Happy Book Birthday BE MY LOVE by Kit Pearson!

For as long as she can remember, Maisie has spent her summers on Kingfisher Island. She and her beloved cousin Una run wild, and Maisie feels the warm embrace of her big, extended family.

This summer Maisie needs that escape more than ever. But now everything on Kingfisher has changed: Una has returned from her mainland school a sophisticated young woman too mature for childish games, and even worse, she has an all-consuming infatuation with David Meyer, both an old friend and an older man. Soon Maisie finds herself playing second fiddle—jealous of Una and David’s closeness, and unsure of what those feelings mean.

When Maisie’s greatest attempt to maintain the special magic of her friendship with Una goes up in smoke, it seems as though all is lost. But with an enormous revelation, and a heartrending intervention, Maisie may finally discover the strength she needs to find the same peace that the island has brought her within herself.

BE MY LOVE was published February 12, 2019 by HarperCollins Canada and has received great acclaim, including being included on the CBC Book’s list of Books to Read for Valentine’s Day, as well as the following blurbs and reviews:
“[Pearson] has a wonderful gift for depicting the inner lives of her teenage characters in a thoughtful and compassionate manner, while never shying away from the hard questions.” – Quill & Quire, starred review

“This is Kit Pearson at the top of her game, leading us heart, line and sinker into a touching story of self-discovery.” – Sarah Ellis, award-winning author of Outside In and Dodger Boy

“Compelling, moving and utterly believable. . . . This is the book I needed when I was twelve. I am so glad it is finally here for all the kids who need it now.” – Robin Stevenson, Stonewall Honor Award-winning author of Pride

Kit Pearson is one of Canada’s most beloved children’s authors. Her award-winning books include A Handful of Time, which has sold more than 250,000 copies since it was published in 1987; the Guests of War trilogy; The Daring Game; Awake and Dreaming, winner of the Governor General’s Award; The Whole Truth, winner of the CLA Book of the Year for Children Award; And Nothing but the Truth; and A Day of Signs and Wonders, finalist for the TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award. She is a recipient of the Vicky Metcalf Award for her body of work and the Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence. In 2018, Kit was appointed a member of the Order of Canada. She lives in Victoria, BC.

Deal News: A HISTORY OF MY BRIEF BODY by Billy-Ray Belcourt

Penguin Canada editor David Ross has commissioned Billy-Ray Belcourt, the youngest ever winner of the Griffin Poetry Prize, for a book of essays. Drawing on intimate personal experience, A HISTORY OF MY BRIEF BODY is a meditation on grief, joy, love, and sex at the intersection of indigeneity and queerness. It will be published under the Hamish Hamilton imprint and is currently scheduled for a May 2020 release.

Billy-Ray Belcourt is from the Driftpile Cree Nation. He is a Ph.D. student and 2018 Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation Scholar in the Department of English & Film Studies at the University of Alberta. His first book, This Wound is a World, won the 2018 Canadian Griffin Poetry Prize, the 2018 Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize, and a 2018 Indigenous Voices Award. It was also named the best “Canadian poetry” collection of 2017 by CBC Books.

“Billy-Ray Belcourt is one of the most exciting new voices in Canadian literature,” says Ross. “His writing is simultaneously devastating and beautiful, and I’m humbled to be working with him as he experiments with form and genre. I can’t wait for the power of his words to reach whole new audiences.”

The deal was arranged by Stephanie Sinclair.

Deal News: DISFIGURED by Amanda Leduc

World rights to Amanda Leduc’s “DISFIGURED: On Fairy Tales, Disability, and Making Space for Oneself in the World”, which looks at several prominent, recognizable fairy tale traditions and archetypes and examines how these ideas have played out in history and recent popular culture, and draws on Amanda’s own experience as a physically disabled woman with cerebral palsy, to compare and contrast the treatment of disability in these stories, have been sold to Alana Wilcox at Coach House Books in a deal by Samantha Haywood at Transatlantic Agency for publication in Feb 2020.

Happy Book Birthday to THICKER THAN WATER by Natasha Deen!

Happy Book Birthday to THICKER THAN WATER by Natasha Deen, out January 29, 2019 from Orca Book Publishers!

“Readers will be enticed by the edgy theme and compelling story…multidimensional characters and briskly paced plot.”
School Library Journal

“Readers will definitely keep turning the pages…For reluctant readers with a taste for crime, this title should scratch the itch.”
— Kirkus

THICKER THAN WATER follows Zack Bernard, who has a thing for crime shows, especially the forensic-investigation kind. So when his friend Ella goes missing, Zack can’t help piecing together what he thinks is concrete evidence that could lead to her whereabouts. The problem is, it’s all pointing toward his dad. He knows his dad is lying about not having seen Ella because Zack saw them together at the mall the day she disappeared. What he doesn’t know is why. With the help of his friend Ayo, Zack tries to solve the mystery himself to avoid having to make the terrible choice between losing someone close to him and betraying his family.

Award-winning author Natasha Deen loves stories: exciting ones, scary ones and, especially, funny ones! As a kid of two countries (Guyana and Canada), she feels especially lucky because she gets a double dose of stories. When she’s not working on her books or visiting schools, she spends a lot of time trying to convince her dogs and cats that she’s the boss of the house.

