DEAL NEWS: EYES IN THE SKY BY TRINA MOYLES

Canadian English-language rights for Trina Moyles’ EYES IN THE SKY: LOVE, LOSS, SOLITUDE, AND SEARCHING FOR WILDFIRES IN THE BOREAL FOREST to Amanda Betts at Random House Canada for publication in Spring 2021. Alone at her fly-in station, with her beloved dog, Holly, Moyles endures the rigours of daily survival and extreme isolation, contemplating the love she had recently lost, loneliness, the terror and beauty of nature, and the advancing threat of climate change and ecological crisis. Part memoir, part adventure story, and part environmental cris de coeur, fans of Annie Dillard, Cheryl Strayed, and Rebecca Solnit, will love EYES IN THE SKY. The deal was arranged by Senior Literary Agent Marilyn Biderman.

Welcoming Amy Spurway

We’re thrilled to extend a warm Transatlantic welcome to Amy Spurway, whose debut novel CROW was published by Goose Lane Editions this spring, and has already attracted loads of enthusiastic critical attention, as well as some spectacular endorsements.

“This darkly funny novel’s language is outrageous and irreverent. It spits and crackles like a barn on fire…Spurway’s writing has the deftness of someone juggling hot coals without getting burned.” —Cecily Ross, The Literary Review of Canada

“Amy Spurway catches perfectly the enigma that is Cape Breton Island. Her cast of divine lunatics, pogey-scammers, gossips, and big-hearted rebels, revealed through Spurway’s lively and lucid prose, proves that Cape Breton is still the thought control centre of Canada.” —Wayne Grady, author of Up from Freedom and Emancipation Day

“Crow delighted me and amazed me the further I read, with its freshness, its daring, its refusal to conform (and the projectile vomiting).” —Kerry Clare, Pickle Me This

“Crow is ribald, blunt, accessible, and immediately likeable, tumours and all…You know how people say, ‘You’ll laugh, you’ll cry’? You will. And you will.” —Quill & Quire

Welcome, Amy! We can’t wait for your next book! Amy is represented by Senior Literary Agent Marilyn Biderman.

PROUD TO WELCOME KAI CHENG THOM TO TRANSATLANTIC!

We are very proud to announce new Transatlantic client, Kai Cheng Thom!

Kai Cheng Thom is a writer, performer, lasagna lover, and wicked witch. Her work includes From the Stars in the Sky to the Fish in the Sea, a children’s picture book;  Fierce Femmes and Notorious Liars: A Dangerous Trans Girl’s Confabulous Memoir, a novel; a place called No Homeland, a book of poetry; and I Hope We Chose Love: A Trans Girl’s Notes from the End of the World, a forthcoming collection of essays and poetry.

Kai is a rising star whose writing continues to garner accolades. She won the 2017 Dayne Ogilvie Prize for Emerging LGBTQ Writers and was a finalist for a Lambda Literary Prize both in 2016 for Transgender Fiction and in 2017 for Transgender Poetry. In 2019, actress Emma Watson chose Fierce Femmes as the March/April pick for the international feminist book club, Our Shared Shelf.

Kai performs at festivals, theatres, and poetry slams and has appeared at the Blue Metropolis Festival, the Canadian Festival of Spoken Words, and Toronto’s Buddies in Bad Times Theatre where she performed her solo theatre show, “Swallowing Chains”.

Most recently, Kai added “advice columnist” to her repertoire with her new column for Xtra, “Ask Kai: Advice for the Apocalypse”. Kai Cheng Thom lives in Toronto.

Kai is jointly represented by Léonicka Valcius and Marilyn Biderman.

DEAL NEWS: Film/TV rights to The Wake by Linden MacIntyre

Linden MacIntyreFilm and television rights for Scotiabank Giller Prize-winner Linden MacIntyre’s forthcoming nonfiction, The Wake: The Deadly Legacy of a Newfoundland Tsunami (August 2019, HarperCollins Canada) have been granted to John Walker Productions. John Walker is one of Canada’s most prolific and respected documentary filmmakers. His films have appeared at major international film festivals in Toronto, Vancouver, New York, Los Angeles, Berlin, London and Tokyo.

The Wake recounts the harrowing tale of the giant tsunami that struck Newfoundland’s Burin Peninsula in 1929. The most destructive earthquake-related event in Newfoundland’s history, the disaster killed twenty-eight people and left hundreds more homeless or destitute. It forever changed the lives of the inhabitants of the fishing outports along that coast, and marked the beginning of its commercial mining endeavours. The deal was negotiated by Shaun Bradley of the Transatlantic Agency.

Happy US Paperback Book Birthday to FOE by Iain Reid

Happy US paperback book birthday to FOE by Iain Reid, out now from Gallery Books! FOE has also been sold in Canada, the UK, Germany, Brazil, Italy, Turkey, the Czech Republic, France, and Portugal, and has been optioned for Film/TV by Anonymous Content.
“Foe is a tale of implacably mounting peril that feels all the more terrifying for being told in such a quiet, elegantly stripped-down voice. Iain Reid knows how to do ‘ominous’ as well as anyone I’ve ever read.”
—Scott Smith, author of The Ruins and A Simple Plan

A taut, psychological mind-bender from the bestselling author of I’m Thinking of Ending Things. In Iain Reid’s second haunting, philosophical puzzle of a novel, set in the near-future, Junior and Henrietta live a comfortable, solitary life on their farm, far from the city lights, but in close quarters with each other. One day, a stranger from the city arrives with alarming news: Junior has been randomly selected to travel far away from the farm…very far away. The most unusual part? Arrangements have already been made so that when he leaves, Henrietta won’t have a chance to miss him, because she won’t be left alone—not even for a moment. Henrietta will have company. Familiar company.

