More great foreign rights deal news for THE COACHING HABIT by Michael Bungay Stanier!

Greek rights to THE COACHING HABIT by Michael Bungay Stanier to Papasotiriou Publishing by JLM Literary Agency in association with Stephanie Sinclair on behalf of Page Two Strategies.

Portuguese rights to THE COACHING HABIT by Michael Bungay Stanier to ASA Leya’s commercial nonfiction imprint Lua de Papel by Julia Garrigos in association with Stephanie Sinclair on behalf of Page Two Strategies.

Mongolia rights to THE COACHING HABIT by Michael Bungay Stanier to Gerelmaa Partners LLC by Stephanie Sinclair on behalf of Page Two Strategies.

Brazilian rights to THE COACHING HABIT by Michael Bungay Stanier to Sextante by Julia Garrigos in association with Stephanie Sinclair on behalf of Page Two Strategies.

Two Transatlantic Authors Long-Listed for the JOURNEY PRIZE!

We’re thrilled to congratulate two Transatlantic authors long-listed for this year’s Journey Prize! Alicia Elliott is in the running for her story “Tracks” published by The New Quarterly: Canadian Writers & Writing and Jess Taylor is nominated for her story “Two Sex Addicts Fall in Love” published by This Magazine – congrats to you both!

The Writers’ Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize is awarded annually to an emerging writer of distinction for a short story originally published in a Canadian literary magazine.

This year’s shortlist will be announced on September 12. For more information on the award and the full long-list, please visit here.

 

The New York Times features Drawn and Quarterly’s SABRINA by Nick Drnaso

The New York Times features Drawn & Quarterly’s SABRINA by Nick Drnaso, the first ever graphic novel long-listed for the Man Booker Prize!

And we’ve sealed four foreign rights deals (so far!) for SABRINA, which the NYT previously called “a shattering work of art.” – Spanish rights to Salamandra Graphic; Italian rights to Coconino; French rights to Presque Lune Editions; and Chinese rights to Ginkgo. These deals were arranged by Stephanie Sinclair and Samantha Haywood on behalf of Drawn & Quarterly.

More rights news coming soon!

We are thrilled to welcome Avery Swartz to Transatlantic Agency!

Avery Swartz is a Toronto-based tech expert. She is the founder and CEO of Camp Tech, the tech workshop company for non-technical people. Avery is the resident tech expert on CTV’s Your Morning, where she talks about tech trends and highlights the latest tech gadgets for a national audience. She writes articles about tech and the modern woman for Chatelaine, writes about tech and small business for The Globe and Mail, and hosts the Camp Tech podcast. Avery acts as a digital advisor to a number of charities (including the Art Canada Institute and Canadian Cancer Society), hosts the Gather North retreat for women who make the web, and is #5 on the Top 50 Women in Marketing list by Search Engine Journal.

Avery is represented by Samantha Haywood.

We’re excited to welcome Sofi Papamarko to Transatlantic!

Sofi is an award-winning writer and matchmaker (love, not sulphur) who lives in Toronto.

She is a former regular columnist for The Toronto Star, Sun Media Newspapers and Metro Canada. She’s also written for The Globe & Mail, Chatelaine, Flare, CBC, Reader’s Digest, Salon, Exclaim! and many more.

Sofi recently completed her debut short fiction collection, Radium Girls, for which she was awarded Ontario Arts Council Writers’ Reserve Grant, a Toronto Arts Council grant and an emerging writer grant from the Canada Council for the Arts.

Her short stories have appeared in Taddle Creek, Maisonneuve, Room and The Toronto Star.

Represented by Samantha Haywood.

We are excited to welcome Melanie Florence to Transatlantic Agency!

Melanie Florence is an award-winning writer of Cree and Scottish heritage based in Toronto. She was close to her grandfather as a child, a relationship that sparked her interest in writing about Aboriginal themes and characters. She is the author of Missing Nimama, which won the 2016 TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award, the 2017 Forest of Reading Golden Oak Award and was a finalist for the 2017 First Nation Communities READ award. Her most recent picture book, Stolen Words, won the Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Award and was given a starred review by Kirkus, who listed it as one of the best picture books of 2017 to give readers strength. Her other books include Righting Canada’s Wrongs: Residential Schools and the teen novels He Who DreamsThe MissingOne Night, and Rez Runaway.

 

Melanie is represented by Amy Tompkins.

Happy Book Birthday to Claire Holden Rothman’s LEAR’S SHADOW!

LEAR’S SHADOW by Claire Holden Rothman is out today with Penguin Random House Canada!

For readers of Ann Patchett, Governor General’s Award finalist and twice longlisted Scotiabank Giller Prize author Claire Holden Rothman’s LEAR’S SHADOW tells the mesmerizing story of Beatrice Rose who, after losing her career and the love of her life, has lost her way and finds herself stuck caring for her aging father only to discover the fascinating world of an urban Shakespeare troupe which unveils new meanings, a new love, and a new life.

If you want to see Claire and get a copy of LEAR’S SHADOW find her at one of these events:

July 10- Book Launch at Westmount Park United Church (5-7pm)

July 11- Repercussion Theatre- show attendance and book giveaway

July 12- In-conversation event at Cote St Luc Library (2pm)

September 13- Reading & discussion at QWF’s Writing Out Loud series

Blue Metropolis Festival

Congratulations Claire, and Happy Book Birthday! We’re proud to be on your team!

Advance praise for LEAR’S SHADOW

“’Love like a shadow flies…,’ wrote Shakespeare, and this is a story of love in its shifting shades. Desire, duty, and the fellowship of theatre, rendered in Rothman’s tender, clear-eyed prose.”
—Sean Michaels,Scotiabank Giller Prize-winning author of Us Conductors

“A delicately wrought, heartfelt novel about the injuries we carry in mind and body, and the power of art to heal us all.
Katrina Onstad, author of Everybody Has Everything

“Lear’s Shadow 
exudes warmth—for Montreal and its theatre scene brought to vibrant life on the page.”
—Joan Thomas, author of The Opening Sky

Billy-Ray Belcourt wins the 2018 Robert Kroetsch Edmonton Book Award!

A big congratulations to Billy-Ray Belcourt who won the 2018 Robert Kroetsch Edmonton Book Award for THIS WOUND IS A WORLD!

“Part manifesto, part memoir, This Wound is a World is an invitation to “cut a hole in the sky to world inside.” Billy-Ray Belcourt issues a call to turn to love and sex to understand how Indigenous peoples shoulder sadness and pain like theirs without giving up on the future. His poems upset genre and play with form, scavenging for a decolonial kind of heaven where “everyone is at least a little gay.” (Source: Frontenac House)”

 

Heather Smith won the Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Award for THE AGONY OF BUN O’KEEFE

Heather Smith won the Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Award in the Young Adult/Middle Reader category for THE AGONY OF BUN O’KEEFE!

Winners were selected by two juries of young readers. Students read the books and worked together to reach a consensus and select a winner. This process makes it a unique literary award in Canada.

One juror commented “Bun and Busker Boy are my favourite characters of all time!” and praised to protagonist as “one-of-a-kind”.

Congratulations Heather!