Welcome Frances Peck!

We’re delighted to be welcoming Frances Peck to the Transatlantic team today!

Frances is a Vancouver-based writer, teacher, and speaker about the finer points of language. She’s the author of the collection Peck’s English Pointers, a co-author of the popular HyperGrammar website, and an essayist and blogger whose work has appeared in The Editors’ Weekly, West Coast Editor, Language Update, and Geist. Frances wrote fiction and poetry until her early twenties, when she stopped (ironically) to become a professional writer. Now she’s rediscovering the magic of making things up. THE BROKEN PLACES is her first novel.
 
Frances is represented by Stephanie Sinclair.

Welcoming Alicia Elliott!

Join us in welcoming the amazing Alicia Elliott, who is represented by Samantha Haywood and Stephanie Sinclair! We are so pleased that she’s now part of the agency.

Alicia Elliott is a Tuscarora writer living in Brantford, Ontario with her husband and daughter. Her writing has been published by The Malahat Review, The Butter, Room, Grain, The New Quarterly, CBC, Globe and Mail, Vice, Maclean’s, Maisonneuve, Today’s Parent and Reader’s Digest. She’s currently Associate Nonfiction Editor at Little Fiction | Big Truths, and a consulting editor with The New Quarterly. Her essay, “A Mind Spread Out on the Ground” won a National Magazine Award. She will be the 2017-2018 Geoffrey and Margaret Andrew Fellow at UBC, working with their Creative Writing Department. Alicia is currently at work on a collection of essays entitled A MIND SPREAD OUT ON THE GROUND, which explores the wider connections between colonialism, race, mental health, poverty, art and parenthood through the lens of her own personal experiences.

The Transatlantic welcomes Scotiabank Giller Prize winner Will Ferguson to the agency as Samantha Haywood’s new client!

We are thrilled to welcome internationally bestselling author Will Ferguson with his new novel THE SHOE ON THE ROOF forthcoming from Simon & Schuster Canada in October. THE SHOE ON THE ROOF is a tour de force, a startling, funny, and heartbreaking story of a psychological experiment gone wrong. This is a novel that questions our definitions of sanity and madness, while exploring the magical reality that lies just beyond the world of scientific fact. For fans of John Irving, Anne Patchett and Michael Chabon THE SHOE ON THE ROOF follows in the tradition of Will Ferguson’s internationally bestselling debut novel Happiness TM.

Will Ferguson is the author of sixteen books. His most recent novel, 419, won the Scotiabank Giller Prize. He has won the Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour a record-tying three times and has been nominated for both the IMPAC Dublin Literary Award and a Commonwealth Writers’ Prize. He lives in Calgary. Visit him at WillFerguson.ca. For rights inquires contact: samantha@transatlanticagency.com

A hale and hearty new client welcome to voice artist, Gail Shalan!

Gail Shalan is a talented professional story-teller who loves narrating audiobooks from her professionally equipped home studio in New England.

In 2015, Gail was selected as one of Audible’s ACX University Up-and-Coming Narrators. She holds a BFA in Acting from Boston University and has trained with the London Academy of Music and Dramatic Arts, the Bristol Old Vic Theatre School, Dame Judi Dench’s Mountview Academy, Williamstown Theatre Festival, and Shakespeare and Company.

In addition to narrating audiobooks, Gail also adores acting Shakespeare and telling new stories—from local Boston premieres, to touring premieres at the NYC & Edinburgh Fringe Festivals.

Gail is currently at work narrating the award winning The Lady & The Lionheart for Blackstone Audio; Gail’s second title with Transatlantic author, Joanne Bischof.

Gail is represented by Sandra Bishop.

Welcome to Simona Ceccarelli

A big welcome to Simona Ceccarelli who has just joined the team at Transatlantic!

Simona was born in Italy and, after an exceptionally nerdy childhood, entered adult life with a passion for both art and science, a large library (which has been growing without control ever since) and the idea that life should rather be wide than long – better still if generous in both dimensions. She went on to study science, move to Germany and then to Switzerland, work as a research scientist, and travel the world.

Art eventually called her back to pursue “the road not taken.” Since 2011 she has done illustration and animation projects for magazines, advertising, corporate marketing and scientific education and has been Creative Director in Corporate Communications.

Simona earned a MFA in Visual Development from the Academy of Art University, San Francisco. She currently lives in Basel, Switzerland with her husband and two children and enjoys the view of the river Rhein while painting.

Simona is represented by Andrea Cascardi.

Warm Welcome to Atz Kilcher, Sr.

Photo Credit – Scott Dickerson

Atz Kilcher grew up the eldest son of Yule and Ruth Kilcher, who emigrated Switzerland in the late 1930’s and settled in the Kenai Peninsula of Alaska, joining some of Homer’s earliest pioneer homesteaders.

Today, Atz performs music around the country, occasionally alongside his singer-songwriter daughter, Jewel. When he’s not singing or writing, he spends his time cross-country skiing with his wife Bonnie; supporting the endeavors of his three grown sons; weaving root baskets; riding herd at the head of Kachemak Bay; hunting; yodeling; and appearing regularly on Discovery Channel’s popular show, ALASKA: The Last Frontier.

Atz Kilcher is represented by Sandra Bishop

For more information about Atz, see atzkilcher.com   For a look at the popular Discovery program about his homesteading family, see Alaska: The Last Frontier