Linden MacIntyre

Linden MacIntyre

Linden MacIntyre is best known as the award-winning host of Canada’s premiere investigative television show, the fifth estate, where he worked for twenty-four years. For MacIntyre has been involved in producing documentaries and stories from all over the world including the Middle East, Africa, Eastern Europe, the Soviet Union and Soviet Union and Central America.

Born in St. Lawrence, Newfoundland and raised in Port Hastings, Cape Breton, his career began in 1964 with The Halifax Chronicle-Herald as a parliamentary bureau reporter. He was also an Ottawa reporter for The Financial Times of Canada. In 1976, MacIntyre joined CBC Television Halifax as a current affairs story editor/journalist for “Here Today.”  He soon hosted his own program, “The MacIntyre File,” which began in 1977 and ran for three seasons. His documentary entitled “Power and Profit” won him ACTRA’s Gordon Sinclair Award for Outspoken Opinions and Integrity.

MacIntyre later worked at “The Journal” and hosted CBC Radio’s “Sunday Morning” before joining “the fifth estate.” His work for that show garnered an International Emmy. For his work in the 1993-94 season, MacIntyre won two Gemini Awards, the Gordon Sinclair Award for best overall broadcast journalist, and best anchor or interviewer. In 2003, MacIntyre and producer Neil Docherty produced “A Toxic Company” in partnership with PBS Frontline and the New York Times Television. The documentary won many prestigious awards, including the Dupont/Columbia Silver Baton, the George Polk Award, the George Foster Peabody Award and the CBC’s Wilderness award. The accompanying New York Times series of articles won a Pulitzer Prize.

His bestselling first novel, The Long Stretch, was nominated for a CBA Libris Award and his boyhood memoir, Causeway: A Passage from Innocence, was a Globe and Mail Best Book of 2006, and won both the Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction and the Evelyn Richardson Prize.His second novel, The Bishop’s Man, was a #1 national bestseller, won the Scotiabank Giller Prize, the Dartmouth Book Award and the CBA Libris Fiction Book of the Year, and has been published in the U.K. and the U.S. and translated into eight languages. Why Men Lie followed in 2012 — the third and final installment of his Cape Breton Trilogy.  His most recent work of fiction, Punishment, was published in 2014, and immediately won the Dartmouth Book Award for Fiction. A new novel will be published in the fall of 2017. MacIntyre lives in Toronto with his wife, CBC radio host and author Carol Off. They spend their summers in a Cape Breton village by the sea.

Author photo by Joe Passaretti


Forthcoming:  The Only Cafe (US and Canada – Random House Canada, August 2017)

  Punishment (World Rights Available Ex: English Canada, Random House Canada, November 2014

“ … knife-twistingly powerful … It urges readers to stay up deep into the night as I did, flipping pages. [Punishment ] is its own wonderous beast … With it, MacIntyre cements his reputation as one of our country’s most vital writers.” – Giller-nominated author, Craig Davidson, for The Globe and Mail

 “MacIntyre excels at the examination of larger issues, issues like honour and culpability, personal and social responsibility, the nature of good and right, which few contemporary writers ever dare to approach … A thought-provoking read.” Robert J. Wiersma, Vancouver Sun

 “Linden MacIntyre proves once again how adept he is at dealing with the topical and the taboo.” – Winnipeg Free Press

Why Men Lie A woman is intrigued by what she doesn’t know about a new man in her life in this third book of a loose trilogy.
(Random House Canada, 2012) Author Linden MacIntyre on Why Men Lie “Why Men Lie, the third in a trilogy of novels by Linden MacIntyre, might just give the Giller Prize-winning writer and multi-award-winning CBC-TV journalist an out-of-the-box bestseller.”
– Toronto Star”There’s an odd, mesmerizing pull to the tale. MacIntyre’s gift is capturing the poetic thrum of life’s unanswered questions and ragged endings.”
– Maclean’s”Why Men Lie has the flavour of a peaty single-malt (there is much scotch-drinking), one that would dissolve the tongue of a liar even while insisting on how an honest lie can shadow the purest life. And so, to Effie and her self-deceptions: a toast.”
– Globe & Mail”Like Richard B. Wright in his 2001 Giller Prize-winner Clara Callan, and Irishman Roddy Doyle in The Woman Who Walked into Doors, MacIntyre is adept at navigating the world through Effie’s eyes. He is persuasive in portraying a strong, accomplished woman who is still sensitive to loss and betrayal.”
– Winnipeg Free Press
The Bishop’s Man When sequestered in a small parish to avoid an impending controversy, a priest tasked with disciplining wayward priests wrestles with the consequences of past cover-ups and his own needs.
(Random House, 2009) Longlist, Impac Dublin Literary Award, 2011
Top 40 Essential Canadian Novels of the Decade,
CBC Canada Reads
Libris 2010 Fiction Book of the Year,
Canadian Booksellers Association
Winner, Scotiabank Giller Prize, 2009
Winner, Atlantic Independent Booksellers’ Choice Award, 2010
Winner, Dartmouth Book Award (Fiction), 2010
Shortlist, Thomas Head Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award, 2010
Nominated, Libris Award, 2010
The Long Stretch Told with filmic pacing, The Long Stretch is an unforgettable and moving addition to Canadian literature.(De Geus, Dutch, HarperCollins Canada, 2006, Stoddart, 1999)


Causeway A Memoir(HarperCollins Canada, 2006) Evelyn Richardson Prize for Non-Fiction, 2007
Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction, 2007
Globe and Mail Top 100 Books, 2006 “More than a historical memoir, Causeway is like a set of lessons on how to write a memoir. Unsentimental, unpretentious, evocative and written in clear rhythmical prose, this book should give pleasure to everyone.”
— The Globe and Mail”Causeway is an honest-to-God writer’s memoir.”
— Winnipeg Free Press”Causeway explores a world which depicts a certain region of Cape Breton as it was ‘before Canada joined it.’ The book aches with details that are both rational and emotional. . . . MacIntyre is a fine writer.”
— Alistair MacLeod, author of No Great Mischief
Who Killed Ty Conn? co-authored with Theresa Burke(Viking, 2001)


2010 Libris, Author of the Year, Canadian Booksellers Association