WE ALL LOVE THE BEAUTIFUL GIRLS by Joanne Proulx releases in the US today!!

Happy US book birthday to Joanne Proulx‘s WE ALL LOVE THE BEAUTIFUL GIRLS out today with Grand Central Publishing!

Perfect for fans of Rick Moody, Lauren Groff, and Celeste Ng, a propulsive literary breakout about three suburban families whose lives spiral dangerously out of control after tragedy strikes.

Who suffers when the privileged fall?

One frigid winter night, Mia and Michael Slate’s comfortable world dissolves in an instant when they discover that their best friend has cheated them out of their life savings. At the same time, a few doors down, their teenaged son passes out in the snow at a party–a mistake whose consequences will shatter not just their family, but an entire community.

In this arresting, masterful page-turner shot through with fierce, clear-eyed compassion and a sublime insight into human fragility, award-winning novelist Proulx explores the savage underpinnings of betrayal, infidelity, and revenge–and a multilayered portrait of love, in all its glory, that no reader will soon forget.

Congratulations Joanne!! Don’t forget to pick up your copy today!

Praise:

“Gorgeously written, Proulx’s narrative offers a fascinating plot and both a searing exploration of the butterfly effect of trauma and the uncanny persistence of love in improbable circumstances.” —Publisher’s Weekly, Publishersweekly.com/9781538712450 

We All Love the Beautiful Girls is a gripping tale of love gone awry. In a lively plot filled with twists and turns, Joanne Proulx’s characters flail about and pay a high price for their impulsiveness and rage. This is a book to keep readers glued to the page, and enthralled by the author’s skill and wisdom.” —Lynne Sharon Schwartz, author of Two-Part Inventions

“When I finished this novel, I wanted to tell everyone I knew to read it. It is one of the best, most important books I’ve read in a very long time.” —The Globe and Mail

“An emotional thrill-ride that manages to capture the tenderness and rage unique to adolescence and middle-age, the heartbreak of first love, and the fragility of even the most stable-seeming marriage.” —Zoe Whittall, bestselling author of The Best Kind of People

“With We All Love the Beautiful Girls, Proulx … moves firmly into John Cheever territory, exploring with a keen eye and incisive prose the suburbs of quiet desperation, peeling back facades to reveal the desperation and violence that lurk just below the surface. When that violence comes to a head, the results are as devastating as they are unexpected.” —Toronto Star

“We All Love the Beautiful Girls has the ability to leave a reader breathless. The plot twists are daring. The characters and their dialogue capture the ways in which adversity can alter people. Lovers’ wounds are plastered across every page and the veneer of civility becomes shockingly thin. And yet, in the end, love, decency, and forgiveness triumph. Think of the 1986 David Lynch film, Blue Velvet, in which brutality lurks just beneath the surface of everyday life, then erupts ferociously before disappearing back into the depths.” —Quill & Quire

Media: 

WE ALL LOVE THE BEAUTIFUL GIRLS was named on Good Morning America’s list​: “Your end-of-summer reading list: 20 books to read before summer ends”! ABCnews.go.com/best-end-summer-reads-authors-dish-books-words

WE ALL LOVE THE BEAUTIFUL GIRLS was named in Harper’s Bazaar’s “August’s Best New Books” list! Harpersbazaar.com/best-new-books-august-2018

WE ALL LOVE THE BEAUTIFUL GIRLS was named a New York Post “Best Book of the Week” on August 25, 2018. NYpost.com/the-best-books-of-the-week

DEAL NEWS: Brenda Brooks’ HONEY

North American English rights to poet and novelist Brenda Brooks’ HONEY, a novel about friendship, seduction and murder. For fans of the hit films Carol and Bound with neo noir hints of Zoe Heller’s Notes On A Scandal, HONEY is above all, a story about what we’d do for someone we love — even if we might not know them at all, sold to Jen Knoch at ECW Press for publication in Fall 2019 in a deal by Samantha Haywood of Transatlantic Agency.

Brenda Brooks has published two poetry collections and a novel, Gotta Find Me an Angel, a finalist for the Amazon.ca/BooksIn
Canada First Novel Award. Her work has been included in anthologies in the U.S., Canada, and the UK. She lives and works on Saltspring Island, BC. Honey is her second novel, she is at work on her third.

WE ARE PLEASED TO WELCOME FILMMAKER LULU KEATING

We’re very pleased to welcome filmmaker Lulu Keating to Transatlantic as a new client of Samantha Haywood’s!

Lulu Keating has been writing for over 35 years.  As a filmmaker, she has written eight feature length screenplays (two have been produced) and numerous short fiction scripts.  For several years, Keating had a regular column for What’s Up Yukon, featuring profiles of colourful characters and visitors to her home town, Dawson City Yukon.  She has also had work published in The Globe and Mail, the Journal of Canadian Studies, Geist Magazine and Yukon: North of Ordinary.