Told in Reid’s sharp and evocative style, Foe examines the nature of domestic relationships, self-determination, and what it means to be (or not to be) a person. An eerily entrancing page-turner, it churns with unease and suspense from the first words to its shocking finale.

Welcoming Jessica Foster to Transatlantic

Welcome to welcome Jessica Foster to Transatlantic!

Jessica is writing her debut – a delicious YA romcom. She is a middle school teacher from Michigan with a passion for young adult fiction, especially escapist literature and all things romance. She holds a master’s degree in literacy comprehension and leadership from Michigan State; she is married to the love of her life and has two little boys. Jessica has been writing her debut novel in secret – so this announcement is going to be a big surprise to her family and friends! Hello to all of you! Jessica is proudly represented by Senior Agent and Partner Fiona Kenshole.

Happy Book Birthday to MOLES by Rachel Poliquin!

Happy book birthday to MOLES by Rachel Poliquin and illustrated by Nicholas John Firth, out now from HMH Books for Young Readers!
“Exuberant….Readers will never again regard these ‘bionic burrowers’ as pests–or, at least, not as ordinary ones.”–Booklist, STARRED review

“Following series opener Beavers (2018), another field guide and another nuanced look at an underappreciated species…. [C]ombining a bit of snark with a lot of information…. Pick up a copy.” —Kirkus

Funny and fact-filled, MOLES is another installment in the SUPERPOWER FIELD GUIDES series by author Rachel Poliquin, featuring full-color illustrations by Nicholas John Frith that will engage readers with witty narration and fun visual elements, inspiring readers to dig deep and see the world, both above and below ground, with new eyes.

Meet Rosalie, a common mole. The first thing you need to know about Rosalie is that she is shaped like a potato. Not a new potato, all cute and round, but a plain old lumpy potato. She may be small. She may be spongy. But never underestimate a mole.

I know what you’re thinking: moles are just squinty-eyed beasts that wreck your lawn. You’re right! Those squinty eyes and mounds of dirt are proof that moles have superpowers. There is absolutely nothing common about the common mole.

Rachel Poliquin is a writer engaged in all things orderly and disorderly in the natural world. With a cross-disciplinary background in visual arts, cultural history and natural history, she holds a Ph.D. in Comparative Literature from the University of British Columbia and a Post-Doctoral Degree in History from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Poliquin is the author of the Superpower Field Guide series, and has also written for Science Friday, The Believer Magazine, and The New York Times.

BIG IDEAS FOR LITTLE PHILOSOPHERS BOARD BOOK SERIES SELLS AT AUCTION TO PUTNAM CHILDREN’S

Susan Kochan at Penguin Putnam Children’s won the World rights to an original board book series concepted and co-written by Duane Armitage, a professor of philosophy at the University of Scranton, and award-winning children’s author and educator, Maureen Doyle McQuerry.

Each of four titles, planned to release simultaneously in summer 2020 will include: Truth with Socrates; Imagination with René Descartes; Happiness with Aristotle; and Equality with Simone de Beauvoir.

This fun series will help adults open up conversations with young children about what it means to be wise, thoughtful human beings, and to present the notion, even early on, that embracing contemplation can help them (and us all) engage meaningfully with the world.

2018 SCWBI NY Portfolio Showcase winner, Robin Rosenthal will be illustrating. Sandra Bishop brokered the deal for the authors.

For more detail, email sandra@transatlanticagency.com.

DEAL NEWS: THE DEAD CELEBRITIES CLUB and THE WIVES OF BATH by Susan Swan

Italian rights to Susan Swan’s newest novel, THE DEAD CELEBRITIES CLUB, a timely and satirical novel featuring the hedge fund whale, Dale Paul, a witty, self-absorbed rogue and raconteur for fans of The Wolf of Wall Street and The Sellout by Paul Beatty, and THE WIVES OF BATH, a story that penetrates the world of a girls’ boarding school and tells a story – at once shocking and wickedly funny – that encompasses rebellion and murder, and stunningly evokes the pain, confusion, and humour of female adolescence and sexual coming-of-age, sold to SEM by Erica Berla of Berla & Griffini Agency on behalf of Samantha Haywood. It was published with Cormorant Books in spring 2019, world ex: Canada and Italian rights now available.

A WOLF CALLED WANDER by Rosanne Parry Spends a Second Week on the NYT Bestseller List

A second week in the NYT bestsellers list for Rosanne Parry’s heart-warming middle grade novel A WOLF CALLED WANDER (Greenwillow), about the journey across America of a young wolf cub looking for a home. Congratulations to Rosanne and her editors Chloe Sackur of Andersen Press UK and Virginia Duncan of Greenwillow, US, and her very joyful agent Fiona Kenshole.