Karleen Bradford

Karleen Bradford has been delighting children of all ages with her writing for almost 20 years. She grew up in Argentina and travelled the world with her husband, James, a Canadian Diplomat. She has taught creative writing throughout the world and has participated in the Writers in Electronic Residence Program in schools across Canada. Karleen is honoured to be the 2006 recipient of the Allan Sangster Award, which is awarded for outstanding dedication and service to the Canadian Authors Association.

More information about Karleen Bradford can be found on her website: karleenbradford.com


Emmy Said No (www.StorySomething.com)
Cat-Astrophe (www.StorySomething.com)


The Nine Days Queen (Scholastic 2006, Scholastic-TAB Publications 1996, Uitgeverij C. de Vries-Brouwers B.V.B.A., Antwerp, Netherlands 1989, Sugu Shoboh, Japan 1991)
Ghost Wolf (Orca Fall, 2005)
A Different Kind of Champion (Scholastic Canada, 1998)
Thirteenth Child (HarperCollins Canada, 1994) Finalist for the Blue Heron Award, 1994
Wrong Again, Robbie (Scholastic – TAB Publications, 1993. Originally A Year for Growing, 1977. Gyldendalska Boghandel Denmark, 1988, Crossroads Publications (electronic), 2001)
The Other Elizabeth (Gage Educational Publishing Canada, 1982, Macmillan Australia, 1990) The CommCept Canadian KidLit Contest Best Children’s Novel of the Year 1979
Windward Island (Kids Can Press Canada, 1989) The Max and Greta Ebel Award 1990
Runner-up for the City of Dartmouth Award 1990
Shortlisted for the Manitoba Young Readers’ Choice Award, 1992
Haunting at Cliff House (Scholastic-TAB Publications, 1985, Scholastic USA, 1985. Utigitt av Tuppen og Lillemor-klibben, Norway, 1987)
The Stone in the Meadow (Gage Educational Publishing Canada, 1984)
I Wish There Were Unicorns (Gage Educational Publishing Canada, 1983)

Series Fiction

Taun Tales
Dragonmaster A thrilling return to the land of Taun.
(Harpercollins Canada, 2009)
Whisperings of Magic (HarperCollins Canada, 2001) Nominated for the Ontario Red Maple Award 2002
Dragonfire (HarperCollins Canada, 1997) Shortlisted for the Manitoba Young Readers’ Choice Award, 2000
Shortlisted for the Hackmatack Award in Nova Scotia 2001 “…One of the most thrilling encounters with the shadow in children’s literature.”
– Maclean’s Magazine”…an intelligent and entertaining fantasy for young readers.”
– Quill & Quire
The Scarlet Cross (HarperCollins Canada, 2006) Nominee, 2008-2009 Stellar Teen Book Award,
BC Teen Readers Choice
Angeline (and Study Guide) (HarperCollins Canada, 2004 and 2005) Nominated, 2006/2007 Stellar Book Award,
B.C. Teen Readers’ Choice
Finalist, 2005 Geoffrey Bilson Award
for Historical Fiction for Young People
Canadian Children’s Book Centre
Nominated, 2006 White Pine Award, Ontario Library Association
Nominated, IODE Violet Downey Award
Nominated, 2006 Manitoba Young Readers’ Choice Award
Starred selection, Canadian Children’s Book Centre Our Choice Guide, 2005 “This novel is based on the horrific experience of the 20,000 children who followed Stephen of Cloyes to Marseilles in 1212. Thirteenth century Egypt comes alive in the hands of this marvellous storyteller…The descriptions of the life in Cairo all come through the eyes of Angeline the newcomer, and so they both enlighten and inform. This is historical fiction at its best, all show and no tell…Angeline is a compelling story of a plucky heroine that will appeal to both boys and girls in grades 6 to 10. Highly Recommended”
– CM Magazine
Dear Canada series
Singing a Prayer contributed to Dear Canada: A Christmas to Remember
Tales of Comfort and Joy(Scholastic Canada, 2009)
A Desperate Road to Freedom Dear Canada
The Underground Railroad Diary of Julia May Jackson
Virginia to Canada West, 1863-1864
(Scholastic, 2009) Nominee, 2011/2012 Red Cedar Award, Fiction
A Season for MiraclesDear Canada anthology contribution(Scholastic Canada, 2006)
With Nothing But Courage Dear Canada
The Loyalist Diary of Mary MacDonald

and as Une vie à refaire; Mary MacDonald, fille de Loyaliste

(Scholastic Canada, 2002, Éditions Scholastic)

The Crusades TrilogyBoxed set(HarperCollins, 2006)
Lionheart’s ScribeThe Third Book of the Crusades(HarperCollins Canada, 1999) Shortlisted for the Silver Birch Award in Ontario, 2000
Nominated for the 2002 Red Cedar Award “Completing her trilogy about the Crusades with this volume, Karleen Bradford once again creates a gripping story that brings a distant time and place vividly alive for young readers today.”
– Quill & Quire
Shadows on a SwordThe Second Book of the Crusades(HarperCollins Canada, 1996) Shortlisted for the Geoffrey Bilson Historical Award, 1997
One of the Year’s Outstanding Books, Canadian Children’s Book Centre, 1996
One of the Year’s Best Books, Resource Links Magazine, 1996
There Will Be WolvesThe First Book of the Crusades(HarperCollins Canada, 1992, Lodestar Books USA, 1996, Puffin Books USA, 1998) The Canadian Library Association Young Adult Book Award 1993
Shortlisted for the Manitoba Young Readers’ Choice Award, 1996
American Library Association, One of the Best Books of the Year, 1996
One of the Child Study Children’s Book Committee Children’s Books of the Year 1996 “It works its magic with a plot that weaves memorable history lessons into a colourful medieval tapestry of high adventure.”
– Ottawa Citizen

Picture Books

You Can’t Rush A Cat (Orca Books Canada, 2003) 2005 Shining Willow Award,
Saskatchewan Young Readers’ Choice
Nominated, Ontario Library Association Blue Spruce Award, 2004
The Best Children’s Books of the Year list,
The Bank Street College of Education, New York, 2004
One of the Best Books of 2003, Resource Links Magazine “Young cat lovers will enjoy this book about an elusive wild cat that eventually takes up residence in a lonely old man’s home…Bradford’s use of simple language and fairly short sentences sets the story’s calm, soft mood…The close relationship between Jessica and her grandfather is evident through both the text and the illustrations.”
– CM Magazine


Who’s Invisible Now? contributed to The Unexplained A Haunted Canada Book
(Scholastic Canada, 2008) edited by Janet Lunn
Previous edition published as The Unseen


Write Now! (Scholastic-TAB Publications, 1988)

Series Non-Fiction

More Animal Heroes (Scholastic Canada, 1996, Scholastic USA, 1998)
Animal Heroes (Scholastic Canada, 1995, Scholastic USA, 1998)

Agent: Marie Campell