Happy British Book Birthday to FOE by Iain Reid

FOE by Iain Reid, the acclaimed author of I’m Thinking of Ending Things, was published January 24th by Scribner UK and has already garnered glowing praise:

‘I couldn’t put it down.  It infected my dreams. A creepy and brilliant book.’      –  Zoe Whittall, author of The Best Kind of People

‘Foe reads like a house on fire, and is almost impossible not to finish in one sitting…an otherworldly hothouse of introversion and fantasy.’  – The Toronto Star

‘Not a step is misplaced over the course of a three-act structure that sustains this shrill note of unease all the way through to its jarring reveal.’ – The Irish Independent

Foe tells the story of long-married couple Junior and Henrietta, who live a quiet, solitary life on their farm, where they work at the local feed mill and raise chickens. Their lives are simple, straightforward, uncomplicated until the day a stranger arrives at their door with alarming news: Junior has been chosen to take an extraordinary journey, a journey across both time and distance, while Hen remains at home. Junior will be gone for years. But Hen won’t be left alone.

As the time for his departure draws nearer, Junior finds himself questioning everything about his life – even whether it’s really his life at all.

An eerily entrancing page-turner, Foe churns with unease and suspense from the first words to its shocking finale. Perfect for fans of Humans, Westworld and Black MirrorFoe is a book you will never forget.

Iain Reid is the author of two critically acclaimed, award-winning books of nonfiction. His internationally bestselling debut novel, I’m Thinking of Ending Things, has been published in more than twenty countries. Oscar-winner Charlie Kaufman is writing and directing a film based on the novel, which Reid will co-produce. His second novel, Foe, was an instant bestseller and feature film rights have been acquired by Anonymous Content, with Reid set to executive produce.

Deal Announcement: THE LAST RESORT by Marissa Stapley

ANZ rights to Bestselling author Marissa Stapley‘s new novel THE LAST RESORT to Allen & Unwin. For fans of Big Little Lies – two couples arrive at The Harmony Retreat for couples therapy on the shores of Tulum Mexico where they hope to fix their marriages with the help of celebrity therapists Miles and Grace Markell. But all is not as it seems, and when Miles mysteriously disappears, the complex truth behind the façade of love, marriage and professional success begins to unravel, leaving room for romance to blossom in unexpected ways. Previous rights sold to Simon & Schuster Canada, Graydon House U.S. and Rowholt Germany. Deal arranged by Stephanie Sinclair on behalf of Samantha Haywood.

Deal Announcement: HUNGOVER by Shaughnessy Bishop-Stall

Russian rights to Shaughnessy Bishop-Stall’s HUNGOVER: The Morning After and One Man’s Quest for the Cure – a journalist’s journey to discover the ultimate hangover cure, drinking and writing his way through the world’s favorite beverages and their vengeful aftermath- to Bookmate Limited. Previous rights sold: HarperCollins; Penguin Books US; Dumont Verlag, Germany; Blink Publishing, UK; Cassiopeia Publisher, Korea; Bukowy Las, Poland. All deals by Stephanie Sinclair on behalf of Samantha Haywood.

Deal Announcement: Dept of Mind-Blowing Theories by Tom Gauld

German rights to DEPT OF MIND-BLOWING THEORIES, the highly new anticipated series by Tom Gauld to Edition Moderne; Spanish rights to Salamandra Graphic; Russian rights to Guprus; Canadian French rights to Alto and World French Ex: Canada to Editions 2024; Italian rights to Oscar Ink, Mondadori; all deals by Stephanie Sinclair and Samantha Haywood on behalf of Drawn & Quarterly.

Becky Blake and Joshua Whitehead selected for 2019 RBC Taylor Prize mentorship program

It’s a thrill to see both Becky Blake and Joshua Whitehead selected for this year’s RBC Taylor Prize mentorship program, two of the five authors on this year’s roster!

Following a hugely successful launch last year, the program returns this year with the continued goal of developing the careers of the top emerging voices in literary non-fiction.

Becky Blake and Joshua Whitehead have been paired with 2019 RBC Taylor Prize finalists Elizabeth Hay and Ian Hampton, respectively.

Congratulations to you both!

More information about this year’s honourees, please visit CBC.ca/books/5-writers-selected-for-rbc-taylor-prize-mentorship-program.