The middle child of eleven, Keating was born and raised in Antigonish Nova Scotia.  Her family was the focus of her award-winning animated film, The Moody Brood, co-produced with CBC Television.  As a university student, Keating volunteered in the Congo Zaire.  This pivotal experience inspired the movie she wrote and directed, The Midday Sun.  While she continues to make at least one film a year, Keating is currently adapting Klondike Kalahari, her screenplay, into a novel with the same name.

More great foreign rights deal news for THE COACHING HABIT by Michael Bungay Stanier!

Greek rights to THE COACHING HABIT by Michael Bungay Stanier to Papasotiriou Publishing by JLM Literary Agency in association with Stephanie Sinclair on behalf of Page Two Strategies.

Portuguese rights to THE COACHING HABIT by Michael Bungay Stanier to ASA Leya’s commercial nonfiction imprint Lua de Papel by Julia Garrigos in association with Stephanie Sinclair on behalf of Page Two Strategies.

Mongolia rights to THE COACHING HABIT by Michael Bungay Stanier to Gerelmaa Partners LLC by Stephanie Sinclair on behalf of Page Two Strategies.

Brazilian rights to THE COACHING HABIT by Michael Bungay Stanier to Sextante by Julia Garrigos in association with Stephanie Sinclair on behalf of Page Two Strategies.

Two Transatlantic Authors Long-Listed for the JOURNEY PRIZE!

We’re thrilled to congratulate two Transatlantic authors long-listed for this year’s Journey Prize! Alicia Elliott is in the running for her story “Tracks” published by The New Quarterly: Canadian Writers & Writing and Jess Taylor is nominated for her story “Two Sex Addicts Fall in Love” published by This Magazine – congrats to you both!

The Writers’ Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize is awarded annually to an emerging writer of distinction for a short story originally published in a Canadian literary magazine.

This year’s shortlist will be announced on September 12. For more information on the award and the full long-list, please visit here.

 

The New York Times features Drawn and Quarterly’s SABRINA by Nick Drnaso

The New York Times features Drawn & Quarterly’s SABRINA by Nick Drnaso, the first ever graphic novel long-listed for the Man Booker Prize!

And we’ve sealed four foreign rights deals (so far!) for SABRINA, which the NYT previously called “a shattering work of art.” – Spanish rights to Salamandra Graphic; Italian rights to Coconino; French rights to Presque Lune Editions; and Chinese rights to Ginkgo. These deals were arranged by Stephanie Sinclair and Samantha Haywood on behalf of Drawn & Quarterly.

More rights news coming soon!

We are thrilled to welcome Avery Swartz to Transatlantic Agency!

Avery Swartz is a Toronto-based tech expert. She is the founder and CEO of Camp Tech, the tech workshop company for non-technical people. Avery is the resident tech expert on CTV’s Your Morning, where she talks about tech trends and highlights the latest tech gadgets for a national audience. She writes articles about tech and the modern woman for Chatelaine, writes about tech and small business for The Globe and Mail, and hosts the Camp Tech podcast. Avery acts as a digital advisor to a number of charities (including the Art Canada Institute and Canadian Cancer Society), hosts the Gather North retreat for women who make the web, and is #5 on the Top 50 Women in Marketing list by Search Engine Journal.

Avery is represented by Samantha Haywood.

We’re excited to welcome Sofi Papamarko to Transatlantic!

Sofi is an award-winning writer and matchmaker (love, not sulphur) who lives in Toronto.

She is a former regular columnist for The Toronto Star, Sun Media Newspapers and Metro Canada. She’s also written for The Globe & Mail, Chatelaine, Flare, CBC, Reader’s Digest, Salon, Exclaim! and many more.

Sofi recently completed her debut short fiction collection, Radium Girls, for which she was awarded Ontario Arts Council Writers’ Reserve Grant, a Toronto Arts Council grant and an emerging writer grant from the Canada Council for the Arts.

Her short stories have appeared in Taddle Creek, Maisonneuve, Room and The Toronto Star.

Represented by Samantha Haywood.

We are excited to welcome Melanie Florence to Transatlantic Agency!

Melanie Florence is an award-winning writer of Cree and Scottish heritage based in Toronto. She was close to her grandfather as a child, a relationship that sparked her interest in writing about Aboriginal themes and characters. She is the author of Missing Nimama, which won the 2016 TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award, the 2017 Forest of Reading Golden Oak Award and was a finalist for the 2017 First Nation Communities READ award. Her most recent picture book, Stolen Words, won the Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Award and was given a starred review by Kirkus, who listed it as one of the best picture books of 2017 to give readers strength. Her other books include Righting Canada’s Wrongs: Residential Schools and the teen novels He Who DreamsThe MissingOne Night, and Rez Runaway.

 

Melanie is represented by Amy Tompkins.