DEAL NEWS: EYES IN THE SKY BY TRINA MOYLES

Canadian English-language rights for Trina Moyles’ EYES IN THE SKY: LOVE, LOSS, SOLITUDE, AND SEARCHING FOR WILDFIRES IN THE BOREAL FOREST to Amanda Betts at Random House Canada for publication in Spring 2021. Alone at her fly-in station, with her beloved dog, Holly, Moyles endures the rigours of daily survival and extreme isolation, contemplating the love she had recently lost, loneliness, the terror and beauty of nature, and the advancing threat of climate change and ecological crisis. Part memoir, part adventure story, and part environmental cris de coeur, fans of Annie Dillard, Cheryl Strayed, and Rebecca Solnit, will love EYES IN THE SKY. The deal was arranged by Senior Literary Agent Marilyn Biderman.

DEAL NEWS: Film/TV rights to The Wake by Linden MacIntyre

Linden MacIntyreFilm and television rights for Scotiabank Giller Prize-winner Linden MacIntyre’s forthcoming nonfiction, The Wake: The Deadly Legacy of a Newfoundland Tsunami (August 2019, HarperCollins Canada) have been granted to John Walker Productions. John Walker is one of Canada’s most prolific and respected documentary filmmakers. His films have appeared at major international film festivals in Toronto, Vancouver, New York, Los Angeles, Berlin, London and Tokyo.

The Wake recounts the harrowing tale of the giant tsunami that struck Newfoundland’s Burin Peninsula in 1929. The most destructive earthquake-related event in Newfoundland’s history, the disaster killed twenty-eight people and left hundreds more homeless or destitute. It forever changed the lives of the inhabitants of the fishing outports along that coast, and marked the beginning of its commercial mining endeavours. The deal was negotiated by Shaun Bradley of the Transatlantic Agency.

BIG IDEAS FOR LITTLE PHILOSOPHERS BOARD BOOK SERIES SELLS AT AUCTION TO PUTNAM CHILDREN’S

Susan Kochan at Penguin Putnam Children’s won the World rights to an original board book series concepted and co-written by Duane Armitage, a professor of philosophy at the University of Scranton, and award-winning children’s author and educator, Maureen Doyle McQuerry.

Each of four titles, planned to release simultaneously in summer 2020 will include: Truth with Socrates; Imagination with René Descartes; Happiness with Aristotle; and Equality with Simone de Beauvoir.

This fun series will help adults open up conversations with young children about what it means to be wise, thoughtful human beings, and to present the notion, even early on, that embracing contemplation can help them (and us all) engage meaningfully with the world.

2018 SCWBI NY Portfolio Showcase winner, Robin Rosenthal will be illustrating. Sandra Bishop brokered the deal for the authors.

For more detail, email sandra@transatlanticagency.com.

DEAL NEWS: THE DEAD CELEBRITIES CLUB and THE WIVES OF BATH by Susan Swan

Italian rights to Susan Swan’s newest novel, THE DEAD CELEBRITIES CLUB, a timely and satirical novel featuring the hedge fund whale, Dale Paul, a witty, self-absorbed rogue and raconteur for fans of The Wolf of Wall Street and The Sellout by Paul Beatty, and THE WIVES OF BATH, a story that penetrates the world of a girls’ boarding school and tells a story – at once shocking and wickedly funny – that encompasses rebellion and murder, and stunningly evokes the pain, confusion, and humour of female adolescence and sexual coming-of-age, sold to SEM by Erica Berla of Berla & Griffini Agency on behalf of Samantha Haywood. It was published with Cormorant Books in spring 2019, world ex: Canada and Italian rights now available.

DEAL NEWS: BROKEN CRAYONS STILL COLOR by Eric Walters

World rights to BROKEN CRAYONS STILL COLOR by multi-award-winning author Eric Walters to Andrew Wooldridge at Orca Book Publishers, by Amy Tompkins at the Transatlantic Agency. Thirteen-year-old Robbie is growing up in poverty, all but ignored by his single father. His world is cracked open by Harmony, the new kid in school who has been placed in a local foster home.

Deal News: NOTHING THE SAME, EVERYTHING HAUNTED by Gary Barwin

Credit: George Qua-Enoo

North American English-language rights for Gary Barwin’s novel, NOTHING THE SAME, EVERYTHING HAUNTED, to Anne Collins at Random House Canada for publication in Spring 2021. This extraordinary work is a cross-pollination between cowboy fiction and Holocaust literature, featuring Motl, a middle-aged Lithuanian Jew, who imagines he’s in a Western novel as a way of surviving the displacement and genocide of WWII.  Barwin’s debut work, Yiddish for Pirates (Random House Canada), was the winner of the 2017 Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour, the Canadian Jewish Literary Award, and the Hamilton Literary Award,  and a finalist for both the Scotiabank Giller Prize and the Governor General’s Award for Fiction. The deal was arranged by Shaun Bradley of the Transatlantic Agency.