of Atria and Laurie Grassi of Simon & Schuster Canada).

Sharon Bala Long-listed for the 2017 Journey Prize, TWICE!

We are doubly thrilled to announce that Sharon Bala has been long-listed twice for the 2017 Journey Prize for her short stories “Butter Tea at Starbucks” (first published in The New Quarterly) and “Reading Week” (first published in PRISM international)! Awarded through The Writer’s Trust of Canada, The McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize lauds an emerging Canadian writer for a short story originally published in a Canadian literary magazine. Previous winners of The Journey Prize include Yann Martel, Alissa York, Jessica Grant, Yasuko Thanh, Timothy Taylor and Miranda Hill. Sharon’s “Butter Tea at Starbucks” and “Reading Week” will appear in The Journey Prize Stories 29, along with the other nominees. The winner will be selected from the anthology’s stories and will receive $10,000 from the Trust.
Sharon’s highly anticipated debut novel, THE BOAT PEOPLE, is forthcoming from McClelland & Stewart Canada and Doubleday US in January 2018.
Congratulations to Sharon and the other long-listed nominees!

 

Deal News: Quintland by Shelley Wood

Shelley Wood‘s mesmerizing debut novel, QUINTLAND™ – a tour de force of imagination, taking readers inside the devastating true story of the Dionne quintuplets through fiction steeped in research. This is a coming-of-age novel bound up in one of the strangest true tales of the past century, to executive editor Lucia Macro at William Morrow, on an exclusive, for Winter 2018 (North America) by Stephanie Sinclair.

DEAL News: SCRATCH by Becky Blake

CBC Short Story Prize Winner Becky Blake‘s debut novel, SCRATCH, about a young thief and aspiring artist on the run from an assault charge in Toronto who attempts to start her life over on the streets of Barcelona, entering an underground world of pickpockets, squatters and graffiti artists. North American rights to Wolsak & Wynn’s Buckrider Books for Spring 2019 by Stephanie Sinclair of the Transatlantic Agency.

ANNA MAXYMIW’S THE LODGE SELLS AT AUCTION TO MCCLELLAND & STEWART!

Anna Maxymiw‘s THE LODGE, for readers of Eating Dirt by Charlotte Gill and Fire Season by Philip Connors, this extraordinary memoir offers a glimpse into the joy, fear, filth, and ferocity of working at a remote fishing lodge in the boreal forest.

McClelland & Stewart publisher Jared Bland has acquired Canadian English-language rights at auction. An excerpt from the forthcoming memoir won Silver in the Humour category at the National Magazine Awards, where the piece was also nominated in the Personal Journalism category. Maxymiw’s work has been published in the Globe and Mail, Hazlitt, The Walrus, The Malahat Review, and Maisonneuve. The Lodge is slated for publication in May 2019 with senior editor Jenny Bradshaw and publishing manager Kelly Joseph editing. The deal was arranged by Stephanie Sinclair at the Transatlantic Literary Agency.

Deal News: The High-Rise in Fort Fierce and Guile by Paul Carlucci

Danuta Gleed Award-winner Paul Carlucci‘s next two books- THE HIGH-RISE IN FORT FIERCE, a provocative linked collection about living in isolation and fear, and GUILE, his debut novel loosely based on 18th century voyageur Alexis St. Martin – to Bethany Gibson at Goose Lane Editions by Stephanie Sinclair of the Transatlantic Agency (Canada).

Deal News: The Honey Farm by Harriet Alida Lye

For fans of Darren Aronofsky’s Black Swan and readers of Kazuo Ishiguro’s haunting novel Never Let Me Go, comes Harriet Alida Lye‘s beautifully creepy debut, THE HONEY FARM– a psychological thriller about art, bees and love. When beekeeper Cynthia offers budding artists room and board in exchange for help on the farm; a romance begins between two of the workers. Creepy, inexplicable events, possibly orchestrated by the enigmatic woman in charge, start to unfold around them and they can no longer tell if Cynthia is protector or destroyer. US rights sold on a pre-empt to Katie Henderson Adams at Liveright (Canada English previously sold to Whitney Moran at Vagrant Press) for Summer 2018 by Stephanie Sinclair of the Transatlantic Agency. Film/TV handled by Kim Yau at Paradigm.