Happy British Book Birthday to FOE by Iain Reid

FOE by Iain Reid, the acclaimed author of I’m Thinking of Ending Things, was published January 24th by Scribner UK and has already garnered glowing praise:

‘I couldn’t put it down.  It infected my dreams. A creepy and brilliant book.’      –  Zoe Whittall, author of The Best Kind of People

‘Foe reads like a house on fire, and is almost impossible not to finish in one sitting…an otherworldly hothouse of introversion and fantasy.’  – The Toronto Star

‘Not a step is misplaced over the course of a three-act structure that sustains this shrill note of unease all the way through to its jarring reveal.’ – The Irish Independent

Foe tells the story of long-married couple Junior and Henrietta, who live a quiet, solitary life on their farm, where they work at the local feed mill and raise chickens. Their lives are simple, straightforward, uncomplicated until the day a stranger arrives at their door with alarming news: Junior has been chosen to take an extraordinary journey, a journey across both time and distance, while Hen remains at home. Junior will be gone for years. But Hen won’t be left alone.

As the time for his departure draws nearer, Junior finds himself questioning everything about his life – even whether it’s really his life at all.

An eerily entrancing page-turner, Foe churns with unease and suspense from the first words to its shocking finale. Perfect for fans of Humans, Westworld and Black MirrorFoe is a book you will never forget.

Iain Reid is the author of two critically acclaimed, award-winning books of nonfiction. His internationally bestselling debut novel, I’m Thinking of Ending Things, has been published in more than twenty countries. Oscar-winner Charlie Kaufman is writing and directing a film based on the novel, which Reid will co-produce. His second novel, Foe, was an instant bestseller and feature film rights have been acquired by Anonymous Content, with Reid set to executive produce.