We’re proud to announce that Carol Off‘s ALL WE LEAVE BEHIND has be shortlisted for the 2017 Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust of Canada Prize!
This annual prize recognizes the best in Canadian non-fiction, the winner will be revealed on November 14th, 2017.
All We Leave Behind follows the desperate family as they become caught up in the largest refugee crisis since the 1940s. With clear, page-turning prose, Off embarks on a rigorous and honest examination of her role in the family’s fate, first as a journalist, but ultimately as a friend, when she crosses the line of dispassionate reportage and becomes deeply involved in their bid to reach Canada. The book is an insightful contemplation of journalism’s mission, and its impact on the lives of the people who dare to speak out in the name of truth.” -2017 Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction jury Susan Harada, Arno Kopecky, and Siobhan Roberts
For more information about the finalists and the prize, please visit
Congratulations on this wonderful achievement, Carol!

Sharon Bala’s “Butter Tea at Starbucks” shortlisted for the 2017 Journey Prize!

Congratulations to Sharon Bala, who has been shortlisted for the 2017 Journey Prize, for her story “Butter Tea at Starbucks” (first published in The New Quarterly)!

The Writers’ Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize is awarded annually to an emerging writer of distinction for a short story originally published in a Canadian literary magazine. Previous winners of The Journey Prize include Yann Martel, Alissa York, Jessica Grant, Yasuko Thanh, Timothy Taylor and Miranda Hill. The 2017 winner will be announced on November 14th.

Sharon’s highly anticipated debut novel, THE BOAT PEOPLE, is forthcoming from McClleland & Stewart Canada and Doubleday Books​ U.S. in January 2018.

To view the full shortlist, please visit

A Bird’s Eye

The Transatlantic Agency is thrilled to congratulate Cary Fagan on being a finalist for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize for his novel, A BIRD’S EYE (House of Anansi).

The Jury said of Fagan’s book “A Bird’s Eye isn’t just a book about magic; it is magic.” – read the full citation.

We would also like to congratulate all of the other finalists on their outstanding work this year.

The winner will be revealed on Wednesday, November 20, 2013 at the annual Writers’ Trust Awards at Toronto’s Glenn Gould Studio.

Miranda Hill wins the 2011 Journey Prize

Miranda Hill, author of Sleeping Funny, a forthcoming debut collection from Doubleday Canada slated for September 2012, wins the Writers’ Trust / McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize for $10,000 for her short story, “Petitions to Saint Chronic” published by The Dalhousie Review.

“A story of miracles, Miranda Hill’s “Petitions to Saint Chronic” is itself a wonder of narrative art. A desperate man falls from a 24-storey building and a cast of modern-day pilgrims huddle in the hospital lobby to await a divine intervention that may never arrive. Can he possibly live through this? What is God’s plan for these people? How can they go on? And where should they place their faith? Each of Hill’s characters is desperate in a different way and each seeks a different kind of deliverance. This is writing of the highest order, packed with insight, empathy and suspense. “Petitions to Saint Chronic” is a story of survival. It will live on in the memory of all who read it.” – Jury Citation

Miranda Hill is a recent graduate of UBC’s MFA program. “Petitions to Saint Chronic” was her first published story. Her fiction has subsequently appeared in The New Quarterly, and her collection of stories is forthcoming from Doubleday Canada. Hill is also the founder of Project Bookmark Canada, a national charitable organization that places text from stories and poems in the exact physical locations where literary scenes are set. She lives in Hamilton, Ontario.