HOMES is a Canada Reads 2019 Contender

We’re proud to announce that HOMES (Freehand Books 2018) by Abu Bakr al Rabeeah with Winnie Yeung will be a contender on Canada Reads 2019! HOMES will be championed by Chuck Comeau of Simple Plan. This year’s list is centered on the theme One Book to Move You. “Spanning separations and reconciliations, wars of the past and present, personal histories and imagined futures, these titles will disturb and disrupt, inspire and incite, and move readers to feel, to think and to act.”

HOMES is a “heartbreaking, hopeful and urgently necessary book that provides a window into understanding Syria,” and was a finalist for the 2018 Governor General’s Literary Award for nonfiction. Abu Bakr al Rabeeah is a high school student in Edmonton, Alta and his book is a memoir of al Rabeeah’s experiences as a young boy in Syria in the midst of civil war. He and his family moved to Canada in 2014.

For more information on Canada Reads 2019 and to see the full list of contenders and their champions, please follow this link:

https://www.cbc.ca/books/meet-the-canada-reads-2019-contenders-1.4997936

Happy British Book Birthday to FOE by Iain Reid

FOE by Iain Reid, the acclaimed author of I’m Thinking of Ending Things, was published January 24th by Scribner UK and has already garnered glowing praise:

‘I couldn’t put it down.  It infected my dreams. A creepy and brilliant book.’      –  Zoe Whittall, author of The Best Kind of People

‘Foe reads like a house on fire, and is almost impossible not to finish in one sitting…an otherworldly hothouse of introversion and fantasy.’  – The Toronto Star

‘Not a step is misplaced over the course of a three-act structure that sustains this shrill note of unease all the way through to its jarring reveal.’ – The Irish Independent

Foe tells the story of long-married couple Junior and Henrietta, who live a quiet, solitary life on their farm, where they work at the local feed mill and raise chickens. Their lives are simple, straightforward, uncomplicated until the day a stranger arrives at their door with alarming news: Junior has been chosen to take an extraordinary journey, a journey across both time and distance, while Hen remains at home. Junior will be gone for years. But Hen won’t be left alone.

As the time for his departure draws nearer, Junior finds himself questioning everything about his life – even whether it’s really his life at all.

An eerily entrancing page-turner, Foe churns with unease and suspense from the first words to its shocking finale. Perfect for fans of Humans, Westworld and Black MirrorFoe is a book you will never forget.

Iain Reid is the author of two critically acclaimed, award-winning books of nonfiction. His internationally bestselling debut novel, I’m Thinking of Ending Things, has been published in more than twenty countries. Oscar-winner Charlie Kaufman is writing and directing a film based on the novel, which Reid will co-produce. His second novel, Foe, was an instant bestseller and feature film rights have been acquired by Anonymous Content, with Reid set to executive produce.

Deal Announcement: THE LAST RESORT by Marissa Stapley

ANZ rights to Bestselling author Marissa Stapley‘s new novel THE LAST RESORT to Allen & Unwin. For fans of Big Little Lies – two couples arrive at The Harmony Retreat for couples therapy on the shores of Tulum Mexico where they hope to fix their marriages with the help of celebrity therapists Miles and Grace Markell. But all is not as it seems, and when Miles mysteriously disappears, the complex truth behind the façade of love, marriage and professional success begins to unravel, leaving room for romance to blossom in unexpected ways. Previous rights sold to Simon & Schuster Canada, Graydon House U.S. and Rowholt Germany. Deal arranged by Stephanie Sinclair on behalf of Samantha Haywood.

Deal Announcement: HUNGOVER by Shaughnessy Bishop-Stall

Russian rights to Shaughnessy Bishop-Stall’s HUNGOVER: The Morning After and One Man’s Quest for the Cure – a journalist’s journey to discover the ultimate hangover cure, drinking and writing his way through the world’s favorite beverages and their vengeful aftermath- to Bookmate Limited. Previous rights sold: HarperCollins; Penguin Books US; Dumont Verlag, Germany; Blink Publishing, UK; Cassiopeia Publisher, Korea; Bukowy Las, Poland. All deals by Stephanie Sinclair on behalf of Samantha Haywood.

Deal Announcement: Dept of Mind-Blowing Theories by Tom Gauld

German rights to DEPT OF MIND-BLOWING THEORIES, the highly new anticipated series by Tom Gauld to Edition Moderne; Spanish rights to Salamandra Graphic; Russian rights to Guprus; Canadian French rights to Alto and World French Ex: Canada to Editions 2024; Italian rights to Oscar Ink, Mondadori; all deals by Stephanie Sinclair and Samantha Haywood on behalf of Drawn & Quarterly.

DEAL NEWS: THE JUSTICE PROJECT by Michael Betcherman

 World rights for THE JUSTICE PROJECT, a new YA mystery by Michael Betcherman, the author of BREAKAWAY and FACE-OFF, to Ruth Linka at Orca Books for publication Fall 2019, by Amy Tompkins at Transatlantic Literary Agency. THE JUSTICE PROJECT is about an 18 year-old boy who despairs for the future after an accident ends his promising football career and leaves him with a permanent limp. He gets a summer job working with an organization that defends the wrongly convicted where he investigates the case of a man he is convinced is innocent, and in the process realizes that there is light at the end of the tunnel.