Deal Announcement: HUNGOVER by Shaughnessy Bishop-Stall

Russian rights to Shaughnessy Bishop-Stall’s HUNGOVER: The Morning After and One Man’s Quest for the Cure – a journalist’s journey to discover the ultimate hangover cure, drinking and writing his way through the world’s favorite beverages and their vengeful aftermath- to Bookmate Limited. Previous rights sold: HarperCollins; Penguin Books US; Dumont Verlag, Germany; Blink Publishing, UK; Cassiopeia Publisher, Korea; Bukowy Las, Poland. All deals by Stephanie Sinclair on behalf of Samantha Haywood.

Deal Announcement: Dept of Mind-Blowing Theories by Tom Gauld

German rights to DEPT OF MIND-BLOWING THEORIES, the highly new anticipated series by Tom Gauld to Edition Moderne; Spanish rights to Salamandra Graphic; Russian rights to Guprus; Canadian French rights to Alto and World French Ex: Canada to Editions 2024; Italian rights to Oscar Ink, Mondadori; all deals by Stephanie Sinclair and Samantha Haywood on behalf of Drawn & Quarterly.

DEAL NEWS: THE JUSTICE PROJECT by Michael Betcherman

 World rights for THE JUSTICE PROJECT, a new YA mystery by Michael Betcherman, the author of BREAKAWAY and FACE-OFF, to Ruth Linka at Orca Books for publication Fall 2019, by Amy Tompkins at Transatlantic Literary Agency. THE JUSTICE PROJECT is about an 18 year-old boy who despairs for the future after an accident ends his promising football career and leaves him with a permanent limp. He gets a summer job working with an organization that defends the wrongly convicted where he investigates the case of a man he is convinced is innocent, and in the process realizes that there is light at the end of the tunnel.

DEAL NEWS: EMMA’S PET by Ted Staunton

World rights to EMMA’S PET, written by Ted Staunton (author of WHAT BLOWS UP in the Almost Epic Squad Series) and illustrated by Ruth Ohi, were sold to Anne Shone at Scholastic Canada by Amy Tompkins on behalf of the author. EMMA’S PET will be about a girl who loses her favorite stuffed animal “pet” and auditions several replacements and will be published in 2020.

Deal News: My Year of Living Spiritually by Anne Bokma

Anna Comfort O’Keeffe, managing editor at Douglas & McIntyre, has acquired English rights in Canada and the United States to Anne Bokma’s debut nonfiction book, My Year of Living Spiritually: One Woman’s Secular Search for a More Soulful Life.

Anne Bokma is an award-winning writer and editor from Hamilton, Ontario who has been honoured with more than two dozen journalism awards throughout her 30-year career. A long-time contributor to the United Church Observer, the national magazine of  Canada’s largest Protestant denomination, Anne has been the monthly “Spiritual But Secular” columnist (http://annebokma.com/) for the past four years, reporting on the habits of the growing demographic known as the Spiritual-But-Not Religious (SBNR).

My Year of Living Spiritually is based on her blog of the same name, which appeared biweekly in the Observer in 2017. It is scheduled for publication in fall 2019.

Anne Bokma is represented by Amy Tompkins.

DEAL NEWS: THE DYNAMITE KID BY TYLER ENFIELD

Bethany Gibson, fiction editor at Goose Lane Editions, has acquired English Canada and World French rights for Tyler Enfield’s dazzling sophomore novel, The Dynamite Kid.

Enfield is an Edmonton-based writer and photographer. He is the author of Madder Carmine (Great Plains Publications, 2015), which won the 2016 High Plains Book Award, and was a finalist for the Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Prize.

The Dynamite Kid is an offbeat, slightly magical and entirely original retelling of Aladdin as an American western – a rich combination of classic love story, a quest novel, and a tribute to boyhood enthusiasm.  While not as esoteric as Gary Barwin’s Yiddish for Pirates, it portrays an equally unique and magical landscape.

Tyler Enfield is represented by Shaun Bradley.

DEAL NEWS x 2: Shani Mootoo’s CEREUS BLOOMS AT NIGHT and POLAR VORTEX

Double the deal news for author Shani Mootoo!

Film/TV rights to Shani Mootoo’s haunting debut CEREUS BLOOMS AT NIGHT, now a contemporary classic and past finalist for the Giller Prize, the Chapters/Books in Canada First Novel Award, and the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize, an exquisite cross-generational history filled with thrilling passion and alluring mystery, set in the fictional Caribbean town of Paradise, and unveils the mystery surrounding Mala Ramchandin, an aging, notoriously supposedly crazy woman suspected of murdering her father, optioned by Aaron Barnett at Bitter Boy Productions in a deal by Samantha Haywood.

Canadian English rights to one of Canada’s most widely acclaimed literary fiction authors, Shani Mootoo’s POLAR VORTEX, a seductive and tension-filled new novel about a lesbian couple receiving an unexpected visit from an old male friend that throws questions of true intentions into the mix of their previously monogamous commitment, told with a Mrs. Dalloway stream-of-consciousness narration, for readers of Herman Koch and Rachel Cusk, sold to Jay and Hazel Millar at Book*hug Press for publication in early 2020 in a deal by Samantha Haywood.

DEAL NEWS: ADVENTURES IN SOLITUDE II by Grant Lawrence

World rights to Grant Lawrence‘s ADVENTURES IN SOLITUDE II, a follow up to the perennial bestseller ADVENTURES IN SOLITUDE, interweaving the fascinating history of the Desolation Sound, B.C. area with his own experiences and further exciting anecdotes featuring the colourful characters of the area, including the inimitable Cougar Lady, the phantom-like Spaghetti Bandit, and the doomed Mack the Knife. As well, Lawrence explores the generational shift of becoming a father and dragging his own young family to the cabin, sold to Anna Comfort O’Keeffe at Harbour Publishing in a deal by Samantha Haywood.

DEAL NEWS: Jason McBride’s KATHY ACKER

World rights to Jason McBride‘s biography on leading post-modern provocateur Kathy Acker, KATHY ACKER: Her Revolutionary Life and Work, drawing on unprecedented access to her personal papers, manuscripts and letters, as well as extensive, exclusive interviews with Acker’s family, friends, lovers and rivals, and chronicling a life of uncommon drama and cultural excitement, sold to Ira Silverberg at Simon & Schuster in a deal by Samantha Haywood.