 

 

Welcoming Carlyn Zwarenstein

We are thrilled to welcome Carlyn Zwarenstein, a writer with an astonishing ability to write truly luminous prose, to Transatlantic Agency.

A freelance journalist who writes about medicine, literature, poverty, travel, and mental states, Carlyn has contributed to the Washington Post, The Globe and Mail, the Guardian, the Walrus, Canadian Geographic, and others. Her first book, Opium Eater: the New Confessions, is an intense, novella-length meditation on opioids and pain. It combines a lyrical look at opioids in literature with rigorous science journalism, a provocative analysis of how the medical system and public policies fail people with addiction and people with pain, and a darkly funny memoir that takes readers through visceral experiences of pain and its relief with opioids. Opium Eater, published modestly by a micro-press, was named a best book of 2016 by The Globe and Mail. Carlyn is expanding that book into a full-length exploration of pain, opioid use and dependence, the current overdose and addiction crises, and why people use drugs. Welcome, Carlyn!

Carlyn is represented by Marilyn Biderman.

DEAL NEWS: THE JUSTICE PROJECT by Michael Betcherman

 World rights for THE JUSTICE PROJECT, a new YA mystery by Michael Betcherman, the author of BREAKAWAY and FACE-OFF, to Ruth Linka at Orca Books for publication Fall 2019, by Amy Tompkins at Transatlantic Literary Agency. THE JUSTICE PROJECT is about an 18 year-old boy who despairs for the future after an accident ends his promising football career and leaves him with a permanent limp. He gets a summer job working with an organization that defends the wrongly convicted where he investigates the case of a man he is convinced is innocent, and in the process realizes that there is light at the end of the tunnel.

DEAL NEWS: EMMA’S PET by Ted Staunton

World rights to EMMA’S PET, written by Ted Staunton (author of WHAT BLOWS UP in the Almost Epic Squad Series) and illustrated by Ruth Ohi, were sold to Anne Shone at Scholastic Canada by Amy Tompkins on behalf of the author. EMMA’S PET will be about a girl who loses her favorite stuffed animal “pet” and auditions several replacements and will be published in 2020.

Transatlantic Welcomes the Fresh Talent of Lauren Hobson

Lauren Hobson is an author from Portland, Oregon whose work appears in River Teeth and Backcountry, the Backcountry Hunters & Anglers Association’s monthly journal. Lauren is a 2018 Fishtrap scholarship recipient. She completed her BA in English and Political Science at Tulane University and is pursuing an MFA at Portland State University.


Lauren is a native Oregonian, whose family is deeply rooted in the land and culture of the Pacific Northwest. Her writing focuses on her relationship to the outdoors, a connection she’s developed over thousands of hours in the forest and mountains and along the rivers and coastlines of the region she calls home. Her life is measured by the time she spends outside, whether hunting, hiking, climbing, paddling or backpacking through the wild places she loves. She is most herself when she’s outside with her dog, with a shotgun or rifle over her shoulder, loaded for bird or elk.
Lauren’s work in progress is about making it as a female outdoorswoman and hunter, a book which will appeal to millennials struggling to forge their own identity and embrace the transition to adulthood — even when the pressures from social media scrutiny, self-doubt, and decision paralysis complicate the quest.

Lauren is represented by Sandra Bishop; sandra@transatlanticagency.com

Welcoming author Charlotte Gill

We’re welcoming award-winning author Charlotte Gill to Transatlantic!

Charlotte is the author of Eating Dirt, a tree-planting memoir nominated for the Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize, the Charles Taylor Prize, and two B.C. Book Prizes. It was the 2012 winner of the B.C. National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction. Her previous book, Ladykiller, was a finalist for the Governor General’s Literary Award and winner of the B.C. Book Prize for fiction. Her work has appeared in Best Canadian Stories, The Journey Prize Stories, and many magazines. She is currently faculty in creative writing at UBC and in the Creative Nonfiction program at King’s College. She lives on the Sunshine Coast of B.C.

Her incredible new novel THE ENLIGHTENMENT is the story of a young woman’s journey to an ashram in India, a quest for self-discovery that goes terribly but illuminatingly awry. Available for consideration shortly (world/TV film).

Charlotte is represented by Samantha Haywood, samantha@transatlanticagency.